We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,228)
Filter reviews
1,228 results
Traveller rating
930
215
52
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
930
215
52
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar luxury collection new wing design room beautiful chapel indoor and outdoor pools spg platinum tasting menu luxury hotel guided tour pool bar tour of the property restored convent old section main restaurant olive oil unique property
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,228 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

This 15th century monastery and UNESCO World Heritage site is a unique place. The rooms are nice enough but it's the architecture of the convent that sets the place apart.

The vaulted ceilings, the 16th Century chapel, the stone on the floor... it's unique. Even my kids were impressed by it.

I was also pleased with the Italian restaurant in the cellar and the included breakfast buffet.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank NOLA70115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Located in the beautiful countryside just outside of Evora. Enormous well appointed rooms with beautiful bathrooms:rain showers and deep tubs. Lovely gardens scented with jasmine and an outdoor pool. Indoors was also a pool plus sauna and steam room. Meals were delicious and a very ample and varied breakfast. The staff couldn’t have been nicer or more helpful. This is a 5 Star experience!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Macrosantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

This beautiful hotel near Evora was an old convent. Now completely renovated, it still has old world charm. It is also a winery. It has great meals, great service, and really friendly staff. Do not hesitate to try it out.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank JimB8956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We totally enjoyed our unique stay at Convento do Espinheiro & only wished we had stayed a few more days.

Location- beautifully situated appropriately 4km from UNESCO World Heritage city of Evora in a gorgeous rural setting.

It’s a easy 1 hour drive from Lisbon & 50mins to the historic medieval hilltop village of Monsaraz.

Room - we booked a grand deluxe design room
located in the new building. The only negative was we actually had the last room at the end of a very long corridor.

Spacious room (49m) with glamorous luxurious decor & big balcony. The bathroom was again large with separate bath & walk-in shower. Lovely views over the wooded olive groves.

Dining - Divinus restaurant was excellent & highly recommend booking for dinner. Breakfast was good too with a interesting selection of pastries.

Facilities - impressive indoor & outdoor swimming pools , tennis courts , jacuzzi, sauna & steam room, spa treatments, cellar , wine tasting & fine dining restaurant.

Overall - a formal historical chapel & convent nestled on 23 peaceful acres with a 1000 year old olive tree as the highlight. The food outstanding ; the building unique & stunning. A windfall to find & a truly wonderful experience. Highly recommended if visiting Portugal.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel exudes elegance but could use some updating. The pool area is lovely and the chapel outstanding. On our recent visit, we found that they could have used additional staffing in the restaurant and bar.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews