We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This will be my fourth time staying here for one night on our journey driving from the Algarve back to the UK - we love it and look forward to our stop here. It is modest but beautifully styled with little designer touches. It has a great courtyard for Al fresco dining and the breakfasts are fantastic with lots of locally sourced products and healthy organic touches. All this is good but the thing that makes this hotel so special is its wonderful staff. So friendly and helpful and now that I have stayed a few tomes I am greeted like a friend returning. This was a really great find and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rea93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,874 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Now this is how to run a hotel. Imagine that you just checked into a hotel and it assigned one person whose sole task was to make your experiences in Evora and at the hotel the best they could be. This is how it felt for us. When we later discussed our experience with one of the staff people, I said it was like the owners gave permission for their staff to experience we customers through their hearts. They genuinely wanted us to be happy. It wasn't antiseptic or corporate. Their sense of caring was genuine. The rooms are huge and the beds...ah, the beds...let's put it this way, we both slept 10 hours straight all three nights we stayed there. And the free breakfast...ah, the free breakfast...is delicious, eclectic, and healthy. Save room for it! It's entirely appropriate that this AMAZING hotel is set inside the walled city of the AMAZING Evora. Being used to U.S. distances, we were surprised that we could walk from one end of the city to the other in 20 minutes. And yet packed within the walled city is a rich history and so much to see and experience. Because of its relatively small size, though, you can see so much at a very leisurely pace. One of our highlights was spending a Sunday morning in the town square just people watching. Here, then are our recommendations: make sure to add Evora to your list of places to visit in Portugal and ABSOLUTELY book Albergaria do Calvario. Both are experiences you will remember the rest of your life.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel was very comfortable. The rooms were nice with pretty woven headboards for the beds. We sat in the lounge in the evenings where they had games and books about Portugal for guests (both free), as well as really good music. The staff were genuine and helpful. The outside area was lovely to sit with a glass of wine. I liked the security of underground parking. Really enjoyed this place, very well designed and clean. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Planning our trip to Portugal we were hesitating where to start till I read about evora in general and albergaria do calvario hotel in particular.service at this hotel is something really outstanding.the room with the balcony was spacious .the breakfast something to remember but above all is the service given by each of the staff team.any question any idea any recommandation were given gladly and professionally.try it and you will not be sorry.being a travel agent I will highly recommend it to my clients.
Beautiful boutique spot.cozy friendly and most inviting
Would gladly return!!!
Ilana and Ovadia cohen

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilana2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel wasn't the fanciest hotel that we stayed at during our two week vacation to Portugal but the service blew all the others away. When we first arrived to the hotel we were greeted with a complementary beverage. My husband had a local beer and I had fresh juiced apples. For the first night we were upgraded to a room with a balcony and they were helpful with getting everything moved over to another room the second night. We were charged for the upgrade but Rick Steve's book said upgrades were no charge if available.

Breakfast is worth staying here! It is the best breakfast I have every had at a hotel. Everything is fresh, local, homemade and delicious! You can choose from the extensive breakfast buffet or order off a menu. We sat outside in their adorable courtyard but they also have a inside dining room. We also had a late lunch there which was very good as well.

There is a cozy area for playing games and enjoying cocktails in the evening. We played backgammon each night here.

The owners and other staff were helpful in recommending delicious restaurants and things to do in the area. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divindaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed in late October as part of our honeymoon.

Very attentive service, great recommendations, wonderful little nooks and corners in the hotel for couples to read/ write/ email. Great wifi all round. Great breakfast served by the owners!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 821royc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Great service. They were not busy so upgraded us to Room 19, with a little private balcony. Spacious room with very comfortable bed that is proper North American king size ( in Europe King can mean anything from 5ft to 6.5ft.). Fantastic breakfast, great snacks and a good bar. The food prices are very competitive, but after the breakfast lunch is a stretch. A terrific base.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Coylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 26 in Evora
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
834 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#11 of 26 in Evora
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range: £78 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing