We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, but .......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very good, but .......”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

First time at the hotel. Stunning contemporary appearance. I'll start with the positives, but please read on ...

On the plus side then; the receptionists were superb; very knowledgeable, with some excellent recommendations. Bar/waiting staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms were, aside from the points mentioned later, very well appointed. Air-con was efficient and most welcome. Room safe was large and infinitely changeable. Wi-fi reasonably priced. Pool area beautifully maintained. Not a massive pool, but not a massive hotel. Plenty of options available in our inclusive breakfast. The hotel's "Serenata" restaurant deserves special mention (would rate it as excellent, if it were listed in its own right), for dinner options. We only ate there once (after a long day, and didn't fancy venturing out), but couldn't fault the food in any way (not much atmosphere though, to be truthful). Try it if you go.

Storage space (drawers in particular), was nowhere near adequate. We ended up leaving one suitcase full to pick from; and the backs of chairs came into play. Couldn't get sink plug mechanism to function - bit of a pain when it came to wet shaving (didn't appear broken). We paid extra for a sea view. TV a bit limited, for that pre-evening chill-out period. Being on the lowest floor of the sea-facing rooms (albeit with the bigger balcony), the sea was, technically, in view, but only just. Also; the view to the pool area was blighted by the ugly roof over the terrace below. Mains sockets were few, and pretty inaccessible. The dressing gowns, whilst a nice touch, were for very small people, with very short arms. Roof terrace had stunning views, but the evenings-only bar didn't open, as promised; the night we were there - shame.

On the whole; we'd definitely go back though :)

Room Tip: Get a pool/sea view room. Worth the extra. The rooms on the road have pokey little balconies, with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul1960_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    553
    137
    21
    16
See reviews for
102
1,121
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel and were checked in by Ludo, he was a very friendly and informative receptionist. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was great. The pool area was quiet but at this time of year the water was ice cold so only a few brave people managed to get in! There's a bar you can order food/drinks from.

The beach is about 10 minute walk and there's lots of steps down to it. There's a nice café down there though.

The room was lovely but when we fancied a lie in you could hear a lot of banging and other guests walking past.

On the whole, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I booked the hotel as a surprise for my wife to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and I'm so pleased that I did. It was everything that I wanted our short break to be. The hotel is very modern and the staff were friendly and helpful from checking in to checking ourt. We stayed in one of the delux rooms which was very clean, comfortable with a huge double bed and a fantastic sea view. The hotel is in a great location, it's in a quiet area but is only a short walk from the strip where we had some lively nights out. The fabulous beach where we spent most of our days is a 5 minute walk away and is fairly secluded and very relaxing. The beach cafe serves good food at very reasonable prices. We had a fantastic break, the first we have had abroad without the children for 17 years, and we will defiantly return to the Aqua Pedro Dos Bicos in the future.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a relaxing romantic break with a good nightlife close by then this is the ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just spent a week at the Aqua Pedra dos Bicos hotel with my cousin. When we arrived we were welcomed with a smile and a very helpful young man said as we were early our room would not be ready until 2pm. so recomended we had lunch and enjoy sitting round the pool, also as we were two ladies the request for a twin room had not been received and we had been given a double bedded room , but they said not a problem all would be sorted for us.
Our room was on the second floor with a side sea view and was very well decorated and had a teamaker that was very welcome, the bathroom was lovely, the only sugestion would be a handle or something to support you as you got out of the bath or shower could easily have a slip, so extra care needed. Lots of wardrobe space with plenty of hangers, fully stocked fridge with room to put in your own water or milk, Only CNN and Sky news available with no English channels on the TV, but we don't come away to watch TV. Nice to have a full lenghth mirror. Beds were quite nice if a bit hard for me.
We had Dinner Bed and Breakfast the breakfast was good, dinner was ok lots of salad and choice of a fish dish and a meat dish and pasta dish, only complaint was always chips no potatoes or gravy. but there was always something to fill up on. lots of fresh fruit and the sweets were lovely even though there is no ice cream.
Nothing in the way of entertainment in the hotel only a piano in the lovely sitting area but all the entertainment is on the doorstep.
We loved the decor of the hotel very impressive, all the staff were lovely and very helpfull. I have promised to take my husband to stay in this fine hotel as soon as possible. well done Aqua Pedra dos Bicos and thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: All good. higher sea facing rooms have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samlin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in May '12 and am just getting around to writing my review as in the past we only have bothered to write about our bad experiences which we no longer wish to do!!!

We arrived early but were well aware of check in time therefore it was no problem to store our luggage and take a walk whilst our room was being prepared. Once back, our room was ready, clean and lovely.

The lunches we had during our stay were very nice, we used the pool which was lovely and uncrowned and no problem with getting sunbeds or tables, and nice poolside drinks available. The breakfast was lovely buffet and dinner was nice but not as nice as the other selection - and the only other criticism with dinner was that we were being approached quite a lot by staff who wanted to make sure that we paid as we weren't on a meal plan, but had already made them aware of that ourselves so obviously had no plans of running off without paying :P

We took lovely walks to the private beached area, went on a dolphin swim experience and enjoyed an evening in the "old town" too which are all worth a visit.

The staff were also nice on the front desk, when we booked our hotel the wifi was free and when we arrived they had started charging, but due to the fact that it was booked when it was free, they let me have the weeks wifi free of charge with no problems

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mbutler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 days found hotel to be clean friendly and welcoming rooms good size,comfy beds and memory foam pillows nice touch cleaned everyday.breakfast hot and cold buffet plenty of fruits lovely bar area would return again only downside was the reserving of sun loungers from as early 7am in the morning then not using them for hours I did mention this to the hotel on checkout who informed me that would look into this

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartinteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Assistant manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear smart interiors,
Thank you for your review, about the reserving of sun loungers, that situation is not allowed.
Would be lovely to having you back with us again. Kind regards, Paulo Lopes Assistant manager Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very uncomfortable beds. Very VERY un accommodating. Very unhelpful front desk. Gives no info on local amenities. No late check out even though we stayed 4 nights. Not even 30 minutes. Sur charges for absolutely everything you could ever imagine. Do not stay here!!!! This is from a trusted Canadian tourist. Sur charges includes wifi!!!!!!!!!! No wifi for free!!!!!! Do not stay here. Beach loungers, pool towels. No replenishing of food in mini fridge or lotions of shampoo or soap. Stayed 4 night. This is absolute crap. This hotel claims to be high end even though it is stingy and cheap. Good luck if you try this crap hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sierra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Sierra T,
We thank you very much for staying with us and for your review which gives us the opportunity to inform everyone that WIFI at 540Kb speed is free of charge, just broadband speed WIFI as a cost of 3€/ 24H, also not true as we do not charge for the sunbeds, complimentary tea and coffee facilities are in all rooms, minibar drinks are just 2€ for a beer or a Coke.
Your review and the terms and the terms used are self-explanatory. Kind regards, Joao Costa-General Manager Details Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
2.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
3.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.3 mi away
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel

Property: Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 | Santa Eulália, Albufeira 8200-381, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Pedra dos Bicos is an island of serenity in Santa Eulalia, near the busy Albufeira and at 500 meters from the famous "Strip", one of the main nightlife atractions. The direct access from the Hotel to the Bicos Beach - 400 meters away - and the inspiring view over the Atlantic Ocean complete this unique Hotel in the heart of the Algarve. This 4-Star Hotel, from Details Hotels & Resorts, features a daring and modern architecture, offering a memorable and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedra Dos Bicos Albufeira
Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing