We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ecorkhotel-Evora Suites & Spa
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My stay at this comfortable and calm hotel was very nice. The staff is very friendly.
Had an excellent dinner at the restaurant, much better than some recommended restaurants in Evora! Delicious food!!!
Definitely recommend this hotel and a trip to beautiful Alentejo!
Will be come back soon!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 123Marta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPCRF, Proprietário at Ecorkhotel-Evora Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We´ve loved your review and presence at Ecorkhotel. We hope to continue to be worthy of it. We hope to see you soon.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just perfect!!! I highly recommend Ecorkhotel-Évora Suites & Spa if you are looking for design, quality, peace and quiet in a beautiful setting not too far from Lisbon (only 1 hour drive). You won't be disappointed whatever is the purpose of your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank MSM1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPCRF, Proprietário at Ecorkhotel-Evora Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We thank you very much for your revue. It´s so wonderful we could use it as a slogan for our Hotel. We always do our best to keep up to your expectations. We work hard to improve a bit everyday, but as you suspect, this kind of revues are a balm to our soul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We found Ecorkhotel a perfect place with good views, friendly architecture, quiet and cool. The hotel is located 3 miles away from Évora, a world heritage site recognized by UNESCO, with unique buildings, art and gastronomy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BacelardeVasconcelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelRosadoFonseca, Proprietário at Ecorkhotel-Evora Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Sorry, but we have to quote your entire review "We found Ecorkhotel a perfect place with good views, friendly architecture, quiet and cool. The hotel is located 3 miles away from Évora, a world heritage site recognized by UNESCO, with unique buildings, art and gastronomy.", because reviews like this one are the reason why we are open and the fuel to keep us going.
Thank You very much, we look forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed yesterday on the hotel. Liked the architecture, but the concept is a bit uncomfortable. The hotel, restaurant and swimming pool are separated from the rooms, which is a annoyance.
The acoustics of the lounge are terrible, there was a group of young people talking loud and its was terrible for someone who chooses this hotel for a relaxing stay.
The hotel needs some maintenance on wall paint.
On the suite the water took several long minutes to warm, which is not so good.
Breakfast was very good, specially the local cheese, fresh orange juice, fruit. The waiters need some truing because they were always clearing the table whenever we got up to have another serve at tea or bread or whatever.
Lots of bugs around the rooms, so you can't open the large windows.
One very good thing is that there is absolutely no noise, so you sleep like an angel.
Too expensive for the quality.

Room Tip: the closer to the hotel, the better, because you have to walk on the open to get to the main (hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSH2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelRosadoFonseca, Owner at Ecorkhotel-Evora Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear sir, we are very pleased that you "Liked the architecture (...)" It was our choice to make "The hotel, restaurant and swimming pool (...) separated from the rooms (...)" and the reason for that was to give privacy and to be congruous wit the environement and culture of Alentejo. Unfortunately, when we do something different we cannot please everyone, but that kind of architecture has been precisely what most people like in our Ecorkhotel.
It´s with great satisfaction that we see that you find the "Breakfast was very good, specially the local cheese, fresh orange juice, fruit." because that´s something we can be accountable for.
I quote "One very good thing is that there is absolutely no noise, so you sleep like an angel.", because for us that is one of the things we are able to offer, that a city hotel cannot and is the essence of an Eco-Hotel. We have to be integrated in the landscape, and live in harmony with nature. We use natural resources to heat the water, pools and even the main building (Geothermal energy, and solar panels to produce heat and electricity).
If sometimes there are some minor inconveniences, we have to live with them to achieve an higher purpose.
We hope to receive you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Couldn't have chosen a better place to relax for a weekend. Impeccable rooms, incredible staff and a restaurant that has become one of my favourite restaurants anywhere! And on top of all that, it is a Lyoness partner. Couldn't have asked for more, massive congratulations to all!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuarteSaldanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelRosadoFonseca, Proprietário at Ecorkhotel-Evora Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you very much for your revue, we are pleased to Know that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to see you again soon. We are also very pleased that you use the Lyoness Cashback loyalty program and we invite our members to become also Lyoness members so that they can benefit from cash back in every purchase.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Beautifull surroundings, Nice and clean design, confy and spacious suites, excellent service, great outdoor and indoor swiming pools, free bikes and very tasty and varied breakfast...what more can you ask for to relax for a couple of days ir even a week? Besides, just 7km from Évora The wonderfull Unesco worldheritage city. When in town try The O Gremio restaurant!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eduard0_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelRosadoFonseca, Proprietário at Ecorkhotel-Evora Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you in the Summer so that you can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The quiet weekend retreat in the middle of nowhere with Spa turned out a joke.

On the first night management thought it was a good idea to have a war game with teenagers running around until just after midnight outside the suites, without prior warning - we (perplexed!) called reception at 11.30pm to ask if they knew there was a full blown play war outside with shouting, screams and sirens - they could not even tell us when it would end...
I´m Portuguese and I´m used to rules being bent a little but this felt like we were on candid camera.

They refunded the night, but to be honest if I go 200km to a 4 star Spa hotel in the country for the weekend I´m not really looking for a discount - I wan´t peace and quiet.

The Spa is not closed off to kids - contrary to hotel print - and the screams of toddlers in the pool just made us give up on the second day.

Does make you wonder if the owner had not had 70% E.U. (taxpayer) funding for the project he might be a bit more careful with brand management.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
7  Thank LuisCoelho915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelRosadoFonseca, Owner at Ecorkhotel-Evora Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

I just regret that a Portuguese from Lisbon, with just one review had to make it in English. If you make it in Portuguese maybe I could answer you better.
We hope to see you soon so that we can change your opinion.
There are some reviews, made with god knows what purpose, that I have no skills to answer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
3.2 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
998 reviews
5.5 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
3.4 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
818 reviews
2.1 mi away
Evora Hotel
Evora Hotel
#12 of 26 in Evora
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecorkhotel-Evora Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecorkhotel-Evora Suites & Spa

Address: Quinta da Deserta e Malina, Evora 7006-804, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Price Range: £60 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ecorkhotel-Evora Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Ecorkhotel' in Portugal is Inspired by Cork and Medieval Villages Published: Dec 20, 2013 • References: dezeen Taking inspiration from the structure of medieval villages in Alentejo in the South-Central region of Portugal, "where it was common to find a main complex or castle, and several white buildings around it," according to the project's site, the 'Ecorkhotel' was designed by Portuguese architect Jose Carlos Cruz. The imposing structure contains a restaurant, a recreational complex fitted with up to 56 hotel suites in the form of bungalows. The hotel is located in Portugal's Alentejo region and is completely covered in cork. On the reason why Cruz decided to use cork as the main component in the construction of the hotel, he says, "[o]ne of our intentions was to promote cork as a cladding material, it's a good thermal insulator and is also recyclable." The two story recreational complex incorporates conference rooms, an indoor swimming pool, a gym and spa facilities with views of the Alentejo landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ecorkhotel-Evora Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing