We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a reunion of friends and family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Algarve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Feliz Apartments
Ranked #395 of 748 Speciality Lodging in Algarve
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a reunion of friends and family”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

As there are several apartments, this is a great location for a relaxing holiday with several friends. The pool area is private and peaceful with spectacular views over the Algarvean countryside. The location is perfect for a' get away from it all' all holiday, but a short car journey takes you to all the attractions and beaches of the Algarve.

We had a wonderful holiday in this villa and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just returned from an 8 day stay at Villa Feliz. Had a great time, the large pool was clean,Peter and Fenella were on hand to offer friendly advice, our hire car from Zitauto was great and all the local restaurants fed us
well : )
If you are looking for a quiet relaxing break in the real Algarve I highly recommend Villa Feliz.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My boyfriend and I went to stay here for our first proper holiday abroad while also visiting family. We went in April Easter Holidays, during the quiet season so pretty much had the villa and swimming pool to ourselves. It is the perfect little place to rest and chill out, just outside of Messines and close enough to Albufeira, Villamoura, Loule, Portimao and Lagoz. There's so much to do and all the people, wherever you go are very friendly and welcoming. Both Peter and Fanella that run Villa Feliz are such lovely people and work hard to take care of their guests, whether it was information about a town/village you wanted to explore or the local restaurants and attractions. We had an amazing time there and can't wait to go back to this gorgeous part of the country.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kat-Touch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My partner and I haved stayed number of times, recently stayed again at Villa Feliz and would like to recommend it as a perfect place to get away from it all. Situated about 16 miles inland from Albufeura and close to the fabulous little gem that is the village of Alte, Villa Feliz gave us a base from which we could explore and experience the 'real' Portugal.

Our hosts were very helpful with recommendations for places to visit and some great local restaurants but were generally inconspicuos (a nice balance). Definitely be going again!

Room Tip: The two ground floor apartments seem the best for easy access to the pool and the upstairs apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen_Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lytham st annes
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We have just arrived back from villa feliz I think this is the 15th time we have stayed,and we love it more than ever .
the local people are very friendly and treat you like family (once you break the ice)we had our daughter and grandaughter with us this time (daddy is in afghanistan and couldnt make it).we were looked after royally by Peter and Fenella who are always on hand if you require antything ,or guidance to the local and algarve areas,
the builders were in transforming one of the apartments but asked US what time WE would like them to start work,as it was we hardly heard themand they had finished the job before we left,if you like crowds and overpriced bars and resturants villa feliz is not the place to go, but if you like real food good service and very reasonable prices ,then you will be in heaven,the villa is set in the country surrounded by lemon and orange trees there is a small bar a two minute walk away ,and a shop next door the bar owner is phillpe,and a beer here is 40 cents,same one in a coastal bar 2euros + there are three excellent bar resturants within a 5minute drive,.the pool at the villa is large and very clean and it was warm last week,if you decide to go book your car hire with cedric,much cheaper and good sevice at the airport.
overall we had a cracking time I have reccommended villa feliz to all our friends a lot hve visited and are retuning yearly
stan & kathy
st annes on sea

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olly1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inguiniel, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

"My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful 6 week stay at Villa Feliz. Nothing was too much trouble for Peter and Fenella who took care of our every need. They are two of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet.
The villa is situated in a lovely little village where there is a small bar and shop where you can get most things. The fresh bread in the morning is lovely. For more choice there are supermarkets in Messines and Alte. A visit to the pretty village of Alte is a must. We were there for the Mardi Gras carnival. Be sure to have coffee and custard tart in the coffee bar.
There are lots of inexpensive Portuguese restaurants within 15 minutes drive and should you require more choice there are hundreds more in Albufeira.
Thank you Peter and Fenella for making our stay so enjoyable. I will certainly recommend Villa Feliz to all our friends."

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daniel1931968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Villa Feliz Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Feliz Apartments

Property: Villa Feliz Apartments
Address: Portella de Messines | Sao Bartolomeu de Messines, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 748 Speciality Lodging in Algarve
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Feliz comprises four comfortable spacious one and two bedroom apartments from which to choose. It is situated on the edge of the small village of Portella de Messines in the Algarve region of Portugal. It is a very pretty spot offering peace and privacy close to the pleasant inland town of Sao Bartolomeu de Messines (commonly referred to as Messines), which lies about 15km north of Albufeira (15 Min by car) in the centre of the Algarve and is only 30 minutes by car from Faro Airport. Main shopping can be done in Messines or, for immediate needs, there is a small general shop only a few minutes walk from Villa Feliz. If you want sandy beaches or night life, they’re only, a 20 minute drive away. For golfers, there are many superb courses from which to choose in an area 25 to 40 minutes drive from Villa Feliz. It is a convenient base for enjoying the beautiful southern Portuguese countryside and visiting the many other interesting inland towns and coastal resorts.If you feel a little more energetic, historic Lisbon is a two hour car journey away. Try Villa Feliz for an enjoyable and most comfortable alternative to the traditional package holiday. If you are new to 'non package' holidays, we will be pleased to advise and help you make travel arrangements. All apartments now have digital satellite TV (BBC Programmes) and WiFi internet access. We have welcoming local country bars and restaurants, which offer better value than the coastal resorts, and you will also savour the character and atmosphere of Portugal. The local people are friendly, especially if you make an effort with your phrase book. Villa Feliz is in the Algarve region of Portugal which has a wonderful climate with plenty of sunshine and daily temperatures that do not usually drop below 60F(16C) in the winter or go above 90F(32C) in the summer. It is popular for golf, waterskiing, waterslide parks, windsurfing, sailing, tennis and horse riding. The Algarve is on the Atlantic coast which provides lovely cooling breezes which can be far less stifling than Mediterranean resorts. The Algarve is much more than a summer resort, because it offers unique holiday qualities in the spring and autumn months. From Almond blossom time in January to the end of March, visitors will find the climate warmer than at home and ideal for many activities. There is plenty of sunshine in these months, but without the intensity of midsummer, and the air temperatures are ideal for walking, touring etc. It is also a time when many would say the countryside is at its best with wonderful displays of wild flowers in bloom.An added bonus is that our prices for Villa Feliz apartments at off-peak times are appreciably lower than during the peak summer period. For some, winter is also an appealing time to take a holiday for this is when it is truly quiet and relaxing, and when life reverts to a leisurely rural pace. Some rain can be expected in these months, but the result is a greener terrain than in neighbouring Spain. The Algarve can be a very comfortable and enjoyable alternative to the prolonged and dreary UK winter and Villa Feliz is a good place for a holiday in all seasons. Location: Sao Bartolomeu de Messines in PortugalNearest Airport: Faro at 40 Kilometres Nearest Train: Messines at 3 Kilometres Nearest Beach: beach at 15 Kilometres Car: necessary. A lovely area of peace and privacy but only 30 minutes drive from Faro Airport, 5 minutes by car from the centre of typical Portuguese market town (Messines) and 15 minutes by car from sandy beaches, golf courses and amenities at Albufeira. A general shop/bar is only 3 minutes walk and several good reasonably priced restaurants are only 4/5 minutes by car. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing