We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 days (B&B) in the end of May 2014, location is good, close to beach, dining places and supermarket. Staff is very nice, from cleaning ladies to receptionists. Hotel's interior design is very modern, good looking and clean. Our room was with side sea view which was very pleasant and the bed was great.

On the otherside there was a weird, some sort of chloric smell in the bathroom. During day time, while room service is on duty, it is nearly not possible to have some rest since it is quite loud. In the evening, when there is live music, it is pretty much the same. Although we did not use, pool is small. Wi-fi policy is ridiculous and even worse, we paid for high-speed internet which is nowhere being high speed, logs you out occasionally. However I do not expect a feast, breakfast is very average, even close to being bad, very minor changes in the menu each morning.

In conclusion, very average hotel in my opinion.

Room Tip: If internet is not vital for you, better do not pay for "high-speed" internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just returned home after a six night stay in a sea view room. We decided to upgrade to a sea view and were given 319....lovely room and a huge and very comfy bed. The hotel doesn't have a huge amount of curb appeal but inside it's clean, modern and stylish. On the whole the staff were brilliant. I have to take my hat off to the barman (gutted I didn't get his name as he deserves a special mention)....he made the most amazing cocktails...unfortunately he wasn't working on the final two nights we were there and the other barman sadly let the side down with the cocktails and failed to impress. It's a real shame because all it takes is a little bit of training and the standards could have been kept high.
The breakfast and evening meals were lovely...no idea why there are negative reviews on here...there are loads of healthy options, salads, fish, fresh fruit but you can also indulge in the not so healthy fries and cakes if you want.
Unfortunately some people felt it necessary to get up at 7am to put their towels on sun-beds...even though they had no intention to use the beds until later on. It's a real shame the hotel doesn't manage this because it lowers the class of the hotel in my opinion. We found the beach to be the best option....it's only a 5min walk from the hotel and a really pleasant wooden walk-way down to the beach. Lovely beach-bar with nice ice cream and really tasty fresh grilled sardines.
The strip as it's known is very close to the hotel....very tacky! But if you like that kind of thing it's an ideal location.
Take earplugs because the noise carries up from the hotel bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alwen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just returned from week in the Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Hotel.
Hotel really good, we got a really good deal on Secret Escapes. Room and Bathroom very clean. Hotel modern. Balcony a bit small, but ample. We stayed B &B. Breakfast was good. Only things to say against hotel is that you can hear everything that goes on in the rooms next door!! and if you put the TV on most the channels were in German,but apart from that really good stay.
We went out for meals every evening. Chinese on the right of Hotel was really good, also the Trevi Restaurant, just on the main road. They had entertainment on the Monday night with a singer who was good, very entertaining. Actual resort though felt a bit like you were in Benidorm !! I've never seen so many off-licences in one area - and we like a drink!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEBLechladeonThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Aqua pedra dos bicos for 5 nights in mid May – we had a fantastic time!

The hotel staff were lovely and friendly, we arrived early (around 11am) and they quickly ensured our room was ready for us so we could go straight up. When we got out of our transfer bus, one of the ladies also on the bus asked "are you staying here? I've stayed before and it's amazing - you'll have a wonderful holiday. I'm jealous!" and she was right, it was brilliant!

We booked through Secret Escapes and had a superior double room with sea view; the room was beautiful and clean and our view was stunning! We also liked that the safe was free to use (unlike other hotels we looked at) and also, the free wifi was absolutely fine, although make sure you turn it off when you stop using it as there is a usage limit each day!

The beach is great, although you are charged for the sunloungers, which is a shame but not costly (I think €12 for 2) – there is a little beach bar serving drinks and food too. The strip is close by, but it really was not our cup of tea; especially at weekends when the hens and stags arrived! Thankfully you cannot hear any noise at all from the hotel, and you wouldn’t even know the strip existed if you didn’t seek it out. We did have some nice cocktails at Second bar but they were a little pricy.

We much preferred the old town! Shame the hotel is not closer, but we walked there and back without a problem most nights – I would say around 30-40min stroll. If you go, definitely have a meal at “Flavours” on the beach front, we had the fish of the day (“Sea Bass”) and it was incredible! Although the staff are helpful and polite, do be careful when you get the bill because they did “accidentally” try to over-charge us. This may have been an innocent mistake, because the meal was perfect, but worth mentioning.

Unlike some of the reviews I read before we went away, we found Breakfast in the hotel to be great! A really good array of food and drink (including champagne, at breakfast – nice touch!)

All in all an amazing holiday at a wonderful hotel! We would come back if we ever visited the Algarve again :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elmb788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel very good if you do b&b do not have evening meal.No choice at all 1 meat dish 1 fish dish 1 veg dish every evening .no fresh veg all frozen.chips or rice with every meal. NO ICE CREAM at all have been to 2*hotels with much better meals.The hotel and staff were good but not 4*

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marjorie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On first appearances this does seem a rather dull and typical high rise Albufeira hotel but once you get past the very friendly reception staff and gaze upon the stunning lobby stairwell, you'll be very pleased with what meets the eye.
Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. I had a twin superior sea view room with views from my balcony over the pine trees and park and then out to the sea. Absolutely lovely.
For whatever reason it's an Adults Only hotel but don't let this put you off as it's in no way seedy or implies the aforementioned which (some)one might expect so again I was happy. The hotel lobby bar is tastefully decorated in a modern design with a sort of Sinatra era theme. Live jazz plays in the foyer and drinks are served at the bar from which you can take out onto the nearby pool area.
The nightlife is only a 10 minute walk away to the so called Strip where alas quality and class start dropping like bricks. Breakfast was good and plentiful when I made it up on time over my 4 day stay.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the little extra and ask for a Superior Sea View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel over Easter for 5 nights. Hotel in a quiet position, within easy access to entertainment in the strip in Alburfeira. The hotel was lovely, we had a deluxe room overlooking the pool with a sea view and the standard all over the hotel was excellent. Modern design. The breakfast buffet was very good, catering well for all.The staff were very friendly and helpful. First time to Portugal and thoroughly enjoyed out holiday, we would definitely go again and would stay at this hotel again. Thank you for making our holiday special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillybabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#85 of 154 in Albufeira
3,418 reviews
3.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,830 reviews
2.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 | Santa Eulália, Albufeira 8200-381, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £42 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Pedra dos Bicos is an island of serenity in Santa Eulalia, near the busy Albufeira and at 500 meters from the famous "Strip", one of the main nightlife atractions. The direct access from the Hotel to the Bicos Beach - 400 meters away - and the inspiring view over the Atlantic Ocean complete this unique Hotel in the heart of the Algarve. This 4-Star Hotel, from Details Hotels & Resorts, features a daring and modern architecture, offering a memorable and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedra Dos Bicos Albufeira
Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing