We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - "Exceeded Expectations"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #28 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Brilliant - "Exceeded Expectations"”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The hotel was in a prime location and had a lot of restaurants nearby. Room I Initially booked was upgraded to a suite for no extra cost which was fantastic. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was ok but the only thing missing we're hash browns. Wi fi was available in the lobby / bar area however wifi access in your room would Incur an extra charge. The indoor leisure (gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna) facilities were excellent. There is a supermarket nearby which was very useful especially if you have a little one. There is also a mini train directly outside the hotel. A day ticket (hop on/hop off) costs as little as 4euros and takes you around the city. I would recommend this hotel to all age groups. I can't comment on the children's facilities as I did not explore this.

Room Tip: Book a twin room and you maybe fortunate to upgrade to a suite like myself :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YazzyQasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    631
    233
    66
    28
See reviews for
450
784
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights in May 2013. the hotel is in a good location, 10 mins stroll to the old Town, also near the beach. Room was good overlooking the Pool, Beds comfortable and Air conditioning with control.Breakfast was excellent with all tastes catered for. Also early morning breakfast available for people with early morning departures.The Staff in reception were excellent, always friendly and smiling, nothing was a problem. The same for the Staff in the Dining area and Pool area etc.Would recommend this hotel for Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This is our fourth time at this hotel, and it always lives up to its four star rating. Always spotlessly clean, and friendly,helpful staff. The rooms are really spacious, and very modern. The pool area has loads of sunbeds, we never had any problems getting one. There is also a lovely indoor pool and spa area, with a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, all free, great just incase the weather doesn,t play ball!
Must mention the great cake shop, virtually next door(underneath the Brisa Sol hotel). The cakes are to die for, never seen any others like them, and really cheap!
Turn left out of the hotel, and left again and carry on walking down to the old town, you will find an amazing little restaurant called Alfredos. We have eaten there every time we have been to Albufeira, and have had an amazing meal each time. The staff are brilliant, and make you feel really welcome. The food is excellent, and very reasonable(we received a 10% discount). Its then another 5mins to get to the old town. The strip is a 20min walk the other way. Definately recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 85deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We went last minute to this hotel. Arrived early but room was still available. Overlooked the pool area, which was spotless with plenty of sunbeds at all times of day. Quite comical watching people put their towels down at 7am when there really is no need. Hotel also has a sunbed area away from the pool which made a nice change.
Breakfast was normal type of food, but all fresh and chef cooked eggs in front of you, changing gloves often which was good to see.
Reception staff helpful giving out bus timetables and free use of internet on the two computers in in lobby area.
Beach is a down hill walk, with then escalators down to actual beach.. a further downhill walk if you can't use escalators.
Good bus links to next towns. excellent ice creams can be had 50 metres to the left of hotel as well as sandwich shop and bakery.
A quiet location for a peaceful break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley731420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel last week and it is lovely. The hotel is a modern 4star hotel and offers all
a four star should.

The rooms are spacious and modern with good balconies and bathrooms. The whole hotel is
spotlessly clean, well run and comfortable to be in. The staff are all very friendly and very helpful and those at front of house are very professional.

The spa area is lovely and the massage team are actually very good at what they do. The pool area is lovely and the pool is very clean.

food here is excellent and plenty of it with lots of local recipes alonside the usual fare for the non-adventurous.

the Vial Gale is about a 10 minute walk downhill to the old town and the escalators to the beach in Albufeira. the tourist train stop is just outside and this will take you down and back for E4.

Nearby are a range of shops, a shopping centre and lots of bars and restaurants. We recommend the Riviera Pasteleria next door for very calorific pastries, good coffee or just a drink while watching the world go by.

An excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool room as they have lovely views out over the garden and to the sea in the distance. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniemike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

After our original hotel came down with a virus, getting moved to this hotel was best thing that could have happened! Had a fantastic pool area, the all inclusive was a very good standard. And location was perfect, 5/10 walk from the beach, old town, and the strip!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jsaddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We have just returned from a 10-night stray at this Hotel for our wedding anniversary - fantastic! The hotel is spotless and the staff (especially the front desk and the chambermaids) were very friendly, helpful and their level of English was superb. Rooms were nice (beds extremely comfortable) & we had a great view over the pool (we were in 308). The hotel is well situated, being central to the strip & the old town and having one of the train stops just outside was a bonus. All in all we had a great stay & we will definitely be returning to the Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
457 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
1,277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#75 of 154 in Albufeira
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Property: Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Evoline ltd, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing