We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality is #1 at Albergaria do Calvario...above and beyond what is expected!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hospitality is #1 at Albergaria do Calvario...above and beyond what is expected!!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We can not express how wonderful our experiance was at this hotel! The customer service was exceptional. Highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaniehurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,596
    136
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
259
1,153
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
451 reviews
306 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Definetly one of the best places for Evora! Top location in the old city walls (free parking), nice building and cosy places to play chess and enjoy the evening.

I'd give this hotel a avarage 3 Points here if there wasn't the very nice owner Nina and her well motivated staff!

They make your stay absolutely unforgetable and help where ever possible! You can even trust their "recommended restaurants" list as many of the cities restaurants are tourist traps and not worth the penny. We had the bad luck to be there on Easter Sunday and the choice of restraurants was limited.

Unfortunately the rooms resp. the bathrooms show their age. Beds are great, TV with CNN and other English channels. Everything is clean and working well, however the sink in bathroom is too high (ca. 1m from floor), showerhead and armature are from the late 90ies (looks cheap). Also the public-spa-like hairdryer (ventilator at the wall, air comes through a flexible tube) was modern some time ago and there are better solutions for hotels available in 2009.

Breakfast was super especially because of the personal assistance of the owner! You feel like at home!

Our early booking HRS company rate (72 EUR) was adequate - the official rate of 115 EUR/double incl. breakfast I'd feel it a bit overpriced in Evora/Portugal. Alternatives are available in town....

In a nutshell some more details: free Wifi, no Spa-Pool-Gym, no restaurant but wine bar.

However this cosy and charming hotel is very much recommended visiting Evora!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor ME
Level Contributor
498 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Albergaria one evening last week, and had a wonderful experience.
The Inn is a handsome place that is quiet and immaculate.
The staff were most helpful with such requests as dinner reservations, directions to sites in the city, and a taxi back to the train station.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanton, Md
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Albergaria do Calvario last week and loved every minute from the warmly enthusiastic greetings from Rita and Hugo at the front desk to the send off from owners Nina and Peter two days later. THIS is how a hotel should be run. The staff was not only friendly, but efficient and helpful for anything needed. It was evident that this very special hotel was a labor of love for the owners. and we sensed that their staff operated as one big family. Everyone indicated that they wanted us to feel at home away from home, and we certainly did. The public rooms were decorated beautifully,and the flower filled terrace was a wonderful place to sit and listen to the birds while having a glass of wine. The breakfast was the very best we had in all of Portugal and we can say the same for the hotel itself. Thank you to everyone at the hotel for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Great personal service by the owners (Nina & Peter) and staff (Rita & Hugo). They really make one feel as if we at home. They try to accomodate as best as possible all requests. Fantastic breakfast with fresh organic products. I´ve been to several 5 star hotels that never had the fresh orange juice that Nina and Peter have at breakfast. The only thing that I can complain about is the size (small) and speed (very slow) of the toaster at breakfast. Will be back some day!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMARX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Excellent room, service, location and the price includes one of the best breakfast buffets we've seen. Owners Peter and Nina have obviously made their hotel a labor of love, and you'll love it too. Best value we've seen for the 105 euro price. Our only complaint is those [--] European half-size shower doors.....but that's true everywhere. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siankaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2009

'struth, this has to be the place to stay, and we have travelled some, in Portugal. A truly enriching experience - accomodation, food, and the unique Proprietors. Ah, that would be to leave out the support cast e.g. Hugo and Rita.

At home, one of us likes garlic in his scrambled eggs - they obliged. Infact, nothing was too much trouble here. The breakfast itself gave a new meaning to the anglo version of DBB or Dinner bed and breakfast. The Calvario may not offer that but, euphemistically it tenders 'death by breakfast'. Really, the most diverse, sumptuous early morning fayre you could wish for. Add to that the highly enthusiastic/personable interactions of Proprietors and support cast to the munching breakfasters, and the day begins with an engaging stretch of the wasteband.
Regretfully, after 7 days we had to decamp to Lisbon - a reasonable hotel but we were already grieving for the wonderful experience we had been given by all concerned at this fantastic Albergaria.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skordtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 25 in Evora
890 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 25 in Evora
1,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 25 in Evora
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#9 of 25 in Evora
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Property: Albergaria do Calvario
Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing