We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!! Had tonnes of fun the kids loved it...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Algarve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holiday Village Algarve Balaia
Ranked #112 of 519 Hotels in Algarve
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! Had tonnes of fun the kids loved it...”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

When we first arrived at Holiday village Algarve we were assisted with great staff and felt positive about our stay. the kids were very exited about getting into the pool and they managed to fairly quickly as the rooms were easy to access, there were no problems with the room at all and the staff made it easy to unpack and get on with our stay.
Every morning the breakfast was a great standard (only problem was getting up early for a sun bed, although the sun bed situation was not as bad as most hotels!)
Good activities, good food , brilliant access to beach and town.
Brilliant holiday, would definitely stay again...

Room Tip: Choose the top level rooms as the views were amazing and the noise was not too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    335
    127
    64
    21
See reviews for
763
47
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Hi

We had family holiday treat all inclusive , 2 kids 6yr 7yr old ,2 adults .. Nice hotel , very Clean ..Food was very nice given its for the masses ..plenty selection and of good quality.
Some Holiday points
1)You can only access broadband in main foyea area....very cheeky cost of €3 per 30min...or €20 per week...should be all included at this stage
2)laundry -it costs €5 to do one wash in washing machine on 4th floor ,€1 also for washing power and €5 to use dryer...
3)colina 2 apartments are down a bit if you are using facilities in Colina 1
4)pools v nice , all areas clean and well kept
5) All inclusive package is what most people on on so meal times can be very busy and take a day or two to get used to frenzy... But food and selections generally good..

6)Nearest beach is @ 10 min walk through sister hotel and down cliff walkway.

7) Not all kids activities are free ..for exapmle the kids soccer which I again thought should be included in the inclusive package.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and brought back that extra few pounds .....with us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ed6466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Small room with no fridge etc, not what we had booked and had no option to change
Buffet food was awful.
Fine dining restaurant were average.
Local staff very nice and friendly. Reps were not.
Pool cold.
Kids club activities weren't great. Additional costs for football camps etc.
Would never go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Hotelhonestreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We (myself, Husband and our two year old daughter) Have just came home from a weeks holiday and we where a bit disappointed, looks like it ticked all the boxes for our baby, but the play area is for older children and the inside pool isn't heated and they say it is. We arrived at 4pm and where told that our hotel wasn't serving food we would have to go to there sister hotel across the road! for our meals until the Friday this was the Tuesday! not ideal when you want to just relax with your child. So we ended up going to self catering as well as paying for our half board accommodation. we did expect it to be quiet but they couldn't let us use the kids club room to amuse our daughter and we did experience a couple of wet days so we where tied to our rooms. If your going in January expect it to be all closed down and not much doing, food wasn't good very salty didn't eat at the hotel again just the once. Rooms where clean and spacious. Would recommend self catering. Want go back.

Room Tip: room 234 lovely view over pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in August. We were in Block 2 which is the (thankfully) quieter block. It has its own pool and bar, both are smaller and quieter than those in Block 1. The facilities in block 1 are bigger, busier and noisier plus the entertainment is quite in your face. The buffet restaurant is good with a wide range of food. The splash park is great for younger children but can get quite busy. The evening entertainment is the main let down at this hotel - it's the same every night and isn't as good as other all inclusive chains such as Insotel. There is NOTHING to do in Balaia and even the beach is a serious trek away. Pay €10 and go to albufeira old town for shopping and the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KWeb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived on the 10 of October, with a glass of champagne and juice for my son. Our room was absolutely stunning, the view was fab I forgot my European plug asked at reception where to buy one an was given one for the week.

Nothing was ever to much for the reps they were just amazing each and everyone of them an no matter how busy they were always stopped for a chat.

Food was brilliant no complaints what's so ever, you we did have a meal in the Italian restaurant, it was the best food I have ever tasted it! Absolutely beautiful.


Pools we're a little cold but ok when you got in, such a friendly environment loved our stay Evan considering going back next year!!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were here in the first week of half term holidays (20-27 Oct). It was the first holiday we had abroad as a family. On arrival we were welcomed with sangria and were checked in very quickly. We absolutely loved our room, the view was beautiful and the room itself was very spacious (room 411). The first choice team were superb from the beginning to the end of our stay. The receptionists were friendly and helpful, Thierry in the Palm restaurant was friendly especially to the kids. The food was good a lot of choice and the staff in the restaurant were very efficient in clearing away and setting up. The only complaint I would have is that you couldn't eat snacks from the restaurant by the pool. The pools were all very cold but it didn't seem to put my boys off!!! They joined the kids club (superstars) and had a great time with the activities they did. The excursions we booked were excellent and the reps were very helpful in doing this. The entertainment team were awesome Sam, Keith, Hannah, Kelly and Miles put a lot of effort into entertaining everyone. On checking out a rep wasn't with on the bus back to the airport but Katie checked us on to the bus and said goodbye with Shrek! The weather let us down a little but that's something we can't control, for their first abroad holiday my boys really really enjoyed it and are very keen to go back. As a family we would definitely spend another holiday there. Thank you all at Holiday Village,Algarve

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tasha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Algarve hotels
0.0 mi away
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
#56 of 154 in Albufeira
435 reviews
6.1 mi away
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#34 of 154 in Albufeira
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Algarve Balaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Algarve Balaia

Property: Holiday Village Algarve Balaia
Address: Balaia, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 519 Hotels in Algarve
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Algarve Balaia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing