We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Needs more parasols"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"Needs more parasols"”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife & I have returned from 10 days here. It's a nice place to stay, the rooms are very clean & the staff were excellent. The only down side to our stay were the limited amount of sunbeds & parasols. The pool area is quite small & gets packed. Parasols are few and far between so you do have to get down early to secure one if you need shade. It also states that it's an adults only hotel but this was not the case. If you book an adults only hotel you don't want to hear screaming kids around the pool. On the the upside it's a great modern hotel only 5 mins by taxi to the old town with ample bars & restaurants. This was our third time in Albufeira & this is the best hotel we have stayed in. Keep up the good work Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear andy w,
Thank you very much for your comments, it's a dificult one the parasols...we are trying. We are not children friendly at all, by the Portuguese law we can't forbiden children to share a room with an adult, but we do not have extra beds or crobs! We try hard and it's true we do have very few children. We look forward to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    583
    145
    24
    17
See reviews for
107
1,191
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here for a few days after our wedding to relax and thats exactly what we did. We were delighted with how modern and clean the hotel was from the time we arrived. The staff were always polite and helpful and Ludo (the receptionist) would always greet you with a smile. The room was spotless and was cleaned every day without being intrusive. What struck us was the "lack of noise"! we never once heard guests or staff making any loud noise during our stay, which is a first. We enjoyed massages in the rooftop spa which had amazing views. The hotel is close to the beach but does have a good few steps which for us was not an issue but could be a minor problem for others. As for the nightlife and restaurants, they are only a 5 minute walk away but there are a few pubs and restaurants across the road with a large selection.

One minor issue was the breakfast. The selection did not change during our stay and the hot food was mainly eggs. The pastries were often stale.

Room Tip: If you can you should try to book a sea view, even a partial sea view. Other rooms may only offer st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashyblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Ashyblondie,
Thanks very much for your review we sincerely appreciate it. We will work on the breakfast to change it every other day. Thank you and see you again soon. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel the first week of September 2012, this is a truly lovely hotel. When we arrived check in was very quick, the staff spoken very good English and were very helpful. The room was very clean and looked recently refurbished, with good facilities. This hotel is in an ideal location with the main strip just 5 minutes walk away, the taxi rank is just around the corner where you can get a taxi to the old town at a fixed price, approx 4-5 euros. The pool area was a good size with more than enough beds, however the pool is very cold. The service in the hotel was excellent with very helpful and pleasant staff at all times, food was good. The breakfast was hot and catered for everyone's needs from fruit to continental to full English. The hotel decor is modern clean and of a high standard. Overall a excellent hotel, I would defiantly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning next year

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Paula D,
Thanks, great to hear that you loved staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again next year. kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Nice hotel very clean, definitely not enough sun loungers and pool area to small for size of hotel! Would be lucky if could get sun loungers! Food was average! A long walk to old town but strip not far away if you like that kind of thing! Only other thing hotel lacked any sort of atmosphere no bars/ music

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillpka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Jillpka,
Thank you very much for your review. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at thw Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos on the 14th August for a week. The hotel was great and modern with nice sized rooms. We had a standard room with a view of the apartment blocks the hotel owned. A sea view would have been nicer but we were barely in the room, plus we got the sun on our balcony late evening. We stayed B&B and there was a great choice, cereals, meat, bread, hot breakfasts, fruit, juices water and sparkiling wine. We visited the main strip in the new town one night and had afew to many cocktails. Most nights we went to the old town, this is a 5-6 euro taxi away. Quaint little busy streets filled with bars resturants and great atmosphere. So much choice, the restuarant along the front near the beach in the old town are great. Flavours, The american dinner for desserts and we ate at a small italian on the front on the corner which was lovely to. We visited Villamora twice while on our stay which was about a 18-20 euro t5axi there and then again to come home. Lovely place to see and very different from the old town and new town. I think the old town is nicer for an evening but this would not put me off staying in the new town at this hotel as the hotels in the old town wernt even close to the standards of this. The mix of people visiting the old town made it nice, ranging from youg children/babies, adults, teenages and eldish couples. Parts of the old town are quite lively but its a relaxed lively and the atmosphere is second to non. Also some great little shops to have a look in. The hotel staff were great and prompt and did everything we asked, calling taxis on an evening and bringing and ironing board and iron to the room, extra towels and toilet rolls, anything we asked for b asically. The taxis are abit of a nightmare but we managed. A small 10min wait from the hotel and everynight the taxi que in the old town went down really fast. Our longest wait was 20mins roughly and this was the longest que evvvvver! I cant remeber all the resturants we ate at but non were horrible. The walk to the beach in 5mins max from the back gate of the hotel (you need a room key to get in and out)
The small beach was nice with a little beach bar. If you walk along past the little cave on the beach you can get to the main beach or walk up the steps next to the beach bar. This is quite busy and there a lots of water sports to do which we did and was great fun. This hotel is ideal for any age but was very much couples when we stayed. I think the hotel is not for children but you see afew at breakfast as they are staying in the apartments owned by the hotel. I would deffinatly go back. And the strip is a laugh if you want a good night out with bars ranging from Patcha, Mambo, Savannah abit like copies of ibiza with wild nights. The only thing is the sea which wasnt as clear and beautiful as greece. The sea is quite rocky and the coldest sea I have ever been in in all my life but apart from the little things I loved the holiday and nothing wasnt perfect. This hotel did us proud!!

Room Tip: Seaview or Side seaview may be a better chooice as we looked onto apartments, but the plus side to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear EmmaNic23,
Thank you very much for your review and the fantastic description of what we can do when stayin as central as in Albufeira, great for future travellers. Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Me and 5 girlfriends stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. The hotel is as per the pictures - very stylish, stunning lounge, airy and immaculate bedrooms with plenty of space and storage. Staff were always very friendly and helpful (being the end of the season think a few of the staff had finished so this may be a problem a bit later in Sept/Oct) especially Ludo who turned has hand from reception to restaurant to bar! Great location with a 5 min downhill walk to beach or a 10 min walk to the strip. Our rooms faced the quiet road.... never heard any traffic day or night... could see the sea if we looked to the left! Would definately recommend this hotel. Didnt visit the spa centre if they had one?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shepsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear shepsara,
Thanks very much for your opinion and we are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a Day Spa on the 4th floor, need to improve the signing though. Hope to seeing you again in Aqua Pedra dos Bicos. Kind regards, Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

my husband and i have just returned from a weeks stay at the hotel. we arrived at the hotel at 12 noon we were told our room would be ready between 1 - 2pm , we returned at 2pm and were told by the same receptionist that he had no idea when our room would be ready. whilst we understand that we arrived early to check in , we would have had no problem waiting if we had been told from the outset that our room would not be ready until nearer 4pm.
however on getting our room we were very pleased and pleasantly surprised at the standard of the room, lovely and clean with a fridge and safe,and a fantastic view.
maid service was excellent and the room was always spotless.
as for the food ,we went half board and found the evening meal very disappointing, as previous reviews have stated there was only one choice of meat, potato, and fish every night and exactly the same veg . desserts never changed and by the end of the week we didnt even bother with them.breakfast very chaotic at 7.30 and on a few mornings hot buffet very limited eg only boiled eggs available one morning.
all that said we had a lovely holiday and found hotel to be very clean and staff if not very chatty but helpful if asked

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear gary r,
Thank you very much for your review and we appologize for waiting for the room but as we are in high season and check-in is after 4pm, sometimes is very difficult to coop with early arrivals. Anyway my colleague should not have promised and not complying with it. We are sorry your haven't enjoyed our food, we will try better, but I have to disagree with you mentioning the variety of the veggi and hots for breakfast, it is not like you described. We really would like to have you staying with us again in a near future. Kind regards Joao Costa - GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,040 reviews
2.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,935 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel

Property: Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 | Santa Eulália, Albufeira 8200-381, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Pedra dos Bicos is an island of serenity in Santa Eulalia, near the busy Albufeira and at 500 meters from the famous "Strip", one of the main nightlife atractions. The direct access from the Hotel to the Bicos Beach - 400 meters away - and the inspiring view over the Atlantic Ocean complete this unique Hotel in the heart of the Algarve. This 4-Star Hotel, from Details Hotels & Resorts, features a daring and modern architecture, offering a memorable and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Onthebeach, Ebookers, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedra Dos Bicos Albufeira
Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing