We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I am at a loss for words to describe this hotel. Where does one start without appearing to be over the top?
Let me start with our arrival. A lot of staff appeared just as we stopped the car. They took care of everything including parking the car!
We then got a detailed introduction to the hotel, town and outlying area.
We received a small booklet containing a lot of information including, but not limited to, a list of restaurants in the area.
The information in the book was obviously based on first hand experience. Very usefull indeed.
The room was great and very comfortable. This one even has a fully equipped kitchen.
Lots of other guests have raved about breakfast, so let me just say I fully agree.
If you plan to go to this area, then do yourself a favour and book in this hotel.
By the way, if you have time, book a trip with Mario. Well worth the time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Belgiananddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
There are newer reviews for Albergaria do Calvario
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

This bed and breakfast is beautiful and very well-located for exploration of Sintra. We had two rooms on the second floor. The hotel has a lovely lobby, convenient valet parking, and a terrific breakfast. It also has a nice bar feature that enables you to take a cocktail out on the terrace. It is just inside the old walls but a short (and interesting) walk from the central square. Service was excellent. One of my kids left his camera charger, and the hotel notified us and arranged to send it to us back to the states. You can definitely stop looking for Evora lodging -- this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

From the minute we walked in the door, we were made to feel extremely welcome. Service is impeccable and the staff all very friendly. We appreciated the fact that somebody sat down with us and gave us an orientation and helped us decide where to eat dinner in town. The room was also very comfortable and we enjoyed our meals there. This place exceeded our expectations and we hope to return one day.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived at the hotel before mid day, our rooms were not available as we were very early. Such a warm welcome from all the staff. Our passports were taken for ID and we were taken to the lounge area where we were offered a choice of welcome drinks. As we sat drinking a delightful and rather large glass of wine our passports were returned and we were shown a map of the town with land marks and where to visit. We were also given a list of restaurants and the staff phoned through to make our reservation for us. Having returned to the hotel later in the afternoon we sat in the sunny courtyard and had a drink. We were then shown to our rooms where our bags had been taken up for us. Alexis the intern, was very helpful and offered to move our bags for us. Each staff member always asked if there was anything else they could help us with every time we saw them.
The rooms were extremely spacious, we had a huge king size bed, with a lovely soft duvet and wonderfully comfy pillows. The décor was charming, combining the old with the new. The complimentary bottle of water was most welcome.
Having eaten out that evening we returned to the hotel for a night cap, all the bars/cafes seem to close 'early' in Evora! We sat in the comfortable lounge and the staff were more than happy to serve our drinks.
Breakfast was super! A range of foods from fruits to cold meats. There was also a hot menu choice of free range eggs & bacon, cooked to your choice. The breakfast was organic local produce.
We wanted to explore Evora after checking out and were able to leave the car in the hotel car park until we were ready to go after lunchtime. Once again the staff were so helpful and brought the car to the reception for us.
What was also nice was not being asked after we had drinks how we wished to pay, all additional costs were charged to the room. The bar bill was very reasonable which made having a drink in the hotel a pleasure.
Well done ADC hotel, our stay was one of the best we have experienced throughout our travels.

Room Tip: We had room 15, which looked out over the courtyard
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on June 9 -11. Our double room, with two twin beds pushed together to form a double bed, was small and dark. There was a small window with no view because it faced another building which was about 5 feet away. With the window closed, it was fortunate that the airconditioner was working properly, otherwise it could be quite unpleasant. The other thing troubling me was on the first night, there was music coming from a bar or someone's home nearby. It was not loud but still very annoying as it lasted till late in the night.

Our friends' rooms (5 rooms altogether) were more or less the same, not impressive at all.

All these were compensated by the service and the excellent breakfasts. There were plenty of fruits, fresh juice, home made yoghurt, freshly made pancakes, made to order eggs, sausages and ham. The staff serving breakfast and the receptionists were so enthusiastic that I thought they all had a stake in the hotel. As all our rooms were on the second floor and the lift was not working, the receptionists (one of them a lady wearing high heels) helped us haul all the luggage into our rooms.

Location wise, its about 15 minutes walk to the town centre where there are plenty of eateries.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the courtyard.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Youthful, energetic, friendly, super helpful staff. The owners hire university grads specializing in hospitality and it shows.

We were offered a much appreciated “Welcome drink” while our luggage was whisked away to our room and our car was parked underground. The restaurant recommendations in the little book we were given were right on.
There is also a nice garden on the grounds to enjoy a drink or lunch.
In the morning, great breakfasts with local products like honeys and mustards.

The hotel is a former olive oil factory with lovely accommodations, where you are not nickeled and dimed for water – it’s always available and it’s always free. The staff even noticed that we had a number of electronic devices that needed to be charged, and without asking, they provided a power bar. That kind of attention to detail is rare!

Room Tip: Our lovely room was in the same building where breakfast is served.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elinor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our favourite B&B in Portugal.
Great location within the quaint ancient Roman walled town of Evora.
Excellent breakfast made with fresh produce.
We had a courtyard room which meant the terrace was just outside our front door for pre or post dinner drinks.
The best service we received in Portugal! They even provided a list of local restaurants and made booking on request.
Easy walk to the center of town and attractions.
Easy access to local sites like the stones of the Cromeleque dos Almendres (said to be astronomically and geometrically aligned), São Pedro do Corval (ceramics) and Monsaraz village and Roman castle with fantastic panoramic views.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chadpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 26 in Evora
1,121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range: £85 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing