We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful place a real haven”
Review of Herdade da Retorta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Herdade da Retorta
Ranked #2 of 9 Serpa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and really loved this place. Gabriella and Carlos are a lovely couple who are great hosts. There is a lovely pool which we spent the afternoon at and then in the evening Gabriella gave us some plates and cutlery so as we could have an alfresco picnic. It's a very relaxing place. The inside of the house is calm and cool and outside is equally peaceful. The room was perfect and very Portuguese. Gabriella gave me a lovely bunch of flowers when we left. It was such a friendly gesture. Thanks for a lovely restful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottishtravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Herdade da Retorta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Herdade da Retorta and were delighted in every way. Gabriella and Carlos are excellent hosts and you can see that the comfort and well being of their guests is always first thing on their minds. Both Carlos and Gabriella were there to welcome us. They gave us excellent information about the area and places to eat and made us feel very much at home. Gabriellas breakfast table is a work of art and you just feel so special knowing that someone has taken so much trouble over your meal. The room was impecable and lacked nothing. We really could not have asked for more. We would have no hesitation in recommending Herdade da Retorta to other people. An excellent choice for anyone who wants a good base to enjoy this part of Portugal. The nearby town of Serpa is very interesting and we found plenty to do in the area. A car is essential, I think.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This place is so nice that one just wants to keep it a secret and come back again and again. We had it just for ourselves as well as the wonderful attention of our hosts, Gabriela and Carlos. The property is dazzling beautiful, the room spotless, a magical place altogether. The architectural style of the house is quite unique, there is a painting studio in the attic, hundreds of swallows and all sorts of birds, the color changing fields, the pitch black night and huge sky, the most beautiful breakfast (and delicious) I had ever seen. A precious gem. (Thank you for your warm generosity, Gabriela!)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amesadeluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Beautifully restored manor house with a great pool and double aspect dining room with sweeping views (where breakfast is served). Similar stunning views from the two vast terraces on two sides of the house. The rooms are simple and elegant. Gabriella and Carlos are the loveliest people. They both work really hard and it shows in how they have restored the place and how they look after their guests! We felt that we could relax and treat the place as our own - it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. Equally Gabriella and Carlos were on hand when we wanted advice - we were so appreciative of their recommendations concerning restaurants, vineyards, towns to visit etc. When asking them why they did not have any pets, they regailed us with the most wonderful story about their goat - ask them what they did with it when they went to Lisbon! The breakfasts are heavenly, especially the cheeses, fresh breads, pumpkin jam and the cakes. The honesty bar was a good touch (I would have used it more had I not been expecting but my husband made up for it!) Serpa is a nice little town, just a short drive away. Stay here and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cantelop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A perfectly refurbished 1907 country mansion, light-filled, elegant and comfortable, the warm welcome of gracious and friendly hosts Gabriela and Carlos are the reasons why we keep returning to the Herdade da Retorta. Details like fine bed linens and beautifully presented as well as delicious breakfasts make it a very special place to stay. The charming, old,walled town of Serpa is close by for excellent and inexpensive dining.

The perfect spot from which to tour the Alentejo and discover its landscapes and treasures.

Retired couple, Ottawa, Canada

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and lovely, but the suites are exceptional
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annasofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Sorry this review is rather belated as we stayed for 2 nights as part of a mini tour of the Alentejo region in early May. The Herdade was a gem and was only marred by the weather which was unseasonably bad for Portugual. Our hosts were delightful and even picked us up from a meal out in Serpa. Breakfast was really lovely and the fresh flowers on the table were a lovely touch. We're only sorry that the weather wasn't good enough for us to sit out and even try the pool. Lots of scope to develop more rooms (but we hope that the special character of the building remains).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakehCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were staying in the Algarve for three weeks and decided to visit the Alentejo region.We searched on line and found this hotel and as all of the reviews were positive we booked an overnight stay.The hotel and the owners, Carlos & Gabriela matched the reviews and descriptions perfectly being very welcoming and having a beautifully restored old manor house.Their attention to detail both in the renovation of the manor house and as hosts was perfect.The only downside was that our stay was too short. We would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serpa
0.0 mi away
Pousada de Sao Gens
Pousada de Sao Gens
#1 of 1 in Serpa
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cantar do Grilo
Cantar do Grilo
#1 of 9 in Serpa
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Herdade do Vau
Herdade do Vau
#2 of 13 in Beja
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beatriz Residencial
Beatriz Residencial
#2 of 3 in Serpa
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Da Muralha
Casa Da Muralha
#7 of 9 in Serpa
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monte da Morena Agroturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdade da Retorta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade da Retorta

Address: Herdade da Retorta Estrada Nacional 265, Serpa 7830-305, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Serpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Serpa
Price Range: £78 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herdade da Retorta is a farm with a beautiful manor-house restored to rural tourism with welfare, refinement and comfort. It is in this ambiance we invite you to visit this region prodigious for its patrimonial and natural beauty and to take part in the different leisure activities Herdade da Retorta has to offer. You can also be delighted tasting the fabulous traditional food or just enjoying the stillness and serenity of the plain Alentejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Herdade da Retorta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing