We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We visited Evora and intended to stay in the Pousada however having seen the reviews for Albergaria Do Calvario we changed our kids and booked here instead. Great decision.
I cannot add much to the reviews other than to say this was one of the nicest and most welcome hotels we have ever stayed in.
The staff renumbered our names throughout the visit. Our suite was spacious and very reasonably priced. You are provided with list of suggested restaurants and sights all from the personal knowledge of the staff. The food is exceptional.
We are already planning to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,817)
There are newer reviews for Albergaria do Calvario
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Four of booked this hotel some months ago. We knew little about it except it was Evora. What a fantastic surprise - lovely rooms, elegant breakfast, exceptional parking within the walled city, and simply the kindest, most efficient and knowledgeable, most hospitable staff we encountered on our three visit to Portugal. If you decide to book a room, stay two nights for there is much to do and enjoy in Evora and the time at the hotel will be worth every moment of your stay in Evora.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

(a) Proficient in English staff, educated and helpful ; (b) homemade breakfast; (c) organic food; (d) if you need ask to leave your car in the garage for a couple of hours after checking out; (e)comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank First_Advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Everything was EXCELLENT Could not ask for more, from the moment of our arrival to our departure.
Albergaria Do Calvário is a 4-star hotel housed in a 16th century olive oil mill.
With an ideal location inside the walls of the historic city of Évora,Just stroll out of the hotel and enjoy all the City has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnGabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

What makes this hotel so exceptional are the staff. They were all cheerful, helpful, welcoming and apparently genuinely concerned that their guests have a good time. Perhaps they should open a hotel training school as a side-line?! We stayed an extra night, so got to try out two rooms. Both very well-appointed with extremely comfortable beds.

Breakfast is second on the list of what made it a great place to stay. I have never had such a wonderful breakfast in any establishment anywhere in the world. Everything you could want was on offer, all local and of the highest quality. We ate tapas in the hotel one night and that was excellent too. Great wine.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are larger. No. 19 has a great balcony. The other (21?) was a small apartment. it h...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cornish Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I were in Portugal for several weeks this past February and decided to vist the wonderful town of Evora. Partly as a result of reading an excellent review of the ADC in a Rick Steves book, we decided on several nights in the hotel. We were not disappointed - the staff are friendly and very helpful, rooms are clean and nicely appointed and the parking is good, which is a bonus given that the property is inside the walls of the old city. The welcoming glass of wine doesn't hurt either. the location is excellent - easy walking distance from the town centre and many of the historic sights.
The best customer service we have had in a long time. A copy of Rick Steves Portugal book will get you an upgrade.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just back from a 3 week tour around Portugal and our last 2 nights were spent in the ADC. GOOD CHOICE! The staff were all young, keen & really helpful - nice touches were a welcome glass of wine on arrival and a thorough briefing on the main tourist info.The hotel has also taken the trouble to put together a small info booklet for guests detailing the main local attractions,a bit of their history, and an impartial guide to some of the better local restaurants. We tried two of these and found their summaries to be spot on.
Could have done with one or two more surfaces in the room for cases/bags and surprised that a kettle for coffee/tea making doesn't come as standard, although one was quickly given when we asked. These are only minor points though and overall the rooms, facilities & staff were great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoolsinEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#7 of 26 in Evora
1,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range: £85 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing