We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
985 results
Traveller rating
533
305
104
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
305
104
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman temple monk's cells beautiful cloister dos loios claw foot tub shower curtain sitting room public areas are recommend staying here converted convent rooms are small historic building breakfast and dinner orange trees perfect location superior room a wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 985 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is ideally situated for seeing the Major attractions of Evora. The cathedral is next door. The front door looks out on the ruins of the Roman temple of Diana. And the shopping and churches are just a short walk away.
Located just a few blocks off the ring road that circles the Evora's city walls, the hotel is easy to find, with no narrow streets to navigate. Parking, though, was minimal.
The public areas are elegant and nicely decorated. The rooms, however, are small (after all, it was a monastery) and the white-painted built-in closets and desk are a throwback to the 1950s. The ensuite bathroom had a certain charm, but bathing with a hand-held shower in a wobbly claw-foot tub and no safety bar did present a challenge, as well as a wet floor. But the rooms were clean and there was a small candy bar on the bed each evening.
The staff were very pleasant and accommodating and even had a breakfast made up for us at 5:30 AM on the day we had a plane to catch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVCaminho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This Pousada is a beautifully restored convent and exudes history and elegance. The building is stunning architecturally, beautifully situated right beside the ruins of the Roman temple of Diana and centrally located in Evora. Everything is walkable from the Pousada. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the place is immaculately clean. The dining area in the convent cloisters is charming and the breakfast excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. It makes us very proud when we know we met your expectations and were able to improve your stay.

Our staff is always trying to make each stay a better one. I am very happy to know that you have enjoyed our Restaurant and our breakfast.

We hope you visit us once again in the future.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Worth a visit because it's in a beautiful old building right next to the cathedral and temple of Diana.

Positives:
- building is beautiful,
- wonderful location
- public rooms tastefully and elegantly decorated
- beautiful setting for restaurant (old cloister)
- very helpful and friendly staff

Less positives:
- noise: the corridors retain their original tiled floors, which is good, but the lack of carpets and curtains here means that every single noise echoes and carries far; the cathedral bell bongs every quarter hour, even through the night ...)
- our room was acceptable, but spartan and cool; decor needed refreshing
- good bathroom
- no (free) wifi in rooms
- food was acceptable: solid, but not outstanding (maybe I'm comparing unfairly with Spanish paradores); quite a limited choice on the menu, and very expensive for Portugal; good wines, though; breakfast not exciting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoppyEu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your comments. It is thru them that we are able to improve.

We do apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding your stay.

We are currently undergoing some changes so that we may improve our rooms and reduce the noise.

We are also doing our best to have wireless internet in each room and we hope to reach a solution very soon.

We hope you continue to visit us in the future.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Positive points for this hotel are its position, the helpful staff and the historical building in which it is found. Negative are the rooms and breakfast. We had a "cell" looking into the courtyard. Even with a superior room it was dark and a little noisy as meals are taken in the courtyard. Breakfast is a disappointing buffet where the food is put out early - the coffee is undrinkable....

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room not facing into the courtyard
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. It is with opinions like yours that we are able to improve our service and overall quality.

Regarding the room, we have been upgrading the light for more powerful ones to improve on the lighting. And I am glad to say that we have change the brand of our coffee at the breakfast and have been collecting good reviews of the new one so I do hope we improved on the quality of the coffee and overall breakfast.

I hope you give us the opportunity of welcoming you once again in the future.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We visited Evora the last week of March. Loios is a stunning posada. Since it was not too crowded then, we were able to upgrade to a suite. How absolutely stunning…our living room with walls decorated in the 1700's, crystal chandeliers, modern bath traditionally appointed with the high European tub, high count linens. An attentive staff took great care of us. The town is old and charming with delicious restaurants in town too.

Room Tip: There is a vast difference in size between our room and a standard one. We celebrated my birthday with a 5 night package at Posadas. Francesca at Pamela treated us to an upgrade and champagne and fruit on my birthday. Unforgetable.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Your comments were very appreciated and we have very happy to know that we made your stay a memorable one.

The suite you speak about is our Presidential Suite and the paintings on the walls make them very unique.

We hope to count with you visit once again in the future.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews