We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pastry”

Pastelaria Conventual Pao de Rala
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing pastry”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Seriously, I couldn't believe what I was eating. Fantastic pastry, sweet and savoury, in a quiet little spot off the beaten track. We popped down to the public park for a little stroll to work up an appetite, then wandered up to Conventual for some naughty pastries and an espresso. Warm and sunny outside, nice and cool inside. Perfect.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    64
    19
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
514 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A lovely stop for pastry”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We climbed up to this pastry shop based on reviews from a few guide books. It was a damp Sunday afternoon and it was a pleasant place to stop for some delicious pastries. We sat outside and watched all the locals come by to pick up pastries to take home. The coffee was delicious. We tried a few of their specialties and found that we were not that fond of their egg tarts, but this is a matter of personal taste. It was a good break from sightseeing. Although their pastries are excellent, dangerously so are those of many other shops. The Portuguese know their sweets!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Wow. This is the real deal”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If they only delivered to Miami. You could taste the love in every bite of every pastry my wife and our trusted guide Joao from Takinguthere.com had. Their coffee was the perfect companion. Nothing what I would call fancy but, that only can complicate an excellent pastry. Very relaxing outside. It was a great way to start the day. Go hungry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cozysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
232 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Walk there for regional cakes”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you want to go for a walk choose the address of this patisserie. It is not far from the center. Do not expect a large place. It is just a small nice room whose walls are covered by photos of the owner with some of its visitors and azulejos. There are only 6 tables, they are small so hope to find few people. The offer of regional cakes is wide and you'll be easily convinced to taste some of them in a quiet atmosphere of other times.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalyMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Desert on a Sunday”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Great pastries, cold beer and water on a Sunday afternoon when everything else was closed! Highly recommend as a good spot for sweets and coffees.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kranders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pastelaria Conventual Pao de Rala also viewed

Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Pastelaria Conventual Pao de Rala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing