We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Unique”

Botequim da Mouraria
Ranked #1 of 252 Restaurants in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Delicious and Unique”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Amazing what culinary treats come out of this tiny kitchen manned only by the owner at first and later with help from his wife. We had an appetizer for 2 of grilled mushrooms and a local white wine, and both chose the Lombinhos de Porco Preto (Black Pork Tenderloin), which we'd been told about and lived up to it's reputation. A platter or tomatoes with cucumber and onion and homemade chips on the side. The bar stools have backs on them so very comfortable to sit and enjoy a delicious meal prepared right in front of you. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ttips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    85
    12
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A delicious anthropological experience!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One should definetely go to Botequim da Mouraria. I was lucky enough to be the last one to arrive there twice already. There are only 9 seats in a balcon (no tables), so you have to arrive early. As far as I know they open at 7:30 p.m, so I suggest you arrive between 7 and 7:15 p.m. The owner takes care of the orders and his wife is an excellent cooker. Everything is fresh!

This is a place where people can talk and participate somehow in the conversation. Speaking Portuguese is a plus, but I have seen people who don't having a great time as well. I suggest vitela meat or black pork meat, wich is very Alentejan. There are many titles of good alentejan wines.

Bom apetite.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouDoRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our favorite of Evora!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Having reader the TripAdvisor reviews our expectations where high! Luckely we where in time to get two seats. Our host / waiter / cook & sommellier gave u aan warm welcome! More important he gave us top advise in the wine Thatcher accompanied the very fine dishes. Obrigato to our host for aan splendid evening!

Helpful?
Thank Paul_Otter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
623 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Unique ”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

What a unique dining experience. This fine place only has bar type seating, making for interesting ambiance & conversation with other diners. The owner waits on you personally from behind the bar. The selection of good is simple, but don't let that fool you. It's absolutely wonderfully prepared with care & attention. Once it's full he doesn't accept additional diners, so be sure to get here around 6:30 if you want to try it, you will be pleased you did.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“a unique experience”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were very lucky to get to eat here, as the night we went, there was a person already waiting outside in the rain and was waiting for 4 friends. We too waited in the the rain, for a few minutes before the owner turned up. It was not yet 7.30pm, and he already had 3 people coming,

Ten places in this small restuarant is about the maximum it can fit. Everyone sits at the counter. Once we decided on our order, we let the owner chose our wine, and it was the best wine we had the whole time we were in Portugal. The mushrooms were wonderful, followed by tender and juicy veal entrecote. Our fellow guests all ordered the same main, so I have no idea what the other mains were like. However there were a selection of different starters and they all smelt wonderful.

People are turned away and you can not reserve a chair. If you want to go, I suggest before opening time and wait, or else sometime around 8.45pm. when the first sitting is finishing and willing to leave.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smithnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Botequim da Mouraria also viewed

 
Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Botequim da Mouraria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing