We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tipical cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Luar de Janeiro

Luar de Janeiro
Reserve with
Luar de Janeiro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 242 Restaurants in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fortaleza
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great tipical cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great Portuguese cuisine in a family like atmosphere. Ask for "Bochechas de porco" - black pork or the "Cabrito". Both were excellent. The Cherne, a local fish, as great too. The restaurant is a small place on a narrow street. Very simple and cozy. They also have a fine wine list with some of the best in Portugal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    117
    35
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overrated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We sat at the table where the pictures of the restaurant are displayed online. This was between the toilet, the kitchen and the front door. In the main dining room was a large, extremely noisy group of tourists which made our dining experience extremely unpleasant. This however is unrelated to the quality of the food we received. My giant prawn was overcook and was served with plain, tasteless rice. The roasted lamb ordered by my wife was tough and dry. The single waiter for the entire restaurant was unable to provide adequate service. Attempting to obtain our check was a tedious and tortured affair. Atypical for me, I told the waiter when I was finally able to get his attention how disappointed we were in the entire dining experience. Unexpectedly, he did not charge us for our dinner. I suspect that he was well aware of the deficiencies of the evening. Our meal may not represent that of other people who have eaten here but it was entirely unpleasant for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GNdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We arrived at this restaurant, this was our last meal in Evora. Typical Portuguese food. I had the kidgoat and my husband had the veal. The veal was probably one of the best pieces of meat he has had in a restaurant, tender and tasty. not to mention the minted rice and garlic pureed spinach that accompanied the dishes, yummy! Accompanied by a wonderful bottle of local vinho tinto. Could not make our minds up about dessert so had 2! Waiter attentive and friendly. Wonderful end to our foodie experience in Portugal. It was a litter pricier than some of the other restaurants we ate at but was well worth it. Quality excellent

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judy845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seregno, Italy
Level Contributor
271 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good food nothing more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The food we tasted at Luar de Janeiro was really good. Appetizers, Pork and Veal were good cooked. The list is short. There are few dishes to choose. The menu is available only in Portugese. Wine list is quite good. The ambient is old fashioned, nothing special. It is not far from the center. People are kind.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orso77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
293 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Good Alentejan Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Luar De Janeiro is a small restaurant with only eight tables. It is a family business run by a mother and son, and they specialize in traditional Alentejan cuisine. The crowd is a nice mix locals and tourists. We have tried the Lombinhos de Porco Preto, the Cabrito Assado no Forno, and the Cherne Grelhado, and all were excellent. If you are interested in an after dinner aguardente, they are quite liberal with the pour.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IBSTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luar de Janeiro also viewed

Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Luar de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing