We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boss holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Algarve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holiday Village Algarve Balaia
Ranked #103 of 533 Hotels in Algarve
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Boss holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We got back from here late last night after staying for 2 weeks, was one of the best holidays I've been on. The first choice reps are class (Dan, Adam, polly, zanda, Ben, Micky, Rachel
And Jess) sorry if I missed any if the reps out! Reps love the banter espessially dan if your a Liverpool fan ;) (he's a Manc) but nice guy! Who lost 7-6 to me on aero ball! But over all the hole hotel was boss the hotel staff where all friendly and Tiherry is sick! The only down side to this hotel is Nothen is in quick walking distance you need to get a taxi to most places like albufiera old and new town! But yes I would go here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SeanWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    301
    119
    59
    18
See reviews for
696
47
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the first choice holiday village in Portugal in June for one week. It was myself, my husband and our 1 year old daughter.

It was perfect for children and made our holiday particularly easy, especially at breakfast, lunches and dinners.

The first choice entertainment team were great, the weather was beautiful and there was a huge choice of pools (although they were particularly cold at times).

The hotel has everything you need, we stayed in a family room close to the main pool and restaurant.

I highly recommend HV for families. We would definitely return again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Kazza9912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just got back from a fab holiday here. Just before going we read the bad reviews and was panicking over the trip. This was our 2nd visit and couldn't believe how much the reviews made it sound like it had deteriorated so much! Well don't worry about any of them. The hotel was spotless, constantly seeing maids cleaning. Did not see any mould as described before on any mats or in the rooms. The pools were often cleaned in the am and checked by maintenance daily, and I did not here of anyone with sickness of rashes. Yes the pools were coldish but fine when you got in and kept us refreshed from the heat! Sick of people complaining about this! All the staff were friendly and the entertainment staff were fab, and put a lot of effort into everything. Overall we had a fab holiday, and wish we didn't read the reviews beforehand now. Brilliant place for a holiday especially with kids!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank vicky r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews on trip advisor I was very dubious about even going to the holiday village algarve. Please can I set the record straight, I have just returned (15th June) and can confirm there is no longer a tummy bug - its gone!
The mats in the restaurant have all been replaced (ikea) and the staff use a weak bleach solution in little orange spray guns to clean tables etc.
The food is of a good quality, it was a bit too 'English' for me but hot food was hot and cold was cold. Plenty to choose from, even my incredibly picky 7 year old ate well. My 1 year old particularly enjoyed the variety of fruit available.
The hotel is very clean and well kept, to those who never saw the pool being cleaned then you need to get up earlier! Everyday at 7.30 ish the pools were cleaned and chlorine levels checked. I didn't see any children with this so called pool rash and both of my children spent considerable time in the water.
By far the best asset to the hotel are the reps. They work tirelessly to ensure you have a good holiday. Yes the entertainment at night is aimed at the kids and my 7 year old loved it. Special mention for xander, polly, adam, miles, Rachel and ben, these guys work so hard, my son will be talking about them for weeks.
My only gripe is the fact that between 5 and 6 you cannot get any food, 6 was a bit late for tea for my 1 year old but the restaurant did not open any earlier, an earlier kids only session might be a good idea for those with very small people.
To sum up we have all had a brilliant holiday, my son cried when we left, PLEASE PLEASE do not let the bad reviews put you off going to a lovely hotel with excellent staff and having a great holiday. I am now actually wondering if some of the reviews are for the same hotel we stayed in! Clearly others have a very different perception of what a family resort is all about.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
33 Thank Belltowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at beginning of June travelling with a 3yr old and a 1yr old. First impressions were good hotel is outstandingly clean and tidy considering the amount of glass everywhere and toddlers love of putting grubby hands all over it!
We had a corner sea view apt which meant we were in block 1 and as we were a corner apt we got an extra balcony on the side which was fab.

The apts were lovely and spacious and the kitchen was very well kitted out although we only used the fridge and kettle. Only downside was I felt the bathroom looked a little tired and could do with a refurb. Beds were huge and I thought comfy and the extra bed in the lounge was also comfy. Tv was mostly in Portuguese but we didn't watch it really so no problem for us.

The restaurant was lovely and clean and they always did a good choice of food. It was quite a Britishy menu but then the hotel does cater to mostly uk. kids are well catered for. The snack bar by the splash pool did great lunch time food nothing too exotic just burgers chips hotdogs and toasties and jacket potatoes but good if u didn't want to go back up to the main hotel for lunch.

The pools were great if not a little freezing but I was told the later in the season u go the warmer they get and once you've done a quick swim it warms up fine. The kiddies splash park area was lovely lots of fun looking flumes and slides.

We used the creche for our youngest and the staff were brilliant really friendly and seemed to bond with him straight away all the reps were always very happy and bouncy and the reception staff were really good at giving advice about the local area.

All in all a great holiday. If I went back to Portugal id stay again and I'd recommend this place to any of my friends!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank Blueyedgirl19832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just got back from a two week holiday with the wife and grandchildren, this is our third stay here and must say it was great, as usual the staff were good and Jo was very helpfull. The only gripe I have is that a lot of the reps activitys (and music) is always at the walkway to the bar and restaurant , and by the seating area, it can sometimes get crowded in that area.It would be better off on the opposite side of the pool. Overall a great place, wonderfull weather.Would highly recommend, and we will return.

Room Tip: High corner rooms offer fab views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anton232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have just returned from 10 days at the HV Algarve and am so surprised by all the negative comments regarding sickness bugs, food, pools etc!!! Am starting to wonder if we actually stayed at the same place???

We last visited here 2 years ago and have also been to HV Majorca and a few 4 star Thompson family hotels and this is by far the best.

The food was great- always loads of choice, hot, fresh and there were staff regularly cleaning around the areas.

We didn't try the a La Carte or use the snack bar this time as the kids were happy with the restaurant, and so were we.

Our seaview room was again excellent- large,clean, spacious and modern.Yes, the beds weren't changed for 1 week but this appears to be usual in most hotels now. There is also a big environmental emphasis at this hotel- ie automatic lights etc so this ties in with minimising bed changing when not really necessary! I believe the mattresses have been changed since our last visit as before they were noisy but this time were firmer and comfortable.

The pool areas were kept as clean as possible for a family hotel- maybe if people cleared up their empty ice creams pots etc as they went, it would be even cleaner! We didn't hear one comment about skin rashes or sickness the whole time we were here and our kids,aged 5 and 8, spent most of the holiday in the pools.

The evening entertainment is geared mainly towards the kids and the local act ( dancers) were not great but the entertainment team were good dancers, very enthusiastic and kept us entertained most evenings. There is also a separate bar and outdoor area where you can sit, play pool, watch sports etc for older kids and adults.

All of the hotel staff we came across were friendly and helpful and the First Choice Reps were great- my kids took a liking to Adam and Miles and joined in as many activites as possible- archery, aeroball, highropes, walter walker, crossbow, golf etc

Yes the pools are cold but it was only the end of May and it didn't stop all of us going in everyday- both to the splash pool with the slides and the main pool, where most of the daytime entertainment is held.

We had a great time and only left the hotel to walk to the lovely beach one day, as the kids were so happy at the hotel. This is a family hotel, although its a huge complex there are only a few hundred rooms so never any real probs with sunbeds, and so you will get kids and noise and music around the pool. If you are used to a quiet villa holiday then this may not be for you , but if you and your kids like to join in and have loads of fun making friends, then try it!!

Room Tip: Book a seaview room to ensure you are in Block 1 other wise you will have a trek up a hill to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Algarve hotels
0.0 mi away
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
#47 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
20.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#35 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Algarve Balaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Algarve Balaia

Property: Holiday Village Algarve Balaia
Address: Balaia, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 533 Hotels in Algarve
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Algarve Balaia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing