We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Algarve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holiday Village Algarve Balaia
Ranked #112 of 519 Hotels in Algarve
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Holiday”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent 11 nights with Family 4 Adults 1 Child (8 Years) the hotel is excellent extremely clean and the food is amazing. English are a nightmare with the reserving of sunbeds first towel went on at 06:20 this is around the main pool but in all fairness we weren't bothered as found we would rather be round the pool at block 2 or at the water park, but just be warned. The Portuguese and Italian al a carte are a must to visit as the food was amazing. The entertainment team work extremely hard and there is something for all to do if you want to. My Parents who are in there late 60's also enjoyed and they also thought that the food and cleanliness was amazing. Also worth a comment is first time that I have been all inclusive and not had to queue for a drink. Excellent Service. I would recommend to all and I hope to go back and it be of the same standard.

Room Tip: Block 1 ideal if you have prams as quite a hike up the hill from block 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Saccie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    335
    127
    64
    21
See reviews for
763
47
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I spent 10 nights with my family 2 adults 2 kids ( 2 year old & 13 year old) the hotel is very nice and clean ; the food is also very good.

I would recommend asking for block 1 if you have small children as the stairs in between the blocks are a nightmare for pushing prams and buggies up them to get to the restaurant which is in block 1 area.

The only bad comment I will leave is the night time entertainment very poor - 90's style butlins if that. (Too loud & too cheesy)

We spent most of the time in the park opposite which is a bad idea as once your little one sees it they never want to go into the venue area anyway.

Maybe a good idea to take with you some long bottoms for the child's play area as my little one kept falling over and cutting his knees as it is very rough flooring.

Other than that great holiday just a shame about the night time entertainment!!

(I forgot you need to put your towels out by 8am or you will not get a sun bed)

Room Tip: If you have small children I would recommend block 1 as you will need to climb the stairs between th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just back from a fabulous week. No sign of any bug or rashes! The kids (8 and 10) want to go back next year.

At the airport you will be told which block you are in (1 or 2). You need to remember this as the bus drops off in both blocks. Long queues for check-in due to volume of guests arriving in both blocks, but check-out was very efficient. You must leave your credit card details if you ask for a TV remote. Safety deposit key and lock provided for 12 euro a week (and again you must leave your credit card details). Large First Choice beach towels are provided free (but you give credit card details). You can change them at reception on Tuesdays and Saturdays-so no need to bring bulky towels :) Wifi is available in main reception or payable in rooms. Daily maid service except sundays and bank holidays.

We were self-catering. We were offered all inclusive package at a discount on check-in, but decided not to go for it as we like eating out at different restaurants. however most people were all inclusive. We did eat a few nights at Giovanni and Vasco-the restaurant in block 2. Its one restaurant divided into 2: an italian side (Giovannis) and Portugese side (Vascos). Different menus for adults are provided, but the kids menu is the same. The food and service was excellent. Valter from block 2 reception also works in the restaurant and is so helpful and friendly. The restaurant manager also very friendly. You book these restaurants at Ricardo's Bar by pool 2. the bar is open 11am until 5.30am. You cant book more than 3 days in advance. They close on Thursdays. We shopped in the supermarket on site (beside block 2) and the Intermarche which is a 15 minute walk away. From block 1 turn right as you leave hotel. Right again at the crossroads. Keep straight down an incline, then up until you hit a roundabout and take a right. Intermarche on the left. If you want to walk to the beach it is down the small road to left at the bottom of that incline. Keep straight and you reach a lovely beach. You can hire sunbeds and umbrellas. We got a taxi to the old town (about 9 euro) for shopping and food. There is a big beach there also.

Just to mention Holiday Village Algarve is a Falcon/First Choice/Thompsons concept. None of the bus drivers or taxi drivers knew it. You need to ask for Alto da Colina Aparthotel.

We did a day trip to Zoomarine which was amazing. We decided to get a taxi ourselves to get the full day out of it (cost about 17 euro each way). We bought discounted tickets online in advance, so just had to scan in on arrival. When we booked with tour operators in other countries they drop you off quite late and leave early so you cant get everything in. I dont know if the same in Portugal. I know from reviews that the bus service Zoomarine offers itself does arrive well after the park opens. In july it opens from 10am until 7pm so we so spent the whole day there. Got all the shows in the morning and saw T-Rex exhibition, animals, aquarium etc. Got pictures taken with animals (you pay in advance for this-ranges from 10 euro for photos with the exotic birds or barn owl to 25 euro with the dolphin). We spent the afternoon on the Zoomarine beach, in pools and kids went down the slides. You can hire a locker (although there was none left when we looked for one at 3PM).

The girls also went on a one hour trek in Albufeira Riding Centre and did a one day pony camp (run on Saturdays 9am to 2pm). 6-7.50 euro each way in a taxi. The owner is English and all the girls attending camp were English.

The only negative is the air conditioning in the room which sometimes spat out hot air. We didnt report it as it wasnt a major issue once you keep the curtains closed during the day (The sun really heats the room). We were out all day anyway.

Overall an amazing holiday. The place was spotless. Pools were amazing. The high ropes and zipline a huge hit with the kids. You book with the reps in reception for a time slot, then report to the hut by the playground or at the start of the high ropes course. An adult must be present to sign them in. Adult can then stay with the child or tell reps where you will be. You try to land on your feet at the end of the zipline and get a cert if you do.

Kids club and reps were excellent. Thanks Josie, Liz and Dave. However all reps without exception were brilliant. An adult signs kids in an out. Timetables up in both receptions. My kids usually dont bother with Kids Club but they went to it a lot here.

WE stayed in block 2 which suited us as its quiet and pools quiet. No problem getting a sun lounger at any time. Its one of the few places you dont need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve a bunk (no bunk reservations allowed-towels are removed). There are steep steps up to block 1 which didnt bother us, but could be an issue if you were pushing a buggy (we saw people struggling).

Would definately go back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose block 2 for a quiet room, but block one if you have a buggy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HolidayDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel clean
Food average. No special themed evening or added flare v boring typical food

Tips:
Go to albufeira marina by taxi and then you have plenty of restaurants and all the boats trips you could want. You can do dolphin driven through the reps which is v good but there are others.
Zoo marine = very good for whole family.need 2 days to enjoy it all there.


Hotel pools nice
Cocktails are v poor
All inclusive drinks need improving

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just got back from holiday village Algarve we were there from 29th June to 6th July. Me my partner and 4 year old daughter. It was our 4th visit to an holiday village having visited Cyprus Tenerife and Costa Del Sol in the past. We would say Algarve is our favourite out of the four. The cleanliness could not be faulted. The food was of very good quality with plenty of choice. The reps were excellent , very friendly professional and put loads of effort into making sure everyone was ok. Polly deserves a big mention she is brilliant with the young children at the night time entertainment. We went on a boat trip Life on the Ocean Wave it was an excellent trip and we would recommend it to anyone it was a great day out with a great crew on board to look after you. All in all we had a brilliant holiday and will be definitely going back hopefully at the beginning of October. To all the reps Keep up your efforts you really made the holiday one to remember. Graces family.

Room Tip: Ask for block 1 not block 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

All I can say is forget about the moaners. This place was great. No sickness bug going around. We went 19th June to 29th June. Both daughter Lola 7 and son Riley 3 loved every minute. Daughter was heartbroken leaving.

The rooms are very spacious. Cleaners do a great job. You need to be in block 1. Very Streep ramp/steps to block 2. Sea view room overlooking the pool. It was fab.

The main thing about the HV is the first choice staff. I have been to other hv's in the past Egypt, Tunisia and Costa del sol. The team here at HV algarve I think are the best. Josie, Rachel and Dan were all fab. Lola says hello to you all and she is missing you. All the staff have plenty of time for the guests. These guys work 14 hour days sometimes but are always walking around with a smile and are so friendly. Would defo recommend the HV Portugal.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned back from the Algarve HV, we stayed 19th June - 3rd July 2014. We have 2 children aged 4 and 7. The holiday was great and we have no major complaints at all. As a number of recent reviews have mentioned before we left the UK we were concerned about the mention of a sickness bug going around however we never encountered this personally we heard a couple of rumours of people being ill while we were there however never met one person who had been struck down by this bug. If there is a bug going around it is not due to the hotel cleanliness or food. For us the hotel was very clean (as were the pool areas) and all of the facilities. The food was really good plenty of choice we were there for 2weeks and there was only limited repetition. The restaurants on site are okay but not great, the Italian I thought was quite poor from a quality of food standpoint and not even as good as the main buffet. nearly all of the staff (local hotel & first choice) seem to eat in the buffet restaurant which to me is a good sign of the quality of the food (and speaks volumes for the hygiene). The hotel staff are all very pleasant and work very hard (I especially liked Thierry in the main restaurant he always remembered out room number which was a nice touch and joined the evening entertainment occasionally).
The thing that I think really makes the difference is the entertainment team. They do not stop and have bags of energy I also think they are very professional while they like to mess around a little and have fun with guests the activities and performances are very well organised and executed. The main pool during the day is a great place to be if you enjoy lots of things going on but there is a more quiet pool in block 2 if that is not your thing. overall I thought the first choice team were excellent and the hotel was good and in line with a 4 star (even if you have to pay extra for wifi in this day and age). I would recommend to friends and family, we also would consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Algarve hotels
0.0 mi away
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
#55 of 154 in Albufeira
436 reviews
6.1 mi away
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#34 of 154 in Albufeira
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Algarve Balaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Algarve Balaia

Property: Holiday Village Algarve Balaia
Address: Balaia, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 519 Hotels in Algarve
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Algarve Balaia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing