We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pool cleanliness”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We Stayed at this hotel Aug 2014. Staff fantastic polite and professional .Very nice apartment with free aircon, spacious modern & clean. Fridge freezer,dishwasher, washing machine,hob,oven. 2 rooms and bathroom.twin beds plus sofa bed. Warning mattress solid not firm but solid ouch! Room safe 20 euros for 2 weeks. Balcony overlooking gardens and pool, very nice. Facilities include squash,tennis,indoor and outdoor pool,10 pin bowling(out of order, shame), basement games room not up to much. massage,breakfast room offering a good food. First floor snack pool bar,second floor evening bar and restaurant. Outdoor pool wasn't clean enough didn't detect chlorine in water only salt as cleanser which obviously isn't doing the job as ear infections are common, 4 days after arriving our child had a mother of all ear infections plus conjunctivitis. Small bits floating in water and other debris can be seen, brought this to the attention of the staff and they just dismissed the issue. On our last day of 14 nights only then did we witness someone taking a sample of the pool water. The hotel as a whole is extremely nice located on a steep hill half a mile walk to old town. Aldi and lidl 10 mins walk away very convenient and cheaper than the local supermarkets. Unfortunately you can't get a newspaper at the complex you have to walk down to the old town or lidl. Albufeira is a beautiful place with friendly local people. Best quality and value for money restaurant has to be the Tunel on the beach front. The nights can get a bit cooler than expected so take a hoodie. This an honest review and I hope you find it useful.

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter with no one dragging furniture above you. all rooms overlook pool with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ddraigcoch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    249
    66
    18
    5
See reviews for
260
234
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a fabulous 2bedroom 2bathroom apartment that accommodated 5. We moved the sofa bed mattress into the twin room so that my three children could all share 1room. The sitting area of the apartment was comfortable. Our balcony had a sea view which was lovely to eat breakfast on. The kitchen was well equipped with washing machine and dishwasher. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and clean bedding. All the staff were friendly. The pool area was spotless. The hotel is an easy walk down to the Old Town although it is by walking down a number of steps so not easy for people with pushchairs or wheel chairs but the hotel does run a minibus service during the daytime. I left a bag and purse behind and was delighted that the hotel returned them to me through the post which is a great thumbs up.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My 15 year old daughter & i spent a week here in Aug. I had emailed ahead requesting a quiet room on the top floor-& was delighted that we had been allocated RM 609. Lovely & spacious & clean with great views overlooking sea & pool.

We were HB & although the food was perfectly acceptable, we were a little bit disappointed with the choice on offer.

The staff here are really helpful..they even talked us through how to connect to the WiFi when we had problems (quite expensive at 30 Euros for 7 days though!) & only allows for one device to be connected at a time!

The location of the hotel is perfect & the Thomson rep Kat was great.
We did a couple of excursions whilst there - would def recommend the swimming with dolphins - & went down to the old town every eve after dinner to wander around the shops & then have a drink at one of the numerous bars & people watch!

The only negative thing I can say about the cerro mar is the lack of sunbeds..there just aren't enough.

Room Tip: Ask for the 6th floor..lovely & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We are a Family, late 40's with two teenage girls. Booked direct with Thomsons who recommended this accomodation. We requested a high room over looking the Pool and we knew we were staying in the Colina Building. 14 days end of July. £2825 Bed and Breakfast.
You check in at the main reception of the Gardens building which is very impressive and a mini bus takes you and your luggage up to the rear of the Colina building where you access the lifts through a locked gate. Security is excellent. We were more than happy with the accommodation and facilities. We were on the forth floor over looking the pool and the apartment matched the Thomson brochure, app pictures and description. The views of the sea from the balcony were great. We had breakfast in the Garden building and the food and variety was excellent.
Alburfeira is built on a hill side so expect hills and you will have read about the steps down to the square, there not that bad and I'm not a fitness fanatic.
Go to the welcome meeting, Kat the rep. is helpful, funny and knowledgeable. we booked the boat trip. A really good day and the BBQ on the beach was excellent, free wine and plenty of excellent food. Cory the hostess is a character!
Prices in Albufeira vary for food and drink, I paid as little as 1.50 euro for a pint and as much as 3.00. Best food we had was at Shalom 2 and it wasn't the most expensive. All you can eat ribs are legendary. The best value was O' Veilera. (spelling may be wrong) this family run restaurant is outstanding. 3 courses and coffee for 12 euro. Its at the opposite end of the street from the tunnel that leads onto the beach. The food and service is excellent. The Atrium is also excellent, same street but not far from the tunnel. A little more expensive but you are entertained.

The Pool at the Colina building has a swim up bar, food and drink is good and very reasonably priced for a hotel. eg. 2.50 euro for a pint. Towel wars take place at the pool every morning starting at around 7.30am. There are signs but everyone ignores them. If you ask staff they will move towels that have obviously been left for long periods, you know the type. So complain to staff, lay on the grass or get up early.
There is a smaller apartment block adjoining with a rectangular pool. I think this the one that some reviewers refer to when they are disappointed, you get what you pay for ! You can also use the Pool at the Garden building there are a lot more sunbeds and the pool is bigger.

I'm fairly easy going, so not a lot upsets me, I take plenty of holidays and I am careful when I book. If something's cheap there's usually a reason. We had an excellent time and enjoyed our stay at Cerro Mar Colina. The maid service is good and everything is what you would expect for 4 star. I would say from experience that its high end 4 star, I would recommend this Hotel to my friends and family. Enjoy your next holiday where ever you go!

Room Tip: Check which building before booking as there are two parts to Colina, if you want a good view ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnkeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in the Atlantico buildings over the road from the Garden hotel. Upon arrival we were dreading being told that we were in Colina as friends of ours who arrived a week before had been located there which they described as resembling a dungeon!! However pleasantly surprised as location of our apartment was fine and not too far from the main hotel. Problems we did encounter however was no hot water for two days resulting in washing 4 month old baby in the sink and the rest of us showering over in the spa facilities in the hotel - a right pain in the neck to be honest! No where near enough sun beds for the size of the hotel. Location of hotel is great for the old town and the steps that lots complain about really aren't that bad if you are generally fit and well, however the great location does attract some party goers and we were woken on a number of occasions from people coming home in the early hours. The apartment itself was well equipped with washing machine, dishwasher etc which was a bonus but not essential. Nice modern decor and was cleaned everyday by pleasant staff. I think to sum it up it was 'ok'. Nothing to rave about and no burning desire to return.

Room Tip: Just stay away from the Colina block
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were here for a week in February half term and found it to be an excellent stay.
The rooms are spacious, well equipped with all mod cons and well looked after.
All rooms enjoy an excellent view out to the sea and the benefits of the elevated position really come in to play. However, the downside of this is of course that there are plenty of steps to negotiate if walking back to the hotel - not so good for the old knees...
For those self-catering there's a Lidl and Aldi just around the corner less than 2 mins drive away.
In terms of the leisure facilities there's a good gym and sauna and the indoor pool is a decent enough size too.
All in all this was excellent accommodation and we would definitely stay here again should we return to Albufeira. We paid a relatively small amount for the week's stay given that it was out of season but the hotel was still very busy with lots of Canadians and Americans over to take advantage of the warmer climate.
This accommodation is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rupert_Rigsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The appartment was big by any standard. It had everything - even a washing machine! The two single beds were perfect. However, the third one was just a sofa an way too hard, but grew accustomed to it, The appartment was always clean, and the cleaning ladies were polite and serviceminded. From the balcony we had a great view overlooking the sea, It was close to the old town of Albufeira, Steep as it was ti there,,,,we loved everything!!!

Room Tip: 6th floor!!!!,,,,balcony overlooking the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bitbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
1,599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
4.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden

Property: Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden
Address: Rua Antonio Aleixo, Albufeira 8200-091, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing