We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This superb small hotel deserves every superlative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2010

1) Pitch-perfect hospitality from the hosts: warm knowledgeable and helpful but in no way obtrusive.
2) Facility was ideally situated and outfitted for arrival by car, with private underground parking inside the walls of the city.
3) A breakfast with more than you could possibly want, beautifully prepared with gorgeous ingredients. The incredible fresh squeezed juices, the french toast with minced sweet white peaches on top, eggs any way cooked to order, breakfast pastries, sweet and savory homemade sauces/jams, and a wide selection of fruits/fruit salads. Crazy good.
4) Perfect dinner recommendations made after really listening to what's important to you, followed by reservations they make for you.
5) There's a bar if you come back and want a bottle of wine out on the patio, or an after dinner drink, or whatever. Good selection, quality and reasonable prices.

Summary - we've traveled all over the world, staying in little boutique hotels and B&Bs and this one is in the top two. Believe the reviews - this place is a dream.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spcfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed just one night at the Albergaria do Calvario in lovely Evora and wished we could have stayed many more days., The hotel is an incredibly good value with the best hotel breakfast we've had in Europe (and we've been in Europe five weeks). I particularly liked the local bee pollen and organic flax seeds for sprinkling on cereal, the fresh figs (to die for), the poached eggs on toast with bacon made to order, and the best fruit salad I've had in a long time. The coffee was also wonderful as was the three kinds of fresh juices - carrot, orange, and I think watermelon.

What makes the hotel so great, however, isn't the lovely surroundings, excellent rooms with beautiful bathroom (with very, very long tub and lots of hot water with great pressure), and gorgeous terrace and public areas. These are all wonderful - but the best thing is the staff and the owners. Every person we encountered was friendly and extremely helpful. One of the staff even gave me a list of great restaurants in Lisbon to check out when we returned there. The owners really care about creating a great experience for their guests.

If you want a wonderful place to stay in one of the coolest little walled towns I've ever been in (and I've seen a few!), then stay here at the Albergaria do Calvario in sunny Evora.

Oh - and another good thing is that the hotel is right up against the wall of the town and so extremely easy to find and drive to. That's a big bonus with these little towns as we've discovered.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingGal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I have stayed at the Calvario on two different stays in the Alentejol. And when the third trip arises, I will stay there again. There simply is no other place in Evora from my perspective. Everything is done to perfection, and the staff are always ready to serve in the most courteous and warm-hearted way possible. There is no question that goes unanswered, no request that goes unattended. And it is all done with just the right amount of friendliness and professionalism combined.

The breakfasts are a gourmand's delight, with all local and organic products and produce whenever possible. One goes from freshly made juices, including carrot juice, to home made Portuguese specialty cakes and torts. In between come eggs, ham, bacon, sausages cheeses, tomatoes, cereals, breads, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, kefir drinks.... all at one's own discretion. And although there isn't a restaurant, there is a bar and the possibility of ordering simple plates for an afternoon or evening snack if you just want to stay in and read a book and relax.

This extraordinary oasis is the result of the genius and creativity of the two highly talented owners, Peter and Nina, who are always ready to turn your wish into reality.

I cannot recommend this place hightly enough. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paraclitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

When we checked in we met the owner who introduced himself by first and last name as well as his staff. He asked our names and called us by our names for the 3 days. He personally walked us to a dinner reservation and introduced us to the owner. When we mentioned we had eaten too much at dinners and wanted a light lunch suggestion. He said he would have the staff make us a light lunch. Turned out they never even charged us for a nice light lunch. My wife mentioned bedroom light was a little dim for reading. While we were at dinner he had bulbs changed and brought a lamp to the bedside.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alsbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The owners are amazingly hospitable and treat the guests as if they are family. They have a vast knowledge of the town and the area surrounding the town. They are very helpful with how to get where and what to see.
The breakfasts are amazing, healthy, and organic, complete with fresh fruit.
The hotel itself is spacious, immaculate, and comfortable.
This is a town and hotel that I hope to travel to again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We went here to try to see a bit of the real Portugal. Having researched all the competition this looked too good to be true. Guess what? It lives up to everything they say. The hotel has a lovely courtyard where you can take breakfast, or have a relaxing drink after a busy day. A real oasis in a bustling town. There is underground parkinig, a real bonus. The reception and bar area are really contemporary, this is a very design-led hotel. We paid a little more for a junior suite. You get a small sitting room, again perfect for relaxing in.

The staff were so friendly, nothing seemed too much. Oh, and the breakfast? All locally sourced produced and beautifully presented.

All we need now is an excuse to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonbrown_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is one of the nicest hotels we have ever visited: rather like staying with charming but non-intrusive friends. We stayed in suite 4, which was simple, well-furnished and spacious: shortly after checking in, we extended our stay by another three days, having recognised we had found somewhere special. Breakfast, as commented on in other reviews, is to rave about: perfect poached eggs (free-range); fabulous Brazilian organic coffee; local produce including, when we were there, delicious Evora figs.
The staff are effortlessly helpful and friendly: they organised a car and driver to take us prehistory-spotting, and their restaurant recommendations were spot-on. Rather eccentrically we were travelling round Portugal on public transport, and they printed out for us times of buses we didn't even know existed (as accessible only in Portuguese).
Evora is a lovely, unspoilt, tiny walled city, and authentically Portuguese, unlike the Algarve. We enjoyed so much there: an exhibition of Francis Bacon drawings, tiled churches, atmospheric mediaeval alleyways, adventures with the cuisine and wine (both excellent). We hope to explore a different part of Portugal on another visit, and will build in a trip to this hotel as part of our travels.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#7 of 26 in Evora
1,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 26 in Evora
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range: £86 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing