We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have just returned from a week in Albufeira with my husband and 16year old son and we had a fantastic room at the Cerro Mar Hotel, very clean, fantastic views. We didn't pay extra for breakfast because we wanted to see what they offered first but I feel it was good value for money especially if you do not want to go down to the town. I am really fussy about cleanliness and I had no issue here at all. Be warned though, the pool if freezing and it takes a while to adapt though there is an indoor pool which is free and it is heated. There were a few problems with getting sunbeds and people started putting towels out at 8 in the morning so everyone that could not get one were complaining. We went to the beach most days so it did not bother us so much but I think they need to stop this or it shall put people off staying there. We paid for a basic self catering room and it was amazing. Fully fitted kitchen, fantastic balcony with amazing views. There are steps which leads straight down to the square and the beach is about 5-10 minutes walk, it is so lovely. The beach is gorgeous too. There is a family run restaurant on the beach as you come through the tunnel, it is on the right, friendly staff that really can be bothered to make sure everything is to your satisfaction, a perfect evening setting ! Wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: room 610, massive balcony and AMAZING VIEWS !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JULIE MUSIC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    245
    63
    18
    5
See reviews for
250
229
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for a week in June, great hotel with delicious food in the restaurant. The apartments are spacious and cleaned daily. Great views from balcony and very quiet resort to stay. Honestly can't fault the rep kat who was there daily, would stay here again as I enjoyed it so much. The steps going to the old town aren't bad at all and it's only €3-4 euros for a taxi up from town if your not up to it :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Claire2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

we travel led to Portugal on the 22/6/14 for 1 week and went to the cerro mar lovely hotel good location in the old town but it was on a hill with lots of of steps to the old town overall the stay was very good staff friendly and Portugal is a beautiful place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suzanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first time to this hotel. It's lovely, clean and very friendly. The pool is a good size and I couldn't get my daughter out. A cheeky seagull visited daily for a wash and a swim! The rooms were very spacious. The hotel sits on a hill and there are stairs down to the old town. After a week we were skipping up! There is a courtesy shuttle bus from the hotel if you don't like hills. Was impressed. Definitely recommend and definitely going to revisit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have just left this hotel, having been treated appallingly by the hotel management and I feel it is only right that others are warned of this. We arrived at the hotel and at first things were going very well, and we were very much enjoying our stay in the old town area of albufeira which is, might I say, quite beautiful. The room was very good, we were very pleased with it however on arrival, my partner noticed a metal plate was missing from the bedroom door. We thought nothing of this and continued with our holiday. Whilst on our way out of the room a couple of days later, part of the door frame collapsed suddenly falling to the floor. We were shocked by how sudden this had happened and reported it immediately to the hotel reception. Little did we know that the maids had spotted a problem earlier in the day, and a maintenance man had been up to perform a shoddy repair job on it which had then resulted in the frame collapsing. The hotel manager was fully aware of this, and no one thought to inform us that this frame was loose, despite us having a little 2 year old son who could have quite easily been injured or worse had this fallen on him. To make matters worse, the manager accused us of causing the damage, a young family with a small child kicking in a door.. Seems unlikely doesn't it. Not according to this guy who was seeking a scape goat for his sub standard fittings, or indeed a previous guest who had damaged the room and tried to patch it up.. I was appalled by this managers behaviour, he talked over us, refused to listen to anything we had to say and called us blatant liars. Disgusting behaviour from a hotel who obviously do not value the guests who pay their hard earned money to stay there. Thomson Holidays were amazing throughout this fiasco, their rep Kat could not have done enough for us and we were incredibly well supported and looked after by her and the Thomson/ First Choice team we encountered along the way. Please think carefully before booking this hotel, it has caused me no end of misery and spoiled the end of my holiday but if you do go, check your room and report anything untoward, no matter how small straight away, keeping a records of dates and times, as I would not like anyone to end up in the curious position we were put in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Irene474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

we got back from the Cerro Mar yesterday after 11 glorious days, after a disastrous christmas holiday to Lanzarote I had done a great deal of homework for this holiday and it couldnt have been better.The apartments are spacious,clean and very well equipped. We have been going to the Algarve for 25 years on & off and this was one of the best holidays we have had ! The cerro mar is clean, spacious ideally located for town but far enough out to be be relaxing and quiet. Well done Cerro mar and we look forward to returning soon :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sadtobehome14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here with my wife and 2 small kids (3+1) in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 weeks. Our first impression was how big the apartment was, a big hall which led to 2 good size bedrooms and a large living area each with their own balcony. The living area has a well equipped kitchen with a dishwasher and washing machine which is fantastic with 2 small kids. The only downside is the beds which were a little firm for my liking.

The staff are all friendly and helpful, the restaurant serves lovely meals and you even get a complimentary bottle of wine if you eat within the first 2 nights which is a nice perk.

The pool area is great for little ones as the kids pool is away from the main one giving a bit more safety for them. But be aware the water is very cold, although the kids one does warm up a bit.

Aldi is only a short 10 min walk and has everything you could need, and very cheap with it. Bottles of wine for less than 2 euro's can't be wrong!

The steps are OK and manageable we did it at least once everyday and I carried a 1 year old and a buggy, and I'm not the fittest in the world! The old town is nice although it was probably a bit too "English" for our tastes, we managed to eat somewhere different everyday and there were still lots of restaurants we didn't go to. The best being "infinity" near the beach towards the escalators. Although build your own burger was amazing with a Brie, bacon and chicken burger that was gorgeous.

Overall it was a great holiday with a fantastic hotel, cheap meals and fantastic weather.
I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tifosidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#55 of 154 in Albufeira
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden

Property: Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden
Address: Rua Antonio Aleixo, Albufeira 8200-091, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing