We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“独 一 无 二” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ebora Megalithica Guided Tours

Ebora Megalithica Guided Tours
Ranked #1 of 19 Tours in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have a passion for megaliths. And sharing this passion is our mission.Present day Evora is in the center of an ancestral landscape that has a significance for all Humanity. Here you can find the remains of some of the oldest monuments of mankind in Western Europe.The early farmers and shepherds that created them, some 7500 years ago, didn't just create beautiful and impressive monuments - they have envisioned an entirely new way of relating with their world and have set the foundations for our current way of life.The megaliths, embodying the new ideology of this period in it's fullest - the domestication and transformation of the natural environment - remain today as distant messages, hidden in the fullness of time.Join one of our tours and discover more about your own history.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“独 一 无 二”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

这 是 一 个 不 能 错 过 的 活 动,两 个 小 时 内 学 了 很 多 历 史。 Mario 对 这 门 学 习 非常 有 研究,他也行 热情,友善。已 英 文 讲 解。

This is an amazing and extremely educational tour. An excellent way to spend the morning with Mario. His passion and knowledge about Megaliths is inspiring. We surely learnt a lot and piqued our interest in ancient civilisation. Not to be missed!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yikkeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Much more than Neolithic Megaliths!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our hotel suggested a tour of Megalith sites around Évora and initially we thought it would be a good way to see some lovely countryside whilst having a chat with a knowledgeable person and have a look at a couple of rocks.
Well it was that, but so very much more!
Mario is the guide and Katarina was the very able driver and together they provided a wonderful 3 or so hours with many insights into this lovely country and also into Mario's beloved Neolithic Megaliths.
We drove to 3 sites where these amazing stones have been placed. While Mario patiently explained their significance, with such passion and readily answering our questions, he really made these sites come alive. These are special places, as is the beautiful surrounding countryside, and we feel privileged to have been there with him.
But this tour was so much more. Because as is always the case, it is an extra treat to hear what people are thinking on the broader range of subjects and to be able to discuss a broad range of subjects. And he had such a vast knowledge of wide ranging subjects.
I need to add that even if we could have managed to get to these sites independently, we would not have understood their significance. So take the tour and be enriched!
We had a wonderful informative time and wish Mario and his family and Katarina and hers the very best for the future.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely worth seeing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Albergaria Do Carvario in Évora, Portugal, and the wonderful staff there set up the tour with Megalithic Tours. We were transported by Mario and Katarina to the Megalithic sites nearby, and for the next few hours were also transported in time to see and learn about these stones which were amazingly placed 2000 years before Stonehenge around Évora, in proper alignment corresponding to the two equinoxes.

Not only is Mario so very passionate and extremely knowledgable about the megalithic history and archeology, but he is also passionate about trying to find a way to preserve the many sites, since the private landowners and the local and federal governments haven't taken the necessary steps to do so. We loved Mario's enthusiasm and the tour, and we felt he charged too little with all the knowledge and services he provided. Do yourself a favor and don't miss these structures when you are near Évora. They are definitely worth seeing!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were in Evora for one night and decided to book a tour with Mario for the megaliths and it was well worth it. Even with a GPS, we would have had trouble finding the sites and would not have been able to spot the markings on the stones or understand what they might mean.The first site is awesome and a picture does not do it justice. Mario is passionate and deeply knowledgeable about his subject as well as politics, people, culture, history, economics, fado etc.. He is such a bright and enterprising young man and it was a pleasure to take his tour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“You must see this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Megaliths are such a strange phenomena. Much is now understood, but much is still a guess. You will never find these things on your own, nor understand them without a good existing knowledge and research. So go with Mario, and if your lucky, his wife Maria. He is just as the earlier reviewers describe. Engaging, fascinating, fascinated, knowledgeable, considerate and a great listener and questioner as well as a guide.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 1602Bernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ebora Megalithica Guided Tours also viewed

 
Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Ebora Megalithica Guided Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing