We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service from Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada Convento de Evora
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in Suite 102. On entering you were met with a large sitting room with an amazing fresco on the ceiling. The suite did not look to the outside so they have created a window "box" (more like a box with a skylight about 3 x 4) that can be accessed from the sitting room or bedroom so this would be the only light coming into the room. Large bathroom and bedroom. Very clean and well equipped. Several terraced areas were easily accessible from our room.
The outstanding thing about this Pousada would be the staff. They are engaging, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.....they warrant at least 5 stars.
CONS: there are steps up the bedroom areas which may not suit everyone (especially in the middle of the night!!). All electrical shuts down when lights are turned out....this was not good for my spouse who uses a BIPAP machine. The staff tried to help, but we ended up unscrewing all bulbs in the room (several times otherwise no lights) so we could sleep. The room had a heavily perfumed smell every day, which we found to be somewhat overpowering. The safe indicated "low battery" on the 2nd day and would not close, however because it was a weekend it could not be fixed....again the staff stepped in to come up with a solution that met our needs as we did not want to leave our valuables at the front desk. Laundry given before 10:00 am is guaranteed back in 24 hours, but ours was only given back to us late on our last night after over 35 hours & our asking 2x so we could pack. Lastly, given that this was a suite & costs are higher than the standard rooms, we felt we should have had a window.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdnFinn2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The pousada is very well located so that you can see most of the sights on foot. We upgraded to a suite in order to have a little more room. (We had read that the standard rooms were on the small size.) The suites are on the ground floor, facing on to a small private courtyard, while the standard rooms are on the upper floors. Our suite was large and well equipped, although I think the bathroom could use a little modernization. Breakfast was served in the restaurant which is in the former cloister. Very atmospheric and the breakfast itself was good. Service was uniformly pleasant and helpful. One of the best features was coming back after dark and seeing the Roman Temple of Diana illuminated against the night sky, with no tourists about.
If you come by car, there is parking available. Drive right up to the door, taking a parking spot, if available. If not, temporarily leave the car in front of the main entrance and go into reception. They will take your luggage and have someone take your car to their other parking area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Location in amazing and the staff very helpful. The room was not as nice, especially considering the price. Needs renovation. They don't have proper showers or hair dryers. Breakfast was average. It is a nice hotel but it is not a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PriscilaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The conversion from a 15th century monastery is superb and its location adjacent to the remains of the Roman temple of Diana ,a bonus, similar to one experienced on a trip to Arles,France with the Arenas,Colesseum opposite our balcony. Both stunning and grand in scope and experience.

This accommodation is elegant,set in the original cloisters and neo classical facade of the 18th century. The rooms are as quiet as a church and are very comfortable. i heard grumbling in the lobby from people hooked on WiFi complaining for lack of reception....perhaps they should close their laptops and savour the generosity and splendour of this location and its proximity to Diana and the town.

Breakfast is a grand buffet experience with fresh salads and the best eggs ,anywhere. The combination of jambon crue,cheeses and local breads were heavenly.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Why would anyone want to go to a historical city and stay in a modern hotel? This hotel is great! My wife, my 5 y/o and I were impressed with this place. The location is perfect for walking around the city, parking is free, the service is great.

The pool is not great but lets be honest, if you go to Evora the pool is not a requirement. It is decent but not great.

Breakfast is included and it is really good buffet.

The WiFi service is terrible. No signal in the rooms and hardly anywhere in the hotel, really like traveling to the past.

The building is beautiful and a museum on its own. Right next to the roman ruins, the cathedral and the university. Blocks away from every attraction in Evora.

I would return to this Hotel without thinking it twice.

Room Tip: If you are planning to stay only 1 or 2 nights, and have an extra 50 or 80 euros, you might want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexander013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at the Pousada dos Loios. From the time we walked in the hotel to the time we checked out, the front desk and the entire staff were first class. Always there if there is any question or assistance needed.
The suite is spacious and very comfortable. The amenities, linen, furniture are quite adequate.
The location cannot be better. Right next to the temple of Diana. One can walk to town and sightseeing sites very easily.
Breakfast food was delicious , hot and plentiful. The breakfast room is very pleasant ,near the former monastery courtyard.
Will certainly stay there if we return to Evora.

Room Tip: For patrons with reduced mobility the suite by the reception is very convenient. Absolutely no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longbeachtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

They are words such as yours that actually encourage us and motivate us to continue and improve our work. Our main goal every day is to give each client a Memorable stay.

I am very happy to see that you have enjoyed our Restaurant and the overall service.

As you say, the location is perfect since the Pousada is located in the center of Évora right next to the Roman Temple of Diana.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again in the Pousada of Évora.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed in the Pousada Dos Loios on our way home from the Algarve. It is a beautiful old building and we were welcomed warmly by the receptionist and a young man helped me to park my car, a service much appreciated as the parking is tight close to the Pousada.
The same young man insisted on carrying all our luggage to our room also, not an easy task, especially as there is no lift. The building was once a monastery and was full of antique furniture and fittings. Our room was once a Nuns cell but was fitted out luxurious and was Beautifully cool in the heat of the day.
In the late afternoon we enjoyed a excellent bottle of local Alentejo Rose wine out on the vine covered terrace.
In the evening we had our dinner in the Pousadas restaurant. It is wise to book a table in advance as it was very busy. We booked the table when we check in. We had the chef's suggestion which was the Regional Lamb with mint and potatoes which was excellent, we shared a board of local cheese for dessert and we had another bottle of the superb rose we had drunk early in the day. The restaurant is set up in what was once the cloister and was full of dinners, both visitors and locals. the centre of the cloister is full of orange trees, a delightful setting.
We really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend a stay here for a bit of luxury and it is not overly expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famstavros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

On my behalf and from the entire staff of Pousada de Évora we would like to thank you for your comments. They were much appreciated.

We try to do our best to make each guest feel welcome in our Pousada since it is for us a pleasure and an honor to receive guests.

The vine tree that we have in our Bar terrace is becoming already very pretty and full of green that allows to enjoyed a very good drink.

Our Restaurant is in the cloisters were the monks meditated and you can almost feel that ancient environment. As you said, it is better to make a reservation for the Restaurant. The Lamb is one of the most typical dishes from Évora.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again at the Pousada de Évora.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
2.2 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 27 in Evora
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 27 in Evora
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#11 of 27 in Evora
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento de Evora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento de Evora

Address: Largo do Conde Vila Flor, Evora 7000-804, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range: £83 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Convento de Evora 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Convento de Evora, also known as the Pousada dos Loios, is located in the museum-city of Evora, a World Heritage site. The Pousada is located between the Catedral Gotica de Evora and the Templo de Diana and very close to the Praca do Giraldo and the Colegio do Espirito Santo. The building retains traces of its original architecture, such as courtyard cloisters, a peaceful and serene area where you will find the outdoor swimming pool and an area for you to relax. The Pousada features the Loios restaurant, a bar and a free car park with limited capacity. Almost all of the rooms are individually unique and include Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pousada Convento de Evora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Dos Loios De Evora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing