We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel, Great Town, Perfect Hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergaria do Calvario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel, Great Town, Perfect Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

We stayed one night here in mid-september, and had the best night of our overall amazing 10-day trip to Portugal. The rooms are well appointed and modern, but still keep a bit of the Evora vibe. The hotel has a great lobby and courtyard, that makes it a perfect place for hanging out, and the breakfast was awesome. The owners couldn't be more hospitable or knowledgeable about the local area. Also, we were hesitant about going to Evora in the first place, but ended up loving the feel of the medieval city, and its excellent restaurants (some of the best in Portugal). Would definitely recommend going to Evora and staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t_willNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,517
    133
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
253
1,094
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
solon ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

We arrived in Lisbon from the States and drove to Evora to enjoy a quiet town to adjust to the time change. From the moment that we arrived at Albergaria do Calvario, we felt at home. As we checked in, we were offered a choice of fresh carrot juice or orange juice. Our car was parked for us, we were helped with our bags and taken to our upgraded suite. The huge bed had fresh cozy linens...the marble bath was beautiful...perfect! So much so that later in the trip we returned for two more nights. I'm not going to mention any staff member individually because each and every one of them were so good to us. From their great restaurant recommendations, arranging a private guide for us, having our room ready for us in the middle of the night with fresh fruit and yogurt...the list goes on and on. If you visit Portugal, be good to your self and spend at least one night here!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Avora is a walled city and the hotel is located within the walls. The fact that it has free underground parking means that one doesn't have to worry about parking. You park and walk the old city. The hotel was originally an olive oil mill and was completely renovated. We were given a suite for the regular room price of 90 euros including breakfast and taxes. It wasn't elegant, but it was more than comfortable in every respect. Nelia, in receptiont, was an incredibly helpful, as was Omar. The hotel has an "honest" list of local restaurants and it's accurate. The hotel has the best breakfast we had on our trip – cooked-to-order pancakes, eggs, etc. It focuses on environmental sustainability in terms of natural food products (yogurt, jams, bread) and eco-friendly room. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigShotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

A great little hotel with super staff, comfortable bedrooms and excellent breakfast. Free internet and underground parking. I left my credit card behind and the staff posted it on to me at my next hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxdown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

This is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location. Easy to find, right in the old city, with free underground parking. Staff extremely kind, friendly and helpful. Staff provided wonderful suggestions for dining and touring. The hotel is beautifully decorated and immaculate. Comfortable beds, with great bedding. Fantastic breakfast! There was only one problem which was that the shower enclosure (half glass) did not hold the water, and the floor was always flooded after the shower. This would not prevent me from returning, but I hope that they will change to regular shower curtains.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Struna51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

This hotel was a real surprise. Right in the old town, it was wonderfully clean, quiet, modern but with plenty of character. The staff were cheerful, efficient and very helpful. The rooms were a treat after some of the other hotels you see when travelling.

We loved every minute at this hotel and wished we had booked for longer. The free parking and superb breakfasts just added to what was already a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMcGrathMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
222 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Staff is wonderfull. Location is very good. Rooms are excelent. Bed is unforgetable

###################################333
O atendimento é inesquecivel. O café da manhá bastante saudável e delicioso.
O hotel dá dicas honestas e trata o turista de forma íntegra e pessoal.
Nina a proprietária é uma pessoa agradável e que trata os hospedes como amigo.
Pretendo retornar e recomendo a todos os brasileiros educados e de bom gosto.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajantte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.0 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.4 mi away
M'AR De AR Muralhas
M'AR De AR Muralhas
#8 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Property: Albergaria do Calvario
Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing