We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with excellent staff - needs to explore its potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed for 6 nights in this beach hotel for adults only. The staff excelled the entire week, being extremely serviceminded and friendly.
There was a spectacular rooftop bar and a lounge with live music twice during the week. However, hardly anyone was around. Our two sons, both in their twenties, left to party elsewhere.
What this hotel needs to lift itself from being a mere hotel with all the right facilities, but no action, is some kind of an event manager. The pool area is nice and SO quiet - the hotel is good for reading books and sleeping, but not for having fun.
The internet did not work all week - but it seemed as if the hotel was working on it as we left.
The view was fantastic, the rooms big and meticulously clean, the bathroom spacious and comfortable. Aircondition worked well - with some noise.
Recommend it warmly to honeymooners and people who like peace and quiet.
Location: 3 minute walk to beautiful beaches, however by no means for elderly or disabled persons (lots of stairs to climb the cliffs). About 5 minutes walk from The Strip (many youngsters), and a 7 Euro taxiride to the center of Albufeira with restaurants and clubs for adults.
The area surrounding the hotel: Cheap, touristic.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the ocean - it does not get much better than that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 63MaggieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 10 nights from 12th July, the hotel was lovely and so were the staff. Close to beach and also the "Strip" which was great for us. Our room was Bed and Breakfast so we had breakfast at the hotel, breakfast was okay, not a lot of choice. Our room was lovely, cleaners came in everyday and cleaned it. Only problem with room was the amenities, the mini fridge was good to store our water in but it didnt keep it very cold, there was no where for us to make any sort of food, would have preferred somewhere that has a microwave and some cutlery. Poolside bar was nice for lunch only had this a couple of days, and it was handy for drinks. We only went to the rooftop bar once and the one occasion we did they did not have many choices for us to drink, all they had left was the very expensive bottles of champagne. The pool area was lovely, the only thing about the pool area was that there wasnt enough sunbeds, you had to get up super early to get a sunbed and then they were all taken by 8am! The hotel did organise a trip for us to go quadbiking whcih was great, and the hotel organised many trips that looked good. Other than that the hotel was lush and was in a great place, 2 mins from supermarket, 2 mins from a little cafe where we had lunch and 5 mins walk to all restaraunts, bars and clubs, and where you could also get a little train into the old town for 4euros.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HAC175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My partner and I stayed at the hotel 25th July - 1st August and overall had a great time.
Positives:
Great location, close proximity to the wonderful beach and bars/restaurants
Very clean with modern feel to the layout and structure
Staff, especially the reception staff - Liliana and Hugo
Roof terrace which had amazing views and ensured there was always somewhere to soak up the son if the poolside loungers were taken.
Negatives:
No access to Wi-FI was incredibly frustrating - many guests complained about this during our stay. We needed access to book transfers and print boarding passes whilst at the hotel and to have no access all week was very disappointing.
The lack of plug sockets in the room!! This didn't bother me but was very frustrating for my partner who likes to straighten her hair. The lack of a plug socket near a mirror in the room meant that she was unable to do this.
Our room came with two single beds which we did not book! Why a hotel which is aimed at couples and has a no children policy has any room with single/separate beds is totally beyond me.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a fabulous 10 night stay here in the middle of July. Rooms are spacious, modern and very clean. Rooms are serviced between 9-5 each day which wasn't a problem to us. Fresh towels every day which was a real bonus. We booked a standard room however we could still see the sea from our balcony. I emailed the hotel in advance to request a quiet top floor room which I was delighted to receive and had no noise trouble at all.

Reception staff were incredibly helpful throughout our stay giving us bus timetables, recommendations on where to visit and booking taxis. Special mention to Ricardo & Liliana who were always so kind and went out of their way to help.

There are two things that let the hotel down one being breakfast and the other Wi-Fi. Like other reviews state the Wi-Fi is incredibly slow and 9 times out of 10 doesn't work. This wasn't a major issue for us but just a point to be made. Most restuarants offer free Wi-Fi for those wanting to check emails etc.

Breakfast was very poor. Yes there is everything you could need for breakfast but the quality is poor with no wow factor. Butter was rock hard therefore unspreadable, bread & croissants stale, milk & yogurts warm. Very limited selection of pastries and no muffins or sweet bread at all. Also found that it took a while to replenish the buffet so would have to wait a while to get certain items. Such a beautiful hotel and just felt the breakfast and service didn't live up to the rest of the place. We did not dine here for dinner because of this.

Hotel is in a great location with a short walk to the beach and main resturant areas. If you are wanting a sunbed by the pool you will need to get up super early or wait until around 4pm in the afternoon for some to free up. Again not a problem for us as we went out in the morning and by the time we got back some had freed up.

If you are looking to book tours or visits to the water parks do this at the ticket shops near the hotel as they are much cheaper than booking direct with the hotel. Also would advise to steer clear of the main strip for eating as service and quality is shocking. You will find lovely restuarants on the more quieter strip or down in the old town which is a short taxi trip away.

I would definitley recommend this hotel to anyone as we had a wonderful time and if we are ever in portugal again we won't hesitate to book here.

Room Tip: If you have room requests eg. quiet room make sure and email hotel before you go they are more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LStev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel had everything we were looking for. Peaceful poolside, nearby beach, bars, restaurants . The Staff are wonderfully attentive and friendly, the hotel is very well equipped and maintained. Breakfast is excellent, plenty of choice all well presented.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are in sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed 18th to 26th July. The plus points are the location of the hotel and the friendly manner of the hotel receptionists. The breakfast had plenty of choice althogh sometimes difficult to get a table, there was no meet and greet with staff just going about their business ignoring guests who wanted a table. Contrary to the reception staff the bar manager/breakfast manager lacked any customer skills.
Our room was east facing which was a plus point making the room cooler in the afternoon. Most days the room was not cleaned until 1700 and not very well cleaned. The mattress was old and uncomfartable with creaky springs.
The garden and pool are well laid out, however no management of the sun loungers with many reserved for the whole day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank brymner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just returned after a seven night stay, we were a party of four and we enjoyed our stay, I booked rooms with a pool/sea view and were very happy with them, they were spotlessly clean and spacious and were cleaned daily the only criticism I have about them is lack of wardrobe space. The breakfast was quite good with a good choice of hot and cold food and they served nice bar snacks/lunches. The pool area was nice and clean and we found the water temperature ok, they could do with buying some more sun umbrellas and there were some people reserving the best positioned sun beds by 7am (british and dutch people) which got on our nerves, We had no problem with noise and I must say the staff were all very polite, helpful and friendly. I would recommend the hotel to friends and would return myself.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a pool/sea view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pud12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
2.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,437 reviews
2.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 | Santa Eulália, Albufeira 8200-381, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £42 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Pedra dos Bicos is an island of serenity in Santa Eulalia, near the busy Albufeira and at 500 meters from the famous "Strip", one of the main nightlife atractions. The direct access from the Hotel to the Bicos Beach - 400 meters away - and the inspiring view over the Atlantic Ocean complete this unique Hotel in the heart of the Algarve. This 4-Star Hotel, from Details Hotels & Resorts, features a daring and modern architecture, offering a memorable and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedra Dos Bicos Albufeira
Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing