We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensao Residencial Policarpo
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Trip back in time”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This 4th generation, family run hotel is a marvelous trip back into history. The staff was great as our internet reservation did not come through, but they still accommodated us. Expect all the uniqueness of a 16th century building and you won't be disappointed. The proprietor threaded our car like a needle in the tight lot to help release us...amazing!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    125
    39
    13
    12
See reviews for
32
147
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rennes le Chateau
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Central hotel with friendly helpful staff. Large room in need of a bit of refreshment. Quite noisy as next to street and the university with loud students late at night. But an authentic experience. The breakfast is correct and included. Good to have the free parking but quite a squeeze if your car is big.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia5660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is such a nice hotel and the price/quality is just great! Lovely historic building with some really nice details, old furniture, nice paintings, a fireplace, The rooms don´t have a tv and wifi but there is a tv-room and an internetroom. (with desktop and wifi) Great location, really close to the Diana Temple, Cathedral, shopping and Market place.
Small disadvantages are the simple bathroom and the sometimes difficult parking (which is really normal in Portugal, especially in city center hotels)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I loved staying at the Pensao Policarpo which we had picked at random off the internet. The Policarpo is the oldest hotel in Evora and has been in the same family for about 90 years. It was built originally as the summer residence for a member of the Portugese aristocracy in the 16th century. Our room, which was large and nicely decorated, had a shower and sink. We shared a toilet with another room down the hall. Lovely wood staircases take you from one floor to another. Wonderful paintings of Evora hang in the hallways. There is computer room with free computer and internet access, plus a breakfast room and outdoor eating area. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, letting us store food in their fridge and make our own lunch in the breakfast area. The Pensao Policarpo is within easy walking distance of the bus station and at the center of medieval Evora. It is a lovely place to stay in a fascinating, old city. We recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Just enjoy whatever room you get, especially if it's in a historic building. Charm can make up f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It is an old mansion, wonderfully quaint, with innumerable personal touches (from hand painted headboards to colored tile floors), located in the very center of Evora, one minute walk from the cathedral and the Roman temple. One has the feeling of sleeping in one of the many bedrooms of a sometime aristocratic uncle. Take your time and explore the town. It has much more to offer than at first sight.

On the downside, my air conditioning didn't work and it was quite a hot day. The host gracefully provided a fan which did its best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StefanBalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Conveniently located near the Evora Cathedral Pensao Policarpo was a delight. The building itself is beautiful, it was always a pleasure to walk up to our room using the 600 year old staircase. The pensao is decorated with paintings of Evora made by young artists during the international painting compétition that seems to take place in Evora every year.
The room we had was quite large, comfortable bed, and a incredible view over the countryside. The room furniture was beautiful too. To be honest the tv is tiny and the bathroom has seen better days, but we didnt mind.
The staff speaks French and English and they were all adorable, booking restaurants for us, taking carz of our laundry for a tenner...
Breakfast on the terrace was nice, sufficient without being amazing. As the O.J. didnt quite taste like O.J., se asked for a freshly squeezed one which totally hit the spot (1.50€ pp).
You can also have à drink on the terrace in the evening, white wine for 2€, 1L of sangria for 8€.
WiFi and a.c. in all the rooms.
55€ à night in the centre of Evora with such services, à real steal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riddleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Location is excellent, very good value. Our room was large but bathroom was way too small and difficult to get into it. I would advise taking a room with shared bathroom. Very old building and in very good condition.
Owner/Manager and staff were polite but not friendly (a pity!)

Room Tip: en-suite bathrooms are very very small, better sharing bathroom facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iisollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
0.5 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.6 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 25 in Evora
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 25 in Evora
1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solar de Monfalim
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Residencial Policarpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Residencial Policarpo

Property: Pensao Residencial Policarpo
Address: Rua da Freiria de Baixo 16, Evora 7000-898, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#10 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pensao Residencial Policarpo 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PENSÃO Residencial POLICARPO occupies a building dating from the end of the 16th century, which was in earlier times the manor house of the Counts of Lousã.This noble house has an imposing principal façade which faces south, and thus offers an impressive panorama over the Alentejan plain.On the other side, the house opens on to a small patio, giving direct access to the reception.A very visible architectural feature is the fact that the house bestrides the ancient Roman wall.These elements, together with the fact that the Counts of Lousã’s manor house has provided hotel accommodation for over 70 years under the direction and management of the POLICARPO family, who has always emphasized a familiar ambiance and conviviality, based on the authenticity of this special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pensao Residencial Policarpo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Policarpo Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing