We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant food”

Restaurante Dom Carlos
Ranked #3 of 790 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
oldham UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“brilliant food”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Our fifth visit to this wonderful restaurant.
Peter and Anna are so attentive to every little detail talking your through all the ways the food is prepared and passing on lovely tips on cooking
It is a labour of love to them and it shines through the whole evening
We could not visit the Algarve without dining at the small and intimate Restaurant

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank stevekathybithell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    80
    32
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wonderful welcome, wonderful food”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Were not disappointed having read the reviews, were made to feel very welcome by anna and peter, menus were explained by peter who`s enthusiasm for his food came across wonderfully. Food was great, the house wine @ 28 euros was lovely too. We thought it was a very enjoyable, romantic evening and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank no1durhamtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Recently returned from Portugal. My partner and I really enjoyed our dinner at Dom Carlos. It was nice to see a chef that cooked a meal himself and also served the food himself and his lovely wife. They made us feel so welcome and I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is visiting Albufeira. Everything is homemade cooked. It was the highlight of the holiday.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Second visit and loved it again. Anna and Peter are perfect hosts. Peter is an amazing cook and Anna is a genuinely sincere lady who loves what she does, and she is so proud of Peters food, which is like a work of art. My daughter and her friend came with us this time, and they both said it was their favourite place in albufeira.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank chakawesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cahersiveen, Ireland
2 reviews
“Amazing, Gorgeous Food, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The host and Chef were so professional and treated us so well, Thanks Trip Advisor for helping me find this Restaurant the Food and Wine was superb and they even made a cake for my Boyfriends Birthday. Thanks....Comes highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BettyBOOKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Dom Carlos also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Dom Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing