We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I have just spent 7 days at this hotel with my grown up boys and we were all very impressed. The hotel itself is stylish with excellent rooms which were kept spotless. To answer some of the other criticisms, despite the hotel being full, there were plenty of sunloungers, etc. The breakfasts were great and the evening meals had superb starters and desserts - the main course was more limited but always good. The prices in the main restaurant were amazing at 29.95 euro for dinner for two - a fraction of the prices at inferior restaurants in the town.The pool while not huge was spotless. Special mention for the reception staff, really friendly, knowledgable of the area and helpful.

Many thanks a great stay

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Tanley,
Thank you so much for your review, you have made our efforts rewarding. Kind regards Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    563
    140
    24
    17
See reviews for
106
1,149
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a week, from August 8th. The hotel, itself, is very impressive. Very modern and stylish. We were greeted on arrival by friendly, efficient staff. Our room, No. 233, was ready for us when we arrived at 11-30am. We had a side sea-view, as we didn't want to overlook the pool area, the distant view was lovely, but immediately below was a bit of a mess! The room was spotless, tastefully decorated and a decent enough size for our needs. The beds were a little firm, not a problem for us, but maybe for others. Some(most) rooms don't have drink-making facilities, so if you want a brew in your room, take a travel kettle. The pool area doesn't seem to be big enough for the number of guests at this time of year. It gets very busy during the day, but we found we could easily get sunbeds around 4-00pm when the sun was still hot. We booked B&B only and the breakfasts were plentiful and there was a good selection of food. Glasses of bubbly are available if you fancy an early morning fizz! We had no problems finding a table, either inside or outside on the terrace. The beach can be accessed from the hotel grounds, but beware, you go via wooden steps. Not too bad going down, but could be a struggle coming back up for anyone who's not fit! That said, worth the trek, the beach is great. There are beach bars serving good food and drink and toilet facilities. The hotel is in a great location. The Strip is about 10 minutes walk, the old town is about 25 minutes walk, or you can get the tourist train on The Strip to take you. It costs 3-50 euros for a day ticket and it runs til late. There's a supermarket around the corner and a ticket shop, if you want to go on day trips. Zoomarine is well worth a trip and the ticket shop is the cheapest place to get passes and transport too. All in all, we enjoyed our trip to Albufeira and enjoyed our stay at Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos.

Room Tip: If you choose a side seaview room, you get a beautiful view overlooking the pine trees and the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendylouise_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Wendylouise_12,
Thank you very much for your review, we will adress issues pointed. Looking forward to welcoming you in a near future. Kind regards Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We travelled around in Portugal for 2 weeks and stayed in 4 different hotels, all of them were rated as 4 star hotels. This hotel was not only by far the worst but also the most expensive one! The high price is a result of the booking situation in August, but still the hotel should fullfill the requirements of a 4 star hotel (like the others did in Portugal). Here is why this hotel failed in my eyes:

- They have a very late check-in time of 4 pm. And they really insisted on it and let us wait to the last minute - that's note very welcoming. We checked in at other hotels in Portugal at noon without a problem.
- The room is very small and was not well cleaned when we finally got the keys (disgusting black stains on the toilet seat).
- The shelf above the bathtub where you can put your towels was rusty and dirty.
- The way too small glass panel on the bathtub is no protection at all against water sprinkling around. Taking a shower therefore leads to a flood in the bathroom that you have to clean up with your towels (unless you want to step around in it until the next day).
- Unlike in other hotels they did not change the towels even when you put them on the floor. The other day I wrote them a note "Please change the towels. Thank you." but still they did not change it but just folded the visibly dirty towels and layed them beneath the lavatory. That's inacceptable!
- The air condition is very noisy. We had to turn it off during night to catch some sleep, which ended up in the room getting hot.
- WiFi internet access is ridiculously expensive (several Euros per hour) and we didn't even have a signal in the room!
- The pool is ridiculously small, especially when put in relation to the hotel's size. People are fighting for the last spare spots around it. We did not use the pool anyway but a nice beach in Faro.
- The access to the "hotel beach" is a 5-10 minutes walk down a street and wooden stairs. It is very crowded and narrow because it's surrounded by rocks.

The positive aspects of this hotel that come to my mind are:
- Good breakfast buffet.
- The balcony. Unless your room is located on the ground floor. In this case people can comfortably look and step into your room from the street.
- Stylish lobby.

My recommendation:
If you pay 80 Euros or less for a double bed room and can ignore the drawbacks above, the hotel might be right for you. If you are paying more (we payed 170€) or want a nice hotel, look for a different one.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Ben H,
We very much regret the frustration we've caused and I'm going to adress all issues raised. Kind regards Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights from 21st of July 2012 and could not fault it, the hotel is modern & clean and the staff are wonderful. We have read lots of negative reports mainly about the sunbeds which have left us baffled, we had breakfast at 9.30 each day and only a couple of sunbeds were occupied at that time & though there was a couple of days when all the sunbeds around the pool were taken in the afternoon there was always ample sunbeds on the roof terrace which has fabulous views. The breakfast was superb and we ate dinner in the hotel on the last 2 nights which was lovely and very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriet622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Harriet622,
Thanks very much for your review it helps a lot as it totally reflects the reality. Looking forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness-shire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My other half and I stayed here from 26th July until 6th August on a B & B basis. We chose this hotel after reading such positive trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed! At the time we booked it was the number 5 hotel in Albufeira and we can't understand why it has slipped in the ratings. When we arrived we were given a very warn welcome from the young chap on reception. He told us everything we needed to know and was charming and helpful, as were all the staff.

We had booked a superior room with side sea view. What a glorious sight when we pulled back the curtains each day, just breathtaking. The room was very clean, spacious for 2 and very modern. Had effective air con, mini bar and stylish bathroom. Shower pressure was brilliant. Rooms cleaned daily and towel change as requested. Balconies are small but perfectly adequate.
I took a 2 foot extension cable with me as the full length mirror is too far away from the sockets to dry your hair with your own hair dryer. There is, however, a hair dryer provided in the bathroom. Satellite tv with news channels in English.


We loved the pool area and NEVER struggled to get sun loungers at any time of day. Selfish people do put towels down in prime spots and then disappear till 3pm (you know who you are!) We don't know what people are complaining about! The pool is cold but once you're in it's fab and it's a fine size for the hotel. It was never crowded and was a wonderful oasis in the heat of the day. Pool bar was handy for the odd drink or ice lolly and played music which wasn't at all intrusive. To the reviewer who complained about the cat, GET A LIFE! He was adorable and never came near the sun loungers or did his business on the grass. Some people just complain, complain, complain! Chill out, you're supposed to be on holiday!!!

Breakfast each morning was very nice. Enjoyed the sparkling wine along with smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Something for everyone. You could eat this in the restaurant or on the terrace, both very pleasant.

The beach was very close and much nicer than the main town one. The restaurant there was fantastic, really great meals at reasonable prices. We ate there several times and loved it. You can hire sun beds, umbrellas, have a massage or just chill on the sand. It is 100 steps down to the beach which sounds a lot but easily managed and well worth it.

We had quite a few nights out on "the strip" which were very lively with lots of bars to choose from selling delicious cocktails. We also frequented the "Old Town" which we preferred which had many lovely restaurants, our personal favourite being "The Bank.". Excellent service and wonderful food, try and get a table on the upstairs terrace, wonderful. Lots of entertainment too in this area in nicer surroundings. Be aware that getting a taxi there can be a long wait and getting back even longer at the end of the night. Taxi rank just left when you get to the top of the hotel road. Lots of nice restaurants close to hotel. Really nice Chinese when you turn right at the top of the road. The other buffet one on the left is Portugal's answer to Jimmy Chungs, don't bother, we wish we hadn't! Dirty toilets and very poor buffet selection, desserts non existent!

All in all we had a fantastic time at Aqua Pedro Dos Bicos. We had absolutely no complaints (and we have very high standards!). This is a great hotel and we would love to return next year. Thank you to all the staff .

Room Tip: The superior side sea views rooms are worth that little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shydi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Shydi66,
Your review reflects the reality and it helps very much to put the Hotel back to its position of months ago when we were 5th. Thanks very much for your words. We will keep tracking and doing our best efforts to improve.
looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Me and my girlfiend stayed here from 30th July until the 8th August and we had a amazing time. We arrived about 9 at night and the recption staff were very helpful and pleased to see us which was a good feeling. They got us checked in quickley and we email a request and they had taken it in to consideration and acted on it which is really good customer service.

We then headed up to our room it was clean and very modern. They clean the room everyday and supply with fresh new towels every day.

We went half board and wernt dissopointed the food was amazing so many diffrent choices every night enough to cater the most pickiest of eaters like myself. As for the breakfast that has so many choices from either a full english to a cereal and fruit which is al you could really ask for.

The hotel itself is so clean and very modern it has a pool which is ideal for the amount of guests that stay as for the problems in the past with sunbeds they seem to have acted on that as we didnt have a problem getting one at all. The beach is short walk away and is small but enough with a fantasic little cafe there. It is also just a 5 min walk to the main strip but also just a 5 min taxi ride to the old town/

If you are going to Portugal you have to stay at this hotel if you are after a quiet romantic holiday it has everything you could want and need with staff that nothing is to much trouble.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reeceyb113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallsend
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

came here the 21st of july for 12 nights with jet2.com, the hotel is lovely and modern and is in a good location to shops and restaurants,its a very peacefull hotel which makes it very relaxing,we did b&b and had a good choice for everybody they even had sparkly wine for breakfast my partner thought this was great, we were in room 310 over looking the front and had a side seaview and we had the sun on night times which was great before we went out, its 5mins walk to the strip and 5 euros taxi ride to the old town, we found every where was reasonable for food and drink the portions were very good ,i find it hard for those people giving this hotel a bad review we thought it was great, we will go back again also staff great , go to this hotel dont listen to the crap reviews they must be stuck up

Room Tip: we were in 310 and had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bulman957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
2.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,207 reviews
2.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
3,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel

Property: Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 | Santa Eulália, Albufeira 8200-381, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Pedra dos Bicos is an island of serenity in Santa Eulalia, near the busy Albufeira and at 500 meters from the famous "Strip", one of the main nightlife atractions. The direct access from the Hotel to the Bicos Beach - 400 meters away - and the inspiring view over the Atlantic Ocean complete this unique Hotel in the heart of the Algarve. This 4-Star Hotel, from Details Hotels & Resorts, features a daring and modern architecture, offering a memorable and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedra Dos Bicos Albufeira
Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing