We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Central”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Hotel Riviera is situated just off the main square so handy to everything with plenty of restaurants nearby. We were welcomed cheerfully and shown to our room on the second floor. It was a basically furnished room but spotless. There were plenty of extra blankets in the cupboard. Breakfast was a well presented continental selection in a pleasant room.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    82
    33
    8
    1
See reviews for
28
81
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Staff were helpful and flexible to allow early check in. Located at the heart of the historic center. The general condition of the hotel and room was slightly dated. The room was comfortable, big enough and reasonably clean. There were even two narrow balconies. Some of the amenities are a bit old but serviceable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcw-indietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Very nice staff, comfortable rooms with wifi for free in the most central street of Évora. 1 minute walking from the cathedral! I arrived to check-in at 3 am and everything was fine.

A place I would definitely recommend!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JMH236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Tomhuelva's review was spot on and I've very little to add. We have just spent two nights there and thought it was a lovely hotel and very good value for money. It's better than a lot in the middle of towns/cities and our room was quite large with a sofa. The bathroom was small but only what we expected. The staff were helpful and friendly, particularly when we arrived and they hadn't received our booking from hotels.com. They found it later, but in the meantime we were provided with a room anyway, as they always keep a couple of rooms free until very late in the evening. Our only gripe was the noise at night, particularly the first night, when there was a gig on in the plaza down the road and I suspect it's freshers week at the university, as they were partying till 4ish in the morning. The second night we used our earplugs, which were a big help. I only discovered the air-conditioning unit in the middle of the second night and couldn't get it to work, so DO ASK, as being able to have the windows shut would help the noise. I' m not blaming the hotel at all for the noise; there's nothing they can do about it; it's often a problem in city hotels, but perhaps you could ask for a room away from the main street. All in all, a very good little hotel for its price bracket.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeraldineLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed 1 night in this quaint hotel, fantastic location being between the main square and cathedral. Of all the places we visited in Portugal, I think Evora was my favorite. A definite MUST for anyone looking to explore Portugal. Rooms were ample, the breakfast was good and location excellent. Be careful when parking as the streets are very narrow.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 901SteveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huelva, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Riviera in Evora in early September, 2013 and pretty much got what we had expected.  On the positive side, the location - right off the Giraldo square, in the centre of town,  which was great for visiting virtually any part of the city and for resting in between.  Unfortunately, being a Saturday,  it sometimes got pretty noisy at night with young local revelers going up and down the popular street (Rua 5 de Outubro ). Luckily the bed was firm and comfortable, so that overall, our sleep was generally restful.  The room itself, somewhat small, might be described as old-fashioned (like the entire hotel) but it was very clean, tastefully decorated,and had everything we needed. The bathroom was similar, simple but nice enough. The fact is, staying at the Riviera is like taking a trip in a time machine, perhaps going back to Europe in the 1960's. Some might interpet this as being charming and quaint , while others have described it as just a basic hostel. In keeping with this theme, a major issue was the lack of an elevator. The stairs are narrow and a bit steep, especially when you get to the last flight - which could prove challenging for many and practically insurmountable for older guests. I'm a fairly fit 63 year old, but I found this aspect of the hotel's amenities somewhat daunting. However, when we checked in, one of the gentlemen behind the reception desk quickly showed us to our second floor (third floor in the USA) room, handling our one bulky suitcase with ease as he leapt up the stairs. We dutifully followed our guide to the top of the summit. I suppose that if this establishment had been equipped with a lift, the price (reasonable) would have been doubled. Surprisingly enough, the Riviera is on the cutting edge of internet availability, and the wi-fi connection worked perfectly. The air conditioning was also in top form, quickly providing a cool refuge from the heat of the streets. So, to a certain degree , the hotel would seem to mirror the atmosphere of the historic city itself: submerged in the past, but modern enough to thrive efficiently.
The hotel staff were polite, helpful and very professional. Despite this, I might mention what I thought to be the most awkward moment of our brief stay. The area used for breakfast was rather small – six or seven tables – so if you go during what seemed to be “prime time” (8:45 – 9.30), all the tables will probably be taken; which means you have to either attempt to eat something in a nearby lounge (not suited for dining) or return to your room and try later. Although, those who had to wait took this in stride, the situation was a little embarrassing. Even though we personally weren't rushed for time on this Sunday morning, we didn't want to linger or go back for a bit more food or coffee, so as not to keep others from having “their turn”. Furthermore, it didnt't help to have just one person to be in charge of both cleaning and clearing off the tables and ensuring that the buffet area was fully stocked. It was more than challenging to do both well.
Because our stay was generally so pleasant and the staff were so nice, It pains me to have to bring up this point of overcrowding and a possible lack of personnel at breakfast time. I think that management should try to resolve this situation since it does put a damper on what could be a refreshingly different and uncomplicated hotel experience.
Would we go back to the Hotel Riviera ? Yes. As mentioned before, we were aware of a possible noise factor and the downside of not having a lift. Of course, breakfast time would have to be earlier. Nevertheless, the location, atmosphere, comfort ,friendliness and price more than made up for the inconveniences. It was just the right hotel for a city as delightful as Evora.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor, there isn't an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomHuelva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stopped in this beautiful city for the night on our way to Lisbon from the Algarve. Happened upon this hotel, so glad we did! Nicely appointed rooms, cold a/c, hot showers, comfortable bed, and wonderful breakfast included in the 9/2013 room price of 60Euros. Very centrally located.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 850lisam850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solar de Monfalim
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.5 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 25 in Evora
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 25 in Evora
1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#10 of 25 in Evora
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: Rua 5 de Outubro 47 49, Evora 7000-854, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Riviera Évora
Residencial Riviera Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing