We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not think its 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do not think its 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Room been very simple, no atmosphere at all. Have asked for a double room, but instead of the double bed we got two simple single beds pushed together. It was so uncomfortable for us as beds been spliting apart.
Good features: near the beach. It takes about 5 mins to get to the beach. Very nice beach area, with sand and beach bar. You should try some salads over there. It is delicious, cheap and huge portions. One more thing, it is not that far from the main restaurant streets. It depend what tipe of food you like there is something for everyone. Walking to the old town takes around 30 mins. You should definately try to walk instead of taking local bus or going by car.
Negativities: breakfast area is so tiny, not very comfortable to eat when you are pushed around by other travellers. it is very poor food variety for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciotka_Lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    543
    133
    21
    16
See reviews for
97
1,095
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Went to this hotel for 12 days in March 2012.
Hotel itself is very modern and clean, it looks impressive but that is where my positivity stopped with it.

The room we had was nice. It had a nice balcony with a road view and a small sea view to the side. No better views were available at time of check in.
Room itself was a good size and very clean with a tv and the usual bathroom selections but the bed in the room is SO uncomfortable. I cannot stress enough how bad the beds are. We asked for an extra blanket so we could sleep on it for another layer but the bed was still incredibly hard. Major downside as this is obviously a big factor.
Another annoyance is the pillows which were in bad condition. Very lumpy and provided no support. Sleeping in general was difficult.
The bathroom was great. Sink, toilet, bidet, bath and shower. Shower is amazing with great pressure. Loved the shower.

We asked at one point for a kettle as we had been told on reservation there would be one in the room but at no point in our 12 days could they make one available to us.

Breakfast at the hotel is good. You have hot food of beans, tomatoes with cheese, sausages, bacon, fried eggs, scrambled eggs and hard boiled eggs. Then you have another station with ham, cheeses, salami, chorizo, chicken slices, then fruits like pineapple, kiwi, grapes, oranges and melon. A small salad bowl and butters there too. You also have a selection of cereals, rice crackers and nuts/dried fruits in another area. Beside this is the bread selection with brioche, whole meal bread, variety of hard and soft rolls, croissants and normal white bread for toasting, you also have a selection of jams and spreads including chocolate spread.nthere is sometimes pastries but there were only some on 2 of our 12 days and a fruit cake which was normally available. There is also the usual tea/coffee machine plus pineapple/apple/orange juice, fizzy water, still water and yes.... Champagne.
Good selection.

We never ate in the restraunt for dinner as it was a buffet and didn't look like it had much choice.

We did order room service once but the staff in the restraunt didn't speak English so they didn't no what we were asking for. I tried reading the Portuguese on the menu and they were able to understand me so we got it. The food was lovely but small in size. Also the room service selection is small but has something for everyone.

The pool area is nice but quiet. The pool itself is very cold! No one was using it. We t tied to go in but our legs went numb from the cold so we got out. There are always free loungers and space and it was comfy!

From here you can also walk down to the private beach which is just lovely! The walk is steep and not the easiest walk with lots of steps but the great views distract you enough to not mind.
The beach is quiet and clean with a nice beach cafe serving pizzas, toasters, burgers, salad, jacket potatoes and other things with drinks and ice creams too.

Location is good. Nice choice of restraunts nearby with the strip a few minutes away.
Amazing buffet Chinese round the corner to the right called happy house!! Went quite a few times and loved it. Great choice, friendly, clean and delicious.

30 minute walk or €5 taxi to old town for a great selection of restraunts. Cabana fresca is a standout here with heated terrace right at the beach. Always busy and amazing food.

Staff at front desk weren't great. One girl, i think her name was ines, was lovely and another girl who got us an extra blanket was nice too. Everyone else was not nice or not suitable for a reception!! Either didn't care enough or wasn't bothered. They were snappy and you could barely get a smile from them. On our last mining we asked for a wake up call at 630am. It didn't happen, we just about made it down for checking out and getting our transfer to the airport as I set a later just in case alarm. I complained to the guy on reception that we didn't get a wakeup call and he could not have cared less. No apology or even acknowledgement. Just an "oh". When we checked out he just walked away. No goodbye or thanks for staying or anything. The reception staff really let it down.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms get better views, beach is nicer than pool and bring a kettle with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SandSFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Our 4 th time at quinta pedra dos bicos its perfect for groups. We take 3 apartments ,we have stayed in the hotel but find apartmenrs are better for larger parties to socialise .
We now book directly with the complex it gives us good rates and we always use yellowfishtransfers com to get to the hotel they never let us down and the guys know us now..
Praia da oura has everything the area is compact and has everything you need in a holiday town , good beaches ,bars and restaurants an reasonable shoppinh area.
We find Praia da Oura great because the clientelle is very mixed age .
The apartments are well equipt and modern they do vary from one to the other but generally a high standard.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have recently returned from a week’s stay at this hotel, the location of the hotel is excellent, at breakfast & dinner you will always find something to please everyone.
The pool area is very good and relaxing
The only negative I would say is lack of atmosphere in the Bar area of the hotel, however it was early March when we where there
The Beach is a short walk away which has its own Beach Bar with good food and the staff are friendly, there is a number of steps down to the beach &, the return from the beach can be a struggle for the unfit.
Taking everything into account I would return to this hotel again

Room Tip: WE had a room on the 3rd floor with a side sea view which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is a great Hotel, 5 minutes walk to the strip, 5 minutes by taxi to the old town.
The beach is about a 5 minute walk down the valley and is very nice!

Cant start to say how nice and modern this hotel is....
Breakfast was ok, good quality food.... no complaints....

My only problem was the beds...... they are very hard and uncomfortable.... by the third night, i actually slept in the bath for half the night!!!

Sort this out and its a cracking Hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lionsgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Have just spent a week at the hotel with my husband. What a fabulous hotel. Room was lovely with plenty of space. Bathroom spotless, room cleaned every day. We had a standard room but had a side sea view and it was so quiet sitting out on the balcony. Mini bar in the room and also a safe. Breakfast was very good with plenty to eat and a good variety. Steps leading down to the beach which was wonderful. We walked there everymorning either before breakfast or after breakfast. It was quiet in the hotel as it was out of season but then we like it quiet. Could not fault the staff throughout the hotel, very pleasant and always smiling. The ony downside to the hotel is that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but this would not stop us staying at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors will give you a better view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank likesalaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had a lovely week at this hotel, the staff were very friendly and rooms spacious and very clean. We would of preferred if we could of made coffee in the room but this was not available in the standard rooms. The area was fairly quiet but it was the first week of March. Bit of a hike down to the beach but well worth it and the rugged coastline and beaches were lovely. The old town definately has more character and well worth a visit, enjoy the walk to it.In fact enjoy lots of walks especially along the beaches.On the way back on the road call into the Invictus bar for a refreshing drink in a lovely clean bar with very friendly folk. We are already planning to go back to this area later this year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
2.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
3.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#63 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#11 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel

Property: Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 | Santa Eulália, Albufeira 8200-389, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Pedra dos Bicos is an island of serenity in Santa Eulalia, near the busy Albufeira and at 500 meters from the famous "Strip", one of the main nightlife atractions. The direct access from the Hotel to the Bicos Beach - 400 meters away - and the inspiring view over the Atlantic Ocean complete this unique Hotel in the heart of the Algarve. This 4-Star Hotel, from Details Hotels & Resorts, features a daring and modern architecture, offering a memorable and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedra Dos Bicos Albufeira
Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing