We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Vila Gale Atlantico(Gale)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PortoBay Falesia(Albufeira)
US$130
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$236
US$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Baltum(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bayside Salgados(Albufeira)
US$45
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alpinus Hotel(Albufeira)
US$81
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$218
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$56
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,924)
Filter reviews
1,924 results
Traveller rating
1,059
659
159
30
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,059
659
159
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areaside sea viewold towndeluxe roommodern hotelfree safewooden stepsexcellent hotelsparkling wineminute walkrooftop terracebed and breakfastbars and restaurantsreception staffsmall balconywould highly recommend this hotelhalf board
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,304 - 1,309 of 1,924 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have stayed in some of the finest hotels in the world and for me this is a great little hotel, middle of the road and reasonably priced. We had a deluxe room by the pool. The room was clean, the bathroom nice, the balcony overlooking the pool area, large enough for two to have a morning coffe before going down for a buffet breakfast. This is our second visit to this hotel and it has changed somewhat. The pool area no longer has large rattan daybeds and becomes crowded very quickly. The staff are friendly and helpful.
I am pregnant so we were unable to venture too far, so I made the most of the hotel spa and had a prenatal massage. It was absolute heaven and relieved so many aches and pains.
Had we not been returning to Portugal for a wedding I don't think we would have stayed in Albufeira again though. The old town is quaint but the ailing economy is plain for all to see, with many restaurants and shops having closed. It is such a shame to see.
The best restaurant is Wild and Co, great for star spotting ( not the celestial kind) and the steaks are awesome. In my opinion the best hotel in Albufeira is Aqua Pedra and the best bar is Liberto's just off the Strip.
I agree with previous comments about hen and stag dos, but fortunately we only saw them on the strip and the week we stayed at the hotel there were none staying there.
Annoying factors at the hotel include the constant shopping mall type music in the atrium, the lack of sunbeds and the adjoining bedroom doors, which if you do happen to have a noisy neighbour, I would imagine it could ruin the stay ( ours was only noisy one night). You can hear every word and at one point I felt we were holidaying with two extra people!
Positives are countless though and if you do visit this area it is the best option!

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe as the standard rooms are overlooking the road and the balconies seem cramped. Take earplugs if you want to sleep before 10 pm and venture down to the beach restaurants for some fesh sardines and tomato salad!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Belinda495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here 12/5/12 to 26/5/12. On a B&B basis. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

On arrival, we were able to store our luggage at the hotel and enjoy a drink by the pool whilst our room was being serviced (we were able to check in early- which was a major plus)

We opted for the standard double room and were very happy with our choice. The rooms are large and comfortable and immaculately clean. The balcony was rather small but completely fine for two to sit and enjoy a drink at sunset.

The pool area is very nice, pool is small but, again, adequate for size of the hotel. The sunloungers do fill up quickly and so get down early to avoid disappointment- go for a white bed not black as many of these do not stay up properly.

Food in the hotel is very good- breakfast offers pastries, breads and various cereals as well as cold meats and cheeses. Hot breakfasts are also offered everyday. Sparkling wine, and various juices are in plentiful supply as well as teas and coffees. Seating indoors or outdoors is available. The buffet in the evening is very good value at 36 euros for two people and is again, very good quality.

The hotel staff are very attentive and friendly and when my girlfriend became my fiance the hotel placed a complimentary bottle of champagne and a chocolate fountain in our room to celebrate our engagement- making our special day even more memorable.

The hotel is situated conveniently for the supermercado, pharmacy and other essentials. PLEASE do try the cake shop opposite the supermercado, it looks like a typical English baiting cafe but inside is full of delicious and unusual homemade cakes.

The main strip is approx 10 minute walk from the hotel and offers an array of low end pubs and eateries. It is worth noting that this area and, to some extent the hotel changes significantly from Friday night through to Sunday and is littered with stags and hens- which we did not expect in a four star adults only hotel.

Also, there were some children well behaved and otherwise! at the hotel at the same time as us. We obviously did not expect this as the hotel advertises itself as 'adults only'.

Wi-fi is also advertised by the hotel as compliementary yet within 3 days of our stay charges were imposed. 2 euros for 30minutes use- which in itself is not expensive, but involved faffing around with codes for an intermittent signal.

However, lthe last few points are minor grumbles and we did love staying here and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank max_manus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We have just spent a week here and booked it mostly down to Trip Adviser reviews. Really clean modern hotel 5 mins to beautiful beaches and a very reasonable beach bar just at the bottom of the steps, 3.50 euros taxi ride to the old town and if you want to go to the strip 5 mins walk. (there is a fabulous jewellery shop on the left hand side of the strip about 500m into the strip have a look my husband wished I hadn't) All the staff in the hotel were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble when I managed to lock myself out of the safe a receptionist came up to the room immediately. Also BIG THANKS for the complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates for my husbands birthday a really nice touch. The breakfast choice was huge and yes it was busy but hey chill you are on holiday. Likewise the sunbeds outside were also busy but if you want them get up early or go to the beach. Go onto the roof on a sunny day the views are amazing great phtotgraphs. There were some lovely bars & restaurants just out of the hotel and across the road Netto in particular the staff couldn't do enought for you and even gave us a lift from the Old Town. Please try the Lemon Tree restaurant on the top of the old Town prior to going down the escalators it is to your left as if you were walking down to the beach it doesnt look much from the outside but the food was the most amazing Portugese food we had the smoked sardines and the beef goulash tapas size dishes were really good value with a fabulous view over the sea. A great holiday and we will be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank plumbowl2163431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just back from 1 weeks stay in this fabulous hotel. Had a room on 2nd floor with amazing views. Rooftop terrace was fantastic too and very private. From the time we booked it our holiday was outstanding. The staff were very friendly and always courteous even the cleaners. The room was fabulous with a huge double bed and clean towels every day. Breakfast was outstanding,such a choice of very well presented food. All kinds of everything. The evening meal was just not as good as the breakfast for main course as we had steak or sword fish one evening and the steak was horrible,that is the only bad piece of food I could say I tasted there. The salads,soup and desserts were great,so would not take points from them for this one item. evening meal was €29.90 for 2 people and a bottle of house wine was €11 so not bad prices for food.The pool area was always busy so could do with some more sunbeds as all were taken around 7.30 and there was only about 60 beds which was not sufficient for amount of guests staying there. The lady doing the massagesand treatments on site was good to as my friend had reflexology done and said it was brillant. The beach was down some wooden steps but it was not difficult to come bak up as some previous review said. There were seats in different locations on way so you take a rest if you were tired or under pressure but really no bother. The beach was small there but nice and the beach kaffe was fantastic. Had sardines,tuna salad,kebabs,omelet,ice cream and milk shakes were amazing varieties of food tasted.The hotel was in a great position as it was only about 10 minute walk to strip but was so quiet at night then to come back to.Would have liked a bit of low key entertainment in bar at night but nothing on so very quiet,nice tho.Netto restaurant close by was also great for a midday snack and good prices too. Great mug of tea there! All in we would defenitly return to this hotel and would recommend it 100%.

Room Tip: Get a room on 2nd or 3rd floor with a double bed if a couple and with sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sissy022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just back from a weeks stay, our first visit. Its a lovely modern hotel.Our room had a sea view, the bed was 2 very comfortable twins together which was ok as it made a rather large bed. Our room was cleaned daily some days it was already cleaned by the time we returned from our breakfast. Breakfast was the usual fare and was fine. However dinner was atrocious some dishes were inedible. Definitly not 4 star. One soup, salad starter, one meat, one fish and one vegetarian dish, same hot vegetable every day. Dessert was the same every day - although there was a lovely selection of fresh fruit. The chef barbequed out side a few times, on one occassion it was turkey kebabs which were burnt on the outside and raw inside definilty no concern about the high risk of food poisioning from under cooked meat. I wonder is the kitchen too small to cope with the number of guests or can the chef not cook.
I would not go back to this hotel because of the food which is a pity because if the food had been better I would have give it a 5.
Management take note please improve the food quality and at least provide a second meat dish.

Room Tip: Either a pool or sea view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryarmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews