We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a quiet place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monte do Serrado de Baixo
Ranked #3 of 20 Evora B&B and Inns
Walhain, Belgium
1 review
“What a quiet place!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed in the "wine" room, quite spacious but a bit humid. The farm is located in a very quiet environnement. Good breakfast with home made orange cake. Delicious! Without driving instructions, not easy to find.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EKS877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa v, Manager at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi!
I'm so glad you loved the restaurant of Divor! We always send people there and most come back very happy!
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and maybe next time you can come for longer!!!
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    32
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
70
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our evening at the Quinta was lovely, and we left only wanting to stay more.

I must say that the restaurant Divoor was one of the best meals I had in Portugal. I highly recommend it for the food location, simple ambiance and most definitely the price.

Room Tip: Get one with a nice outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turaventur A, Owner at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
HI!

I'm really happy you enjoyed your stay and João's restaurant. I will let him know how happy you were with your meal there!

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Monte is a large farm house that has been renovated recently to be a guest house. There is a common area with a huge fireplace, large screen TV, games and WIFI. Individual bedrooms have four piece ensuite bathrooms and a patio with table and chairs. The rooms are themed by the production of the region,. We stayed in the cork room. Stroll the farm site.
The aqueduct runs right past the farm - turn left and walk or ride to Evora, turn right and loop back to the farm. The staff is so friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darnie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turaventur A, Owner at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi!
Thank you so much for your review! It will always be a pleasure to have guests that fully understand the atmosphere of our house. We hope to see you back one day!

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Monte do Serrado de Baixo Team received us very friendly. The property was simply perfect, the breakfast was excellent with a lot of fabulous regional food. The whole house is very comfortable and clean. We`re looking forward to our next trip to Alantejo and Monte do Serrado de Baixo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michèle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turaventur A, Proprietário at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi Michelle!

great to hear from you! Still smiling everytime I rememebr your arrival to the farm!!!:):):) You have a great spirit!

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Beautiful surroundings with nightingales, cuckoos and orange blossom in full swing. Joana was helpful and friendly.
However, we booked this place because of the cycling mentioned on its web site. We attempted to book bikes a couple of times, giving due notice; request was acknowledged but nothing happened. Tours seemed to take place, but no idea where from. We were offered a look at a collection of classic cars in which we had no interest - indeed we were nearly cleaned out by three hurtling down the road.
Worst of all, we booked an evening meal, - turned out to be a takeaway from the restaurant where we'd eaten on our first night. It cost a load - far more than if we'd gone to the restaurant ourselves, so watch out for that: there was never a suggestion of a takeaway until it arrived. Laundry cost 7.50 which we thought excessive, and avoid the ice creams in the freezer until you've checked how long they've been there.
Rooms are very dark, impossible to get sunlight in, though comfortable enough - fine in the height of summer maybe, but not in Spring and not for us as Northern Europeans.

Room Tip: Check carefully. We had the wine room which had a mezzanine with a single bed - difficult for child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa v, Proprietário at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Barbara,


I'm truly sorry we didn't fulfill your expectations. I have your evaluation form on my desk and was going to e-mail you this week, but obviously not fast enough.

I talked with Joana about the bike's comment, because I was very surprised about it. We have 50 bikes in our garage, and 8 were out when you were here. They are all ready to use and we have all interest in renting them out! We charge for that service, we don't offer them, so there is no reason not to give them to someone that wants to rent them! Joana said you mentioned the bikes and you were informed by her to let her know if you wanted them, and that you never mentioned it again, so she thought you didn't want them. The day after you went walking and she found you on the road and gave you sa lift back, and mentioned the bikes and you said you were going to Monsaraz.

I really think there was some misunderstanding here. I would appreciate if you could tell me if you talked with anyone else about the bikes, or only Joana. I talked with all my staff - not so many - and all say you did not ask them for bikes.


Regarding the tours, we don't "push them". They are available and the flyers are in the house, at the entrance, on the reception desk, on the living room and usually in the rooms. If you wanted to do one you only had to ask for it. We regard the farm and the adventure company as 2 different realities, they complement each other but we don't want our guests to fill they MUST be active to be here. Most people just come to relax.


Evening meal is a home made meal, not done by us but done by another family business nearby. If you add the cost of the meal to the fact you had a person just serving you for 2 or 3 hours plus the cost of getting the meal, you will find out that 24 euros per person is not so expensive. You got more than 2 starters, main course and dessert. And all of good quality. We loose money by serving meals and only do it for the comfort of our guests. Most small places like ours will simply tell you to go out for dinner. We suply the service at the price we consider fair. Most guests that stay for several nights and have one meal end up booking another one, and Joao's food is great, as you probably agree - at least you don't mention the food as being a problem, only the price. It is not possible to do it for a smaller price, unfortunately.


Regarding the ice creams, they are all within date, so I don't know what happened with the one you took. I was not informed about any complaint, and already asked and no one had a complaint. So I suppose you didn't refer it to us. Those things are better mentioned straight a way so that we can see what's the problem, now it's difficult to find out.


I will talk with the staff about the speed on the road and I'm truly sorry that you had meeting with someone driving too fast.


Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I can't fault my time spent at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, the property was just perfect, all the team were extremely friendly, the food and hospitality were excellent ... you must try the delicious orange cake!! The rooms were clean and equipped with everything you could need. I wouldn't hesitate recommend this guesthouse.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa v, Proprietário at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Rachel!

Thanks for your words, I'm really glad you enjoyed! Hope to see you back another time, either at our farm either at another of our cycling routes!

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had a wonderful 2 day stay in MSB, cannot fault anything. Particularly the friendly and incredibly helpful staff, learning much of local culture. Very comfortable farmhouse and really enjoyed the open fire ( February visit)
Breakfasts where delicious. We hired excellent bikes for one days riding on local EcoPista to Arriaolos, also really enjoyed walking along footpath by aquaduct.
Being keen on wildlife I was really impressed with the abundance of birdlife everywhere we went
Will definitely be back for another visit

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank R0bertH0pkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa v, Proprietário at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Robert,

It's a pleasure to read nice comments like yours, it's all we work for! I hope you do come back and maybe you can teach me something about bird watching as it is my big handicap!

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.0 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 25 in Evora
919 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.0 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 25 in Evora
766 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#17 of 25 in Evora
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Graca Hotel
Graca Hotel
#15 of 25 in Evora
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte do Serrado de Baixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte do Serrado de Baixo

Property: Monte do Serrado de Baixo
Address: Quinta do Serrado, Senhor dos Aflitos, Evora 7000-173, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is a traditional country house, with very white walls and a blue stripe all around. There is a beautiful garden which invites to reading a book or having a glass of wine, a pool to freshen up in warm days and a fire place to warm you up in the winter. Each room is decorated to a theme (cork, wine, cereal and olives) and the farm around it shows a bit of all these themes. Here you will feel at home! Our buffet breakfast is included in the rates and it has homemade jams, cake and bread, and local cheeses and chorizos. If you want more than relaxing, we have suggestions of visits to do around the region and we organize walking, cycling, canoeing and jeep tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Monte do Serrado de Baixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing