We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy retreat from the world in a setting that few would forget”
Review of Casa da Arvore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa da Arvore
Ranked #3 of 9 Marvao B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Marvao is the kind of place that even hardened travellers would warm to. The views over the vast tumbling valleys beyond are utterly stunning. If you stay here (which we did in January 2013), and not fussy about the room being basic - for city folks - but perfectly adequate, you would be rewarded with not just the views all laid out in front of you from the verandah which runs alongside the property, but also a warm and friendly welcome, ample healthy breakfast, a beautiful homely environment, and great conversations with the manageress Cristina - all at a very reasonable price. Ask for Cristina's permission to light the fire (it was very cold when we were there), sit down and sit back on the comfy sofa, and wind the evening away with a bottle of Alentejo wine which you cannot possibly go wrong with (whatever your choose from a local shop). If there are two of you and no other guest using the sitting room, it could easily be one of the most romantic things to do in life. Do read up on the amazing history of Marvao - there is a great coffee table book lying around. When we were there, the fog came and went several times in the course of one evening. And when it was there, and venturing out to the verandah, with the wind howling away and blasting onto the face, it was like living in a dream, far, far away from it all. Thank you Cristina for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1234MSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

The location and the view out of the room and balcony is amazing!! The owner and staff are friendly and the breakfast is very nice. It is also very comfortable to use the living room for reading and playing a game. It was a perfect stay at a wonderfull location!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roeldutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed in the Casa on our way to the Algarve in early September. We were so impressed that we booked in for our return journey north. The Casa is a beautiful spot in a gem of a fortified hilltop town, dominated by the frontier fortress. The welcome is warm, the bedrooms are clean and comfortable, the bathrooms - with their monographed linens and a selection of toiletries - are of a standdard better than many hotels. The breakfast is copious and served in pleasant surroundings.The views from the terrace overlooking the valley are majestic; we were looking down on eagles crusing past on the wind. A place to visit and revisit and excellent value in addition!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas Desmond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This Casa is so close to the castle we could visit it in its changing lights, evening and early morning. What a stunningly beautiful town and this Casa just captivated us. the host was really welcoming and we had a lovely room and the use of a lounge and verandah with views out over the city walls to the stunning vista. The sunset was incredible and we wandered the winding alley ways appreciating the friendly waves and pretty plantings. Found a great restaurant nearby serving local specialities, coriander fish casserole and a lamb hotspot. Don't miss this amazing town! Excellent gift shop close to the Casa and castle selling cheap ceramics, , linens and a variety of souvenirs. Will stay longer next time, may even emigrate!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank karin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Casa da Avore is run by the people who used to run Dom Dinis just up the road. It's in the very highest road in the village, looking out over the Portuguese side with views of the Serra de Marmede and glimpses of the flat plains beyond. Restaurants are within a few minutes walk, the castle is just up the road, and the Castelo cafe is more or less opposite. Free parking is available in the square adjacent to the house.

The house is centrally heated and warm out of season - very important in this part of Portugal.Upstairs rooms look out on to the square, with a view to the side over the valley, and there is a large and comfortable sitting room with windows and balcony looking straight over the valley - a stunning place to spend an evening

Rooms are reasonably sized, clean and comfortable. Breakfasts are good, and if the proprietor is on the premises there may be cake in addition to the usual bread, ham, cheese, jam etc.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hedysarum e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Fabulous panoramic views over the green valley near the clouds, then (re)discover silence and peace in a unique family house. Paradise is here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vitor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vista para o Largo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helder R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marvao
0.1 mi away
Pousada Marvao
Pousada Marvao
#3 of 4 in Marvao
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Rei Dom Manuel
0.0 mi away
Dom Dinis
Dom Dinis
#1 of 4 in Marvao
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Sol e Serra
Hotel Sol e Serra
#2 of 5 in Castelo de Vide
162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sever Rio Hotel
Sever Rio Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marvao
87 reviews
1.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel O Poejo
Boutique Hotel O Poejo
#1 of 1 in Santo Antonio Das Areias
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Arvore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Arvore

Address: Rua Doutor Matos Magalhaes 3, Marvao 7330-121, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Portalegre District > Marvao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Marvao
Price Range: £48 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa da Arvore 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive Casa da Arvore in Marvao is indeed a family home where you can enjoy all the comfort it exists and sustains a really interesting story. This house has been theater in the early twentieth century and was rebuilt in 1951 to be a boys' school on the ground floor. On the first floor was the dwelling house of the teacher. The teacher placed this school Freedom Gomes Esteves, mother of the owners of the house, taught here until the construction of the new school in 1968, opposite the square. You can also point out that the name of this house is due to a centuries-old tree existed in the square in front of the facade of the house, which was later withdrawn. However, another curious fact about the house is clearly the names of the five bedrooms it exists be inspired by the many leaves of the trees scattered along the Serra de Sao Mamede, including Lime Tree, chestnut, elm, poplar and walnut that can be sighted the magnificent balcony this house undoubtedly having from one of the best Marvao views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa da Arvore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing