We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely tops”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely tops”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hotels are all about location and service.
We arrived outside and the staff offered to drive our car into the underground parking and take our luggage.
The front desk and breakfast-room staff are smiling, educated, intelligent and pleasant.
Gave touring suggestions. In addition the hotel supplies a maps and a local touring booklet.
Breakfast is superb - wide choice, beautifully presented.
Do not forget that Evora is well worth a visit, especially if you stay at the Albergaria do Calvario.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,572
    135
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
258
1,135
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

in addition to all the compliments written in the latest reviews below, with which i totally agree, i would like to add, actually, WE (my friend and I) would like to add, that from the minute we entered the premises of the hotel with our car we felt at home. a smiling man walked towards our car asking us is to get slowly out of the car, relax and whenever we will be ready to hear information he will be with us.
in the meantime he will park our car, bring our luggage to our room while we rest and relax from our drive with a glass of wine, or juice, or both, whatever we want.

until the minute we write this review, we feel that we couldn't have chosen a better "home" to stay while away from home.

Room Tip: haven't seen all the rooms, but judging by the warmth and service i believe all rooms are wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahgTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Albergaria do Calvario for 4 nights. We had an incredible stay. The staff is not only helpful they are truly delightful. The hotel itself is gorgeous, our room fantastic, the patio lovely. The breakfast is absolutely delicious. There is no doubt I would love to stay at Albergaria again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanser61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here for the first three nights of our Portugal two-week trip. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were pampered and attended to! We were met in the driveway with a smiling face (Sarah), who took our bags, offered to park our car, and made us feel ever so welcome. After the long flight from the US, and the drive from the Lisbon airport, it was wonderful to leave all the details of our stay to this terrific staff. We had upgraded to a superior room with a large balcony which overlooked the pretty terrace (still at a very reasonable price!). We gladly accepted the offer of a welcome glass of wine, which we drank on the balcony as we unwinded and enjoyed the warm Alentejo weather. Our room was large with a super comfortable bed, excellent pillows, wonderful bathroom and shower, huge towels which were fluffy and soft, as well as in-room WiFi. We slept with our windows and balcony door open, never bothered by any noise until we heard the distant sound of roosters in the morning. Breakfast was unbelievable, all organic and regional (figs, dates, cheeses, breads, pastries) as well as hot entrees off the menu (eggs any way, omelets, ham), all served with smiles! Location is excellent, just inside the city wall, easy walking distance to all the medieval sights. Evora is a delightful town, with very friendly people and lovely churches, monuments and general ambience. We had the Albergaria staff make dinner reservations for us, and also enjoyed an after-dinner drink in the nice bar when we returned. When we had to leave, our car was brought up from the underground garage (very helpful, since it is a very small area), and we were given waters for our drive out. Our stay could not have been better; it was so refreshing to be so pampered. We never had to ask for anything, since the staff anticipated our every need, and gave us wonderful advice on touring the city and area! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We loved the superior room with balcony. Still a terrific price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I loved my stay. It is one thing to read the reviews and imagine, it is quite another to experience this place. The level of service, the warmth of the team and the attention to detaill cannot be underestimated. What a happy and relaxed place to stay. To the point I was almost glad when it rained making it the perfect opportunity to spend more time enjoying the space. Would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MECIreland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed our second time in this hotel. Nice rooms and common areas is renovated Portuguese style. The beds are fantastic. Frindly service.
Excellente breakfirst. Lighter dishes for lunch and finner. Good location within the city wall.
A place to stay.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Degustiation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We took the train from Lisbon, and stayed in Evora for one night at the Albergaria do Calvario. What a treat! This is a gorgeous place, our room was just fantastic - very comfy and roomy...and we had a balcony where we could sit outside and relax. The property is beautiful, gorgeous plants, gardens, courtyard, inside and out. Very relaxing common area where you have access to their computer, bar, books, games, etc.

The breakfast is out of this world good - oh so yummy. Peter and Nina really know how to chef it up, amazing baked goods! We had a great time staying with them. Evora is a cute town, and it was so fun to walk around all of the little streets, see the ruins, the market, the University and the people of this town. It was a little $$ but worth it. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: We had the room with the balcony, which was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuccaOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.4 mi away
M'AR De AR Muralhas
M'AR De AR Muralhas
#8 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Property: Albergaria do Calvario
Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing