We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delighful Stay in a Large Apartment-Style Room - Delicious Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Albergaria do Calvario ( also known as the ADC) at the recommendation of friends and we were very pleased. The hotel is contained within its own compound, centered around a courtyard filled with tables and chairs.

The hotel offers underground self-parking and it was very safe. Our room opened right to the courtyard but there was no noise problem. The room itself was huge! We actually had a sitting area, small kitchenette, nice bathroom and separate bedroom. It was nice having some room to spread out and make a cup of tea in the room.

I think one of m favorite things about our stay was the lovely brunch. They call this all-inclusive brunch a pequeño-almoco which means "small lunch". There is an unbelievable array of Portuguese cheeses, meats, fresh squeezed juices, fruits, nuts and seeds and homemade pastry. They also have their famous pancakes and made-to-order omelettes and eggs served with organic teas and coffees. Pequeño-Almoco indeed!

The staff is very friendly and helpful with directions and information about the local sites. I would stay here in again any time - except there is still so much left of the world to see I don't know when we'll be back in Evora. Hopefully I will return...

Room Tip: Our room was directly on the Courtyard and we did not have any problems with noise. However if you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JFlanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 567 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

I liked this hotel, although I have some mixed feelings. We only stayed for one night and was in the suite, if you are more than 2 people this is a alternative, otherwise don't bother. The extra room will not be used, the "sofa" is to hard to sit comfortably and the tv is smaller than in the bedroom part. We were not able to get our room when we check in on arrival, but left our car and luggage to explore the city and have some lunch. We got a good "briefing" about the city and restaurants, and chose one of the recommendations to have lunch-very good food. I was not overly exited about the breakfast, if you are not into hot breakfast, there is not that much choice. We also did not see on the menu that you have to order cheese and ham, that might be our own fault, but it is not a common thing to have on a menu, it is usually displayed. The room itself is nothing that special, it is nice and clean, but does not have a wow factor. If you are somewhat of a private person, you could feel a little overwhelmed by the attention of the reception staff. They what to help with everything and to some it might be to much. There is a reason I give this a full score, it's a good hotel and I would definitely stay again if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Staff was Very nice and present! Food was good and the rooms were nice. But we had room 20. You can hear cars passing in the street, the cars from the hotel and the lobby. But it was a good stay!
Thank you very much albergaria do cavalhario for this enjoyable stay!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is friendly, charming, lively, bright, lovely, happy and warm place which was a perfect base for our short stay in Evora. We felt like staying with good old friends. Evora is a relatively small city and Albergaria do Calvario is just inside the ancient city walls making it a perfect starting location for strolling through streets and exploring this beautiful place. Do listen to front desk advices on dining options since our dinner in one of the recommended restaurants was a funny and very pleasurable experience. We do not hesitate to highly recommend this hotel! Hotel has an underground garage which is perfect for travellers renting a car in Portugal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for a night in April, 2014, and would have stayed longer if they had rooms available. The facility is an historic site with loads of charm and architectural interest. Michelle at the desk couldn't do enough for us, even offered us free coffee while they checked us in. We gave her our laundry - very reasonable and great service. Miguel parked our car and was so friendly and helpful! The hotel has an underground lot - so much better to have them park the car in the small space. We left our luggage with them as the room was not ready - understandable as it was about 10 in the morning. When we came back at the end of the day, we stopped for a drink on their patio, The clerk came over and told us that our luggage was in our room - it was an upgraded room upstairs, but the there was no elevator access to it. As I had trouble walked, they offered us a less expensive room on the ground floor - how kind! They moved our luggage for us. The room was very pleasant with a window to a quiet street behind the hotel. It was quiet and immaculate. Breakfast the next morning was great - a full buffet with hot and cold foods, one of the best of our trip. The hotel has a great location for walking through this historic city and the Roman temple.

Room Tip: Make reservations in advance and plan to stay here a few days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a great choice in Evora which is a delightful city to visit. There are nice day trips making it worthwhile to spend at least 2 nights at the hotel. Rooms are spacious and well decorated and the staff is extremely accommodating and go out of their way to help with suggestions of the city, the surrounding area and dinner arrangements at the many restaurants in town. Breakfast is bountiful with fresh ingredients and awesome coffee. You can't go wrong at this truly delightful inn.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank smallface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and received an upgraded room. Lovely location, perfect service and incredible breakfast. Everything local and fresh. Michele at the front desk was great. Had wine and cheese on the patio - excellent with great service. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank divadiva56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
998 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#7 of 26 in Evora
1,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 26 in Evora
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range: £86 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing