We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B plus!!”
Review of Casa Amarela

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albufeira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Amarela
Ranked #6 of 29 Albufeira B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We are (literally) just back from 10 days staying with Stewart and Jane at their lovely B&B; Casa Almarela.
We stayed in Casa Christina, an en-suite room by the pool. This is one of two poolside rooms and whilst small it is well endowed!! Lovely comfortable bed, storage space and a fantastic shower with toilet. tbh....one of the best showers I have had in a long time, plenty piping hot water and a really invigourating spray. Outside was a table and two chairs which were great for the morning sun.
Stewart has created an outside kitchen with; fridge/freezer; grill; microwave; kettle; toaster and plenty cutlery/crockery. Tea, coffee and milk are available for drinks. Storage boxes are available for dry goods and the fridge chills the ber and wine a treat.
Breakfast; served between 8.30am (apparently) and 9.30am sets you up for the day. There is a selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheeses, toast, preserves, tea, coffee and fruit juices. I have to say Jane's softly scrambled eggs are divine; she will also cook eggs to order.
Evening meals can be arranged and the ones we had were excellent. 3 Courses; plenty drinks @ 20E per head Fantastic value if you dont fancy going out.
Stewart will offer a taxi service down to town and you can taxi back should you wish to eat out.
The hot tub is a great way to end the day (or warm up if it is overcast!!); the sauna is a brilliant construction whereby the woodbrning stove both heats the sitting out area and the sauna.
If the weather gods had matched Stewart and Janes enthusiasm this would have been a stunning break.

Room Tip: We chose the ensuite poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LickeyEndBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Hubby and I were fairly nervous about our first naturist holiday but were keen to have a go. Great communications from Jane and very easy to arrange our visit. Stuart met us smiling at the airport, and continued to be a congenial host throughout our stay. No request was denied and very happy to taxi us around. Jane keeps the accommodation very clean and breakfasts were very filling and healthy too! Be warned Jane is a fitness fanatic and made me feel a little like a blob as I did nothing but eat read and sleep! She does not stop!
The only thing that we found a little disappointing was a solar farm being constructed two fields away which was a bit like having a mechanical woodpecker all day long but as it is nearly finished do not let it put you off as it will guareentee a quiet restful break in the very near future! We are definitely planning a return visit although I am going to practice my kareoke as Jane is very experienced. Oh and finally, going naturist is fun and liberating but do not forget to sun cream EvERYWHERE. Meant to add we loved the hot tub and the pool looked lovely although I was not brave enough to dip into at 18 degrees.

Stayed: March 2012
4  Thank Suzanne-Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We enjoyed a great 9 days at Casa Amarella, the perfect place to chill out and relax. There was no pressure to undress and is an ideal place for beginners. We had no need to hire a car as Stuart picked us up from the airport and taxied us to the town when required. Stuart & jane were fantastic hosts, Stuart keeps the gardens and pool area iimmaculate. Janes cooking was excellent we had several evening meals (3 courses plus wine/beer) very reasonably priced. Also we went out with them both to a Karioki evening and Janes voice is fantastic. The accomodation was very comfortable and clean, we stayed in the annex which suited us perfectly. We can highly recommend a holdiay at Casa Amerella sited in a very quiet area but only 5-10 minutes away from the town of Albufeira if you want the night life, shops and beach.

Room Tip: we slept in the anex not to big but has own en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robinrachel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

What can we say that hasn't already been said....Clean....the company is fantastic [except for Janes singing when she's had the odd vino] but have to say the best naturist place we've ever stayed in...Jane and Stewart just can't do enough for you.....definitely a place to put on our ''We will be going back list''.....words just can't describe the place.......

Room Tip: Go for it........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alf2365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a naturist bed and breakfast holiday in the Algarve and whilst I realize that naturism is not everybodys ‘cup of tea’ I felt compelled to recommend the place we stayed at to anyone looking for this type of holiday.
We stayed at Casa Amarella, a beautiful villa in the countryside on the outskirts of
Albufeira and no more than ten minutes drive from the town centre.
The villa , which sleeps up to eight guests has very well kept gardens with a swimming pool, sauna and a very nice hot tub with adjacent bar area. A very picturesque setting with its palm trees and flowering shrubs and wonderful to lounge around in during the day or during those warm sultry evenings that we have just experienced.
The accommodation is very clean and homely and the proprietors, Stewart and Jane
work very hard to make you feel at home.You have the run of the villa and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them in making your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Jane cooks evening meals for those who want them on most nights and they also organize evenings out from time to time. Stewart also offers an airport pick up and drop off service if required.
All in all a geat holiday at a decent price. We were very impressed and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevieboy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Just spent 9 days at Casa Amerela ,a beautiful guest house just 5 mins drive from the old town of Albufeira. The owners, Jane and Stewart were so welcoming and such fantastic hosts, we felt we had known them for years. The Villa, gardens, swimming pool, sauna and hot tub are all immaculately kept. Jane provides a lovely hearty breakfast every morning and will cook an evening meal 4 or 5 times a week if required. We ate in several nights and the food was fantastic as was the atmosphere, a real "dinner party" feel. The tranquil setting of the Villa amidst the beautiful Portuguese countryside feels like you are miles away from the hustle and bustle of Albufeira but is in actual fact only 5 mins by car! Alternatively you could borrow mountain bikes from the owners as we did and arrive there in 20 mins!.
Can,t wait to go back and be pampered again!!
Good luck Jane and Stewart, you really do deserve to make a fantastic success o this business.
Phil & Lynda. xx

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We have just returned from a week here at Casa Amarela our first time and as soon as we returned home we booked flights to return here again in August, that shows you just how much we enjoyed it, we have never returned to a place straight away before in all the years we have been travelling.

Casa Amarela is bed & breakfast accommodation set in a large Villa just outside the centre of Albufeira, This property caters for the naturist traveller and clothes are most definitely optional anytime and anyplace in the property, no protocol exists regarding clothing, its upto you....

The service is provided by Jane & Stewart two ex pats from England with a long experience of hospitality, having both ran hotels, bars and clubs back in England. They know exactly when to give you attention and when to leave you alone, they will give you as much or as little as you want.
Casa Amarela can has 4 rooms for hire, 3 in the main house and one in an annex at the pool side, we stayed in this annex, the room is very small, with an en suite bathroom, literally big enough for the well sized bed in it, but you definitely do not come here to spend time in your bedroom, its sufficient for sleep and that I guarantee is all you will need it for, the small bathroom is off the bedroom with no door separating the bedroom from it, the shower was excellent nothing fancy but the most efficient shower i have come across in many years, instant hot water and massively powerful. The other rooms in the house are larger and more like a standard size bedroom but do not have en suite, though they all have private bathrooms dotted around the property.
Breakfast is provided as part of your deal, and was very pleasant..fresh fruit, toast, croissants, cereal, freshly squeezed orange juice (they have orange and lemons growing in the garden) and eggs of your choice. Served from 0830- 0930 each morning, sometimes a little early for us and we chose to miss breakfast on one occasion to have a "lie in" this was not a problem as there are a 1001 places to get a cheap breakfast 5 minutes away in the old town. Though I am sure if I combined a bit of sweet talk and arm twisting Jane and Stewart would have provided breakfast a little later should I have asked. That's how they are nothing is too much trouble. Jane even went to the trouble of arranging a homemade birthday cake for my wife’s birthday, she loved it.

Jane also provides evening meals for guests should they required them for a very reasonable fee of 18 Euro for 3 courses and all your drinks all night, a great deal and makes a change from restaurants in town every night, their company is excellent, and it is good to finish the evening with glasses of port in the hot tub!

The facilities here especially for naturists are excellent, good size pool, which also has some depth to it, a sauna and the hot tub along with a massive sun bathing area provides you with all the things you need for a relaxing day in the sun, or night when it comes to the sauna and hot tub. There is a guest kitchen at the pool side that has everything again you could require to make yourselves snacks and even meals should you wish to, there is a large fridge which you get allocated a shelf to store your goods, there is also a "trust" bar help yourselves to drinks and chalk it up on the board, settle up when you leave...

The location of Casa Amarela is idyllic - you feel like you are a million miles away from anything in the middle of the country side, but you are literally 5 minutes drive from the town of Albufeira and 5 minutes the other direction to the large shopping complex which includes a massive hypermarket and all the fast food you must avoid!..A car is very useful if you do want to get around at all as it may be a 5 minute drive but it would be an hours walk..Stewart will provide you with a lift to places locally for example down into old town for a very reasonable 5 euros (a taxi return is between 5:50 and 7:20 depending where you get it from.

All in all this was a fabulous holiday, our first dedicated naturist holiday and it couldn't have been any better..if you are thinking of trying a naturist break then this is fully recommended as i guarantee you wont be put at ease any more than you could be here...

Thanks Stew, Jane and see you again in August.

Room Tip: if you want ensuite go for the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gazNbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
5.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,423 reviews
3.4 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
2.8 mi away
Alagoamar Aparthotel
Alagoamar Aparthotel
#1 of 29 in Albufeira
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Vila Channa Hotel
Vila Channa Hotel
#3 of 29 in Albufeira
156 reviews
3.3 mi away
Agua Viva
Agua Viva
#5 of 29 in Albufeira
49 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vila Sao Vicente Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Amarela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amarela

Address: Sitio Ataboeira | Albufeira, Albufeira 8200-397, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Albufeira
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Casa Amarela Hotel Albufeira
Casa Amarela Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing