We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall decent standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“overall decent standard”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

my husband and i have just returned from a weeks stay at the hotel. we arrived at the hotel at 12 noon we were told our room would be ready between 1 - 2pm , we returned at 2pm and were told by the same receptionist that he had no idea when our room would be ready. whilst we understand that we arrived early to check in , we would have had no problem waiting if we had been told from the outset that our room would not be ready until nearer 4pm.
however on getting our room we were very pleased and pleasantly surprised at the standard of the room, lovely and clean with a fridge and safe,and a fantastic view.
maid service was excellent and the room was always spotless.
as for the food ,we went half board and found the evening meal very disappointing, as previous reviews have stated there was only one choice of meat, potato, and fish every night and exactly the same veg . desserts never changed and by the end of the week we didnt even bother with them.breakfast very chaotic at 7.30 and on a few mornings hot buffet very limited eg only boiled eggs available one morning.
all that said we had a lovely holiday and found hotel to be very clean and staff if not very chatty but helpful if asked

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear gary r,
Thank you very much for your review and we appologize for waiting for the room but as we are in high season and check-in is after 4pm, sometimes is very difficult to coop with early arrivals. Anyway my colleague should not have promised and not complying with it. We are sorry your haven't enjoyed our food, we will try better, but I have to disagree with you mentioning the variety of the veggi and hots for breakfast, it is not like you described. We really would like to have you staying with us again in a near future. Kind regards Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    580
    144
    24
    17
See reviews for
107
1,181
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This review is long overdue! We stayed in this lovely hotel in December 2011 - for a 4 day break. The reception staff were very welcoming. The place was spotless. We had some lovely meals here - please see the photos. Special mention of staff - Marco Vieira in the restaurant, who accommodated my dietary needs and chefs Sergio Martins and Ana Puga. There were lots of restaurants around, but we had all our meals here as the food was truly outstanding. The balcony, pool, walk to the beach - everything was well laid out. There was a special offer on massage and we were so glad we took it up, as it was very reasonable, with views over the woods, truly relaxing.

Overall, a great stay!

Room Tip: We had a pool facing room, great views over the sea as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daddys_dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Daddys_dd,
Thank you very much for your late but nice review ;-) We look forward to having you with us. Kind regards. Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquay
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. In summary, there are things from other reviews that are true. Firstly. the reception staff are very good and welcoming. The room was good, cleaned every day and very modern and stylish. Plug sockets need to be by the mirror. Just ask at reception to borrow an extension lead, they will get you one straight away. The pool area is very small and sunbeds are very close to one another. The grass around the pool is very scruffy, it didnt look like it had been tended for weeks, much too long and unpleasant underfoot. The restaurant is too small for the hotel. There were mornings where there were no tables. asked the staff if they could open the doors to the other part of the restaurant but they were very reluctant to do so. Buffet was at best adequate. Most mornings there were items that had run out and were not replenished. one morning at 9.15 we asked for eggs and were told they were finished. If you provide breakfast till 10.30 then everything should be available till then. Staff at breakfast were not very interested in helping and were surly. Lastly, I emailed the hotel three times to ask for a price to upgrade our room as it was our 30th wedding anniversary. I never received a reply and in the end gave up. All in all, would not return to this hotel, have stayed in much better hotels in the algarve. I would not rate this as a 4* hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewquayJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Gerente geral at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear NewquayJane,
Thank you very much for your review and surely I will follow up what you have pointed out. It's a pitty we were not up to the standard. We are improving levels of service when and whereever is possible I regret we were not able to assist you during your stay as we were not aware. We hope that nevertheless you will vist the Algarve again. Kind regards Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My boyfriend and i are just back from Albuferia and had an amazing time.
As soon as we entered the hotel we were greeted warmly by the reception staff and they informed us that we had been upgraded from a standard to a delux room! Reading other reviews i'm really happy this happened as we had a gorgeous room with a good sized balcony looking over the pool with a little bit of a sea view. The rooms are stylish and clean with all the facilities you could need.

We stayed half board for our trip and must say the breakfast was fantastic. The dinners we had in the hotel all tasted great, but if you are a fussy eater you will be limited to what you can have, but all does taste good. Desserts never changed night to night though.

Hotel is in a great location, only a short walk to the strip and the beach, and has a taxi rank just at the top of the road where you can get a taxi into the old town.

We never had trouble getting a sun lounger when we went to the pool, trouble was getting an umberella. We prefered to go to the beach anyway where it was 12 euros for 2 beds and an umberella.

Overall we had a great stay in this hotel and would stay here if we ever come back again.

Room Tip: Delux rooms have bigger and better balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Lauren B,
Great! We very much appreciatted your review. We will work on the desserts part and we added more umbrellas to our stock. Very nice of you to prefer Aqua Pedra dos Bicos upon your return, we look forward to it. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Smart rooms, extremely clean and decent breakfast. I have no complaints at all. We stayed here for two weeks (bed and breakfast) and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is presented very well and modern with a warm atmosphere. The staff kept themselves to themselves but were very hospitable and couldn't have helped more. The location of the hotel is another advantage point, out of the way of the strip but close to the beach and restaurants. Theres a lovely walk out of the back gate to the beach with some great beach cafes. Its a lengthy walk to the old town but only 4 euros in a taxi, which is ideal. The only problem is the amount of sun lounges round the pool which gets busy during the day.

We were extremely impressed and thinking about visiting again next year! Thank you.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Jack C,
Thanks very much for your review and for coming to our Hotel during two weeks, great that you have had a pleasant stay. Looking forward to having you with us again. Kind regards - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gummersbach
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My boyfriend and i visit Albufeira for the first time. Everything was well organisated an the portugies are very friendly and always helpfull!!
We had a big apartment that was very cleen and equipped with everything you need.
The beach was near and absolutily beautiful.
But the climax for uwas the absolt friendliest restaurant chef we ever met: Mrs Claudia Travessa.She did a perfekt job every evening and we enjoyd every dinner konwing her around. She organized her staff perfektly, was always friendly and incidentally she found the time to teach us in the portuguese. At this point a big "obrigada" to Mrs Claudia Travessa to make every dinner to a spezial time!
We will be back :)

Room Tip: take the apartment 12 J. good view at the atlantic and pool. beautiful beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildegard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Hildegard K,
Great that you loved your first holidays in the Algarve! Thanks for your nice compliments about Claudia, she is very happy and all the Team, let us know please when you wish to come again to the Alagrve. Best regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Me and my husband just returned from our honeymoon in Albufeira,Aqua pedra dos bicos hotel.It was a really nice experience,first time in Portugal.The hotel is 4 star as declared,we had superior sea side view room with half board.The room big enough with nice bathroom and small balcony.The room view was very nice,the best we have ever had till now,the town,the pine forest and the ocean,each morning seeing the sunrise.The food was very tasty,both breakfast and dinner,each day something new,besides the food that repeats inevitably in each hotel.The restaurant is small and intimate,some evenings with live music.The hotel beach is small and has rocky sand,more or less,depending on the flux and reflux of the ocean.This is a thing we didn't like.A really nice,large,clean,sandy beach is the fisherman's beach,located in the old town....you can take the little train till there.
All in all....the positive things for us were: the hotel,the food,the service,the negative things were: the oura beach and the freeeezing ocean :) Nice experience here in Portugal!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeTimisoara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
DeeDeeTimisoara,
Fantastic, we are very pleased to know that you have really enjoyed stayin with us. Thank you very much for coming and we look forward to your visit in a near future. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
2.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
3,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,925 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel

Property: Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 | Santa Eulália, Albufeira 8200-381, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Pedra dos Bicos is an island of serenity in Santa Eulalia, near the busy Albufeira and at 500 meters from the famous "Strip", one of the main nightlife atractions. The direct access from the Hotel to the Bicos Beach - 400 meters away - and the inspiring view over the Atlantic Ocean complete this unique Hotel in the heart of the Algarve. This 4-Star Hotel, from Details Hotels & Resorts, features a daring and modern architecture, offering a memorable and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedra Dos Bicos Albufeira
Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing