We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Algarve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holiday Village Algarve Balaia
Ranked #113 of 520 Hotels in Algarve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed in the holiday village 29th april 2012 for 11 nights, only downside is with the booking of our hol, we were not informed that the holiday village did not officially start until 1-3rd may as splashpark was not open. cannot blame the hotel for this. we had a great time as it was our 1st family holiday with our 2 year old. It really is made around children & this is what attracted us to it. our son had the best time as there was always something to do. The creche did a stay an play so we did not have to leave him but the reps in the kids club are amazing, always full of energy & smiles & take the time out to make each child feel special. We throughly enjoyed every min of our time here from the food (breakfast being the best - proper sausages!) to the entertainment & the biggest rooms we have ever stayed in. We had a 1 bedroom apartment with all kitchen facilities with a double sized balcony with a sea view, tv caters for all, can get lots of english channels (channels 1-5, itv2, bbc3 & citv ect) The reason the holiday village works so well is the dedication from all the first choice staff & all the reps. They are always around with a smile & a hello & if anything does arise they help as best they can. Also if traveling to portugal, go visit the zoomarine, its about half an hour away & well worth it the dolphins are amazing. Transfer to the hotel is only approx 30-40 mins from the airport. Pool was cold but warms up with the weather. Cannot recommend this holiday enough to those with children & those who are big kids at heart. met some lovely familes while here & will definatlety will return but not untill may!

Room Tip: parents stayed in a twin room which was a lot smaller, always go for the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank michelle7324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

893 - 899 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

Having had a few problems with Thomson prior to leaving (booked us from 26th April upon their advice only to find that it's not actually the Holiday Village until 1st May so they put the holiday back a few days to compensate), I was nervous about travelling with our 1 year old for the first time. I needn't have been. I knew the Holiday Village was set up for children but you can't comprehend how many activities and the friendlieness of the Reps until you get there. We have never been on a 'kids centred' holiday before but found this hotel, it's facilities, food, staff etc all excellent. The pools are freezing but if your kids are anything like my daughter it won't hold them back getting in there! Tip is to take a walk to the beach, it's secluded and quite and quite a find. The creche do a 'Stay and Play' for those parents like me who don't want to leave their children. They get to play with all the toys for an hour which is a welcomed distraction and good for them to get out of the sun and play with other children. All in all a fantastic holiday thanks to the fabulous Reps who were so welcoming, always said hello and remembered my daughters name all week therefore made a fuss of her which she loved.

Room Tip: We had a family room with sliding doors which was very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Jools01429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My parents, wife and daughter stayed here in July 2011. Cannot fault much about the resort as it caters for children and families perfectly. There is something going on all the time and you can safely leave your kids doing activities whilst topping up one's tan. The food is great, for all-inclusive, and never got boring. The entertainment staff work hard and seem to love their jobs. This rubs off with the atmosphere created. My only criticism is the pool is too cold - not enjoyable for long periods of time.

Upgrade to a larger room and you'll not regret it. Large balcony, two rooms and plenty of living space.

Past reviewers have criticised the steps between the two building. They are not that steep or difficult to navigate. My mother with a dodgy knee didn't struggle. I think people just moan for meanings sake, or are just lazy.

Recommended

Room Tip: Choose Colina 1 if possible and an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank FatManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Sold a Holiday Village package holiday, on arrival we were told it was not a holiday village hotel until 1st May and that it is referred to as the Alto de Colina until that date.

Just to note some of the facilities that were used in the sales pitch that we where not able to use. Non of the splash pools were open (it was being painted) and both the indoor and outdoor pools were too cold for our 1 yr old to use, very disappointed as these were the reason we booked the hotel.

Only had entertainment on 3 nights of each week, could have done with more and more variety.

Only one of the three resturants were open and eating in the same place for 10days became very irriatating as the food was lovely but became very samie.

Beaches in the area are lovely and vrey clean

However apart from being mis-sold a holiday village package we made the most of the hotel which was lovely and clean, staff were very friendy and super helpful, the room we had was a great size too.

Room Tip: Block one, pool view also has sea view too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank needaholiday_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We visited the Holiday Village April 2012. We were told before the holiday that some of the facilities were not available until 1st May and expected parts of the complex not to be open. We had a really good holiday overall. The facilities in our room were excellent and the whole hotel was really clean. The kids club had just opened and was good. We could not fault the food which gave a great deal of choice. All of the staff were extremely helpful and were quick to solve any problems we had.The balcony for our room had a wonderful view of the sea and surrounding area. The beach was about 10 minutes walk away and was lovely with a cafe. We had a walk to one of the portugese restaurants and would recommend going for a meal as the food was delicious. The heated indoor pool needed to be kept warm for a little longer as the weather whilst we were there was sunny, but not warm enough to heat the outdoor pools. The kids club had plenty to keep the children occupied and the chocolate party was really popular.

Room Tip: I would chose a room with a sea view to catch the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank littlestar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

i travelled there with my husband and one son, and i was expecting the next, it was a lovely hotel not too far from the airport, the kids club was 10/10 choclate parties and sweetie bingo, he was entertained the whole time, i would happily reccomend this hotel to faimilies

down side the food is catered for brits whereas i enjoy trying the countries food whilst there, the result was half cooked sausages ........

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank sineadleane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We visited the Holiday Village Algrave Sept 2011 so this is a bit of a delayed review but it only runs as a Holiday Village during season. We had a fantastic holiday on the whole. The airport was a bit of a free for all and no one quite knew where they were going. We had to walk quite far (well it was far with cases and a toddler) to the coach park but it was badly organised no one quite knew what coach was going where. The transfer was about 30 minutes. We alnded at the hotel and was greated by staff and handed a cocktail as we entered (orange for the kids). reception was again a bit of a free for all, staff did try to organise everyone though. It was about 10pm when we got there and thankfully they had left a cold buffet on in the restaurant so we could all get a bit of something to eat. We were in Colina 1 which is the main building with a massive double balcony overlooking the main pool. Colina 2 is smaller and quieter with it's own reception, quiet pool and bar - probably better for couples travelling without children. Our room was huge and had everything we needed and more including a full kitchenette with a few pans etc, fridge, kettle and so on. Only a small thing but I did note it at the time that there was not any samples as you may normally get in a hotel such as coffee, tea or compimentary toilettries.

After a good nights sleep we went downstairs for breakfast and we were impressed at the selection. Cereals for the children, meats, breads, yogurt and fruit then all the usual cooked bits. We rushed our breakfast a bit expecting that we would have to race for a sunbed around the kids pool but we need not have bothered as there were plenty of beds to go round. The Kids bit is great, theres a shallow pool with a massive play park and various slides. The water guns weren't working however, looking at it though i think they've been switched off due to the postioning. but if they aren't in to slides there is also a seperate small kids pools and a splash park with water fountains etc. Then there is also a larger pool in this section so if the adults want to go for a swim they could. However the water is soooooo cold it wakes you up thats for sure! This unfortunately one of the main reasons we may not perhaps return to Portugal. It's probably advisable to take a few wet suits for the kids and towelling robes, a lot of them were shivering! There is also a snack bar in the kids section so you could get drinks, light snacks such as toasties, hot dogs and waffles (okay but a bit bland) and they also did ice cream. There are also seperate toilet facilities in this section so you didn't have to leave this quarter if you didn't want to.

There is also a main pool that again has a bar and a massive pool. Plenty of sunbeds and parasols around. A few of the sunbeds were broken but we didn't struggle to find a working one. A lot of the entertainment goes on around the main pool such things as pool parties (10 minutes or so long) and they have a 12 o clock pub quiz. There is a board by the main pool that tells you all the activities for the week.

The restaurant was good. We never struggled for somewhere to sit. Food was okay, what i would expect from an AI. There is a seperate kids buffet that had basics like chicken nuggets but also some more 'exoctic' things for those who are a bit more adventurous.Each night was themed so it made a nice change. I did feel the starters and desserts were lacking though, same old thing only presented differently night after night but we didn't go hungry for sure. Drinks generally were good and not watered down. Wine was drinkable though cheap but not the worst! San Miguel is on tap from lunch time so you can help yourself. The restaurant staff worked hard and you would see many of the same faces from breakfast to dinner. I was a bit taken aback to see how many Brits worked there though.

Entertainment/animation team were fab, they worked so hard and really made it a lot better. Night time entertainment was great a nice mix of childrens and adults. Childrens enterainment started about 8pm till 9 ish. Bingo followed this which was okay but they expected the kids to keep quiet during this time which i can understand but given 5 minutes prior to this they'd had them up on the dance floor going crazy it was easier said than done for some! Some entertainment targetted more at adults but still suitable for children commenced after this and finished about 11. The entertainment room was badly laid out though, it's lengthy and narrow, not great when all the kids want to be at the front!

The hotel is pretyy much in the middle of nowhere. We did walk to the beach one morning but I wouldn't like to do that in any kind of heat as it was quite a uphill walk back. There is a free bus going to a beach in the morning but it was usually quite busy so we didn't bother. You can get a taxi at night to Old Town, i beleive it's about 6E each way but we never bothered as we had a young child with us.

All in all this hotel has some fabulous points, the kids area is fantastic, rooms in Colina 1 are spacious, plenty of food and drink available, entertainment was fab. However, the water is cold, theres no easy access beach and it is pretty much in the middle of nowhere.

Also Faro airport is a rip off - make sure you keep enough Euros back it was 3 euros just for a bottle of water!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DayDreamer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Algarve hotels
0.0 mi away
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
#53 of 154 in Albufeira
442 reviews
6.1 mi away
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#11 of 154 in Albufeira
978 reviews
20.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
9.7 mi away
Be Live Family Palmeiras Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Algarve Balaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Algarve Balaia

Address: Balaia, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 520 Hotels in Algarve
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Algarve Balaia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing