We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Starwood we have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our recent stay here was the finest hotel experience ever at a Starwood property- or anyone's property , for that matter.

When was the last time you stayed in a hotel that the King of Portugal lived in for many years .Or a hotel that has a full Catholic church inside it.

This was such a great place on so many levels- the best being the service. I have never seen such a great team working the front desk- just terrific. One person was exceptional.

Mr. Joao Vicente constantly went out of his way to make our stay memorable.A special thank you to him. He would be promoted, if i had a say in the matter.

Located a short drive from Evora ,which is a jewel of a place, you cannot go wrong.

As a splurge, go for a room in the old section- worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,
It was indeed a pleasure to read your kind words which have truly made us very proud, not only of this unique convento where are lucky to work and welcome our guests, but also of our young and dedicated team. Thank you also for your comment regarding our Front Office member João Vicent who is definitely an asset to our team.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Évora in the near future, and if I may assist you with future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me.directly.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Convento do Espinheiro is one of those places where you breath history since you step in! The conversion to a 5* hotel worked perfectly maintaining the original spirit of the convent (there is a big chapel they use for wedding ceremonies) but with a luxury touch! It used to be also an hostel for nobles and kings back then in history. We got upgraded to a nice suite even if we arrived really late at night. The room we had was marvellous with some ancient furniture but a big luxurious bathroom
Breakfast is also a bliss, something to wake up for!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city of Evora
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NenneBasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to learn thar our guests feel the uniqueness of this magical convent which embraces so much of the history of our country.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Évora in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is one of those hotels that has it all. The physical portion, an old covenant with an existing chapel. Many people would want to come just to see the covenant and the chapel. We found in many Portugese hotels that would not let us view their interior if were were not hotel guests. Beautiful landscaping and pool area. Our room a Grand Deluxe nearly perfect. The sunset was spectacular. Not enough electrical outlets for our electrical charging adaptors. No other issue. The bathroom had an electrical screen on their outside viewing window for while you showered. A restaurant they can be overly proud of with an obvious excellent selection of wine. We took two bottles home with us. A rather abundant breakfast buffet. Relaxing spa well attended clean no more no less. While the hotel is several miles from town at no time during our stay did we find it inconvenient. in fact the weekend we arrived the town was full of party goers making it not the best time to stay within the city.

The staff could not be more pleasant and accommodating. Always greeting you and offering assistance. Upon our checkin offering a late arrival to their restaurant after another long ride from Peso Da Ragau was provided us.

While in the Evora area this would be an excellent choice of accommodations for your stay.

Room Tip: We went with the Grand Deluxe and would choose it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cozysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor. It was indeed a pleasure to read your kind words and to learn that you enjoyed your stay in this unique convent which has embraced so much of the history of our country. We have also shared your kind words with our team as we believe that the recognition of their work by our valued guests is truly the best indicator that we are moving in the right direction.
We hope to have the plkeasure of welcoming you back to Évora in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Convento do Espinheiro is a converted convent that still has a chapel. The hotel sits outside of Evora in a rural setting. The hotel property is very nice. It has both an indoor and outdoor pool, both of which are very nice. The food at the hotel's restaurant was very good. This is a very unique hotel that has a bit of its own history.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TucsonSams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor. We are indeed very proud of our heritage and all that this convent represents in terms of the history of our country. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel as everythig to be perfect but the staff is not good enough , In the morning the cleaning staff is making so much noise that you really feel they want that you leave even if you stay another night, the bar is very poor, and the cellar is a joke

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newtonjonh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor.
We apologise for the noise caused by our Housekeeping team, and please be assured that this has been addressed with the head of department in order to avoid similar unpleasant situations in the future.
We are also sorry that our bar and wine-cellar, were not up to your expectations - these are some of our most popular facilities with our guests - but we hope that the rest of the hotel and services provided were to your satisfaction.
Thank you again for your recent stay, and if I may be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We highly recommend the Covento do Espinheiro where we stayed for three nights in mid-May 2014. This is a truly exceptional hotel, and it merits by far being included in the Sheraton Luxury Collection. The place is extremely well-maintained and spotlessly clean. The owners did a exceptional job in renovating this historical property into a first-class hotel. It is beautiful, and in fact the best hotel we stayed in during our three week tour of Portugal. Since we have a gold ranking in the Sheraton Preferred Guest program, we were upgraded to a large, three-room junior suite with our own interior balcony overlooking the interior courtyard. The service and politeness from the front desk staff and the service staff could not be surpassed. The hotel's WiFi set up is excellent--fast and without problems. Be aware that as a member of the Starwood Preferred Guest program, you can stay at this hotel under the Cash and Points option--$55 plus 3,500 point per night--an extremely generous offer.
The one issue we have with the hotel is its high restaurant charges. As a result, we did not eat there. In particular, we thought the Euro 24 charge for the breakfast buffet was unreasonable, and the hotel does not offer breakfast ala carte. So is it Euro 24 for a cup of coffee for those of us who do not eat breakfast?
We ate dinner in town. And here we highly recommend the Vinho e Noz on Rua Ramalho Ortigao 12--on the opposite side of town from the Convento and outside the town walls. It is a small, quiet, family-owned restaurant that offers delicious and generous portions of food at reasonable prices. It is popular with the locals. Reservations are advisable as the place fills up quickly. The grilled pork dish we had was truly outstanding and prepared just right --with an unforgettable marinade. It was the best restaurant meal we had during our three week tour of Portugal. The service is attentive and fast.
Note that the hotel offers a daily wine tasting every late afternoon and also a guided tour every day of the hotel focusing on its history. Napolean's troop did some nasty damage to the convent, and they say that some paintings stolen by his troops are now in New York's Metropolitan Museum of Art. Time for restitution? Also the Evora tourist office in town offers a daily 1 to 1 1/2 hour walking tour of the city. Our guide was welcoming and very knowledgeable about Evora's history. The tour was well worth the few Euros charged. A worthwhile side trip to visit the walled-town of Elvas.

Room Tip: If you are a Gold member or higher of the Sheraton Preferred Guest program, ask for an upgrade to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OneFairCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,
It was indeed a pleasure to read your wonderful review which has made us even prouder of "our" special convent. This is undoubtedly a unique and magical place and it is very rewarding for us to share its history and its beauty with our guests. Apart from this, we have believe we have a very special team who take pride in our hotel and our region and love welcoming our guests, and this reflects in the quality of service provided

Thank you so much for your kind words and for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Évora in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A splendid mix of ancient/new buildings is the envelope for a very good Hotel and Restaurant Service .

Rooms are perhaps small, but confortable (only 17,0 sqm) , although somehow expensive , according to the areas involved , but ...

How could one enjoy some tranquility at lower affordable prices ?

The gastronomy is spectacular . One has to try it , to savour some splendid tastes !...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, General Manager at Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to read your kind words and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Évora in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
2.2 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
2.9 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 27 in Evora
842 reviews
2.5 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 27 in Evora
265 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 27 in Evora
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa

Address: Canaviais, Evora 7005-839, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Evora
#1 Business Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Evora
Price Range: £112 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Do Espinheiro, a Luxury Collection Hotel And Spa
Convento Do Espinheiro Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing