We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Evora(Evora)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,173)
Filter reviews
1,173 results
Traveller rating
887
207
48
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
887
207
48
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarluxury collectionnew wingdesign roomindoor and outdoor poolsspg platinumbeautiful chapelluxury hoteltasting menuguided tourpool bartour of the propertyrestored conventold sectionmain restaurantsteam roomolive oil
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,173 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a week in Portugal. Our conference was at this hotel and everyone really enjoyed it. The room that we stayed in (new wing) was modern and very well appointed. Full buffet breakfast each day was great. The resort is about a 7€ drive to Evora. Pool,area is very nice and relaxing.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank 291DEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filipao345, operations manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Convento do Espinheiro and we hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Filuipa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Simply a beautifully restored oasis in Evora

Pros: wonderful location, amenities indoor and outdoor pools
Historical significance

Daily wine tastings
- simply amazing, thoughtful, attentive staff

Cons: located outside of Evora so if you want to walk the town you must take a short taxi in

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jengweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filipao345, operations manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro and for your wonderful review. it was a pleasure to read your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience. thank you again for your preference and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Filipa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This is truly a magical place as its history is long and amazing. We stayed two nights and could have stayed longer. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating to our every need. The wine tasting was very nice and well done. We ate at the restaurant both nights and it is an amazing place and the food was exceptional. The breakfasts were huge and a great variety of items to choose from. We will return to Convento.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filipao345, operations manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro and for your wonderful review. It makes us so happy to learn that you enjoyed your experience and intend to return, and we have shared your kind words with our team as yours is definitely the kind of testimony that motivates us and indicates that our work is going in the right direction. Thank you so much! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards,
Filipa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

This beautifully restored convent, with amazing service was a wonderful haven after we experienced multiple problems when our trip to Madeira was cancelled by TAP.
David at the front desk is a gem and looked after our every need.
The rooms are lovely as are the views over the quiet countryside only 5 minutes from historic Evora.
Make sure you leave time for the wine tasting in the wine cellar every night at 6PM. Hosted by the sommelier, you will taste 3 local wines accompanied by local cheeses, jams, olive oils and breads.
This hotel is truly a 5 star experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank werhappy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filipao345, operations manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear guest,
It was a pleasure to welcome you to Convento do Espinheiro and to feel that, in some way, we were able to make up for the cancellation of your flight to Madeira. Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for your kind words, which I have shared with the team and we hope that we may have the pleausre of welcoming you and your husband back to Évora in the near future.
Warm regards,
FIlipa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This is an incredible place. The building is lovely. Our service was great. We had dinner there and breakfast twice and every time the food was delicious. The restaurant is in a beautiful part of the convent and nearby were several other eating areas that looked gorgeous. The courtyard looked very romantic for a drink with someone special.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank treesprite07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filipao345, operations manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro and for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and that you may have the chance to experience all of our facilities.
Kindest regards,
Filipa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews