We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would book again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #27 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is an excellent hotel in a perfect location , food rooms and staff were all perfect my only complaint was the childrens pool was damaged and closed off for 3 days which my 3 year old son was none to pleased about . If this had not been the case I would have given 5 stars . Childrens club was excellent and there was a mini disco everynight which my son loved . We stayed all inclusive and would highly recommend it . Room was cleaned every day .

Room Tip: we had a pool view which was nice .
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately during your stay we had to repair an urgent and necessary maintenance problem in the childrens pool to guarantee it working well, for which we apologise for the inconvenience that caused.
Hoping you may visit us again

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,650)
There are newer reviews for Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

hotel check in staff were slow and the room wasn't ready at 2 ,had to wait for 45 mins despite the lady saying 5 or 10 mins , 3rd floor room as requested so they got that right , room itself was good overlooking pool , decent aircon and mini fridge in room, plusses, great food in restaurant, on half board basis. Restaurant manager was very welcoming Clean surroundings , plenty of sunbeds at pool.Downside was paying for a bottle of water at dinner even though we were half board ??plus sometimes it wasn't even chilled, plus no irons in room or tea, coffee facilities, these should really be standard to get 4 star .Overall I would recommend the hotel

Room Tip: top floor either 3 or ,4 poolside, roadside is far too noisy
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PAUL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Cerro Alagoa for your holiday, as it was pleasing to find you have enjoyed your stay despite some downside points.
We do apologise for the late check in. The half board basis does not include drinks which we hope you were informed when booking.
We do have a laundry service in the hotel available, therefore do not dispose of irons in the rooms. Regarding the tea or coffee facilities we do not cater for these as we also have a 24 hour room service available.
Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Spent 7 days in Vila Gale in June, nice hotel in a reasonable location, rooms are decent size if a bit tired but bed was good, bathroom spacious with toiletries topped up daily & there was little noise at night despite the fact that our 3rd floor room was over the hotel bar. Room was cleaned daily & the hotel appeared well run & was generally well kept. A minor fault was that in the pool area no staff circulated to remove empty glasses or litter that guests left behind. As it was quite windy at times this resulted, on occasion, in things blowing around the pool area from time to time.
Staff at the hotel were attentive & helpful particularly at the Reception Desk.
Breakfast was excellent with a full choice for all nationalities & there was a good selection for dinner with 4 or 5 hot main course options & a very good salad bar & desert selection.
Indoor pool looked nice but as weather was excellent we did'nt use it.
Only negative of the trip which was totally outside the hotels area of responsibility was that when we booked with Travel Department we requested a room with a sea/pool but discovered upon arrival Travel Department do not book pool/sea view rooms at this hotel & they did not advise us prior to travelling.
On checking in I was given a room overlooking a roundabout on a busy road & it cost me a supplement of E154 to get the room I thought I had booked. Their local rep was useless &
in conversation, many of my fellow travellers were less than impressed with Travel Department room booking policy at Vila Gale as we all paid " top dollar " for our holiday.
Since my return I have been in contact with Travel Department but apart from a derisory gesture they are stonewalling me.

Room Tip: Go for room with pool / sea view unless you want to look out on a busy main road.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kilteel186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel. It was a pity to find that you were not pleased with the room booked and hope you may clarify this with the Travel agent. Despite this, we hope you may return to visit our hotel again

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Me and my friend stayed at this hotel for a week. The location is absolutely perfect! just a 10 minute walk to the old town and if you're feeling a bit lazy there is a tourist train in Albufeira which has 4 stops; The old town, the strip, something else and the hotel! A great way to get around, just 2,50 for a one way ticket.

The room we got was very big and had a lovely balcony with view on the swimmingpool and in the far distance the ocean. The beds were good, room got cleaned every day, bathroom looked new and the room was very clean.

The breakfast was great; fruit, bread, cheese, ham, cereal, eggs, bacon, sausages, just about everything was available. It was until 10.30 which was also convenient for us.

There is WiFi in the room which you had to pay for, but you could also choose a different WiFi free of charge, which gave access when you were in the common areas(reception, restaurant, pool etc) which worked just fine for us.

The staff over-all was very friendly and helpfull, EXCEPT for some (2) men at the poolbar, who looked at their customers as if we were bothering them with our orders, throwing what we bought(bag of chips or bottle of water) to us and 1 even said something in Portugese while serving us, judging from the look on his face it wasn't something nice. These 2 were so gruff and unpleasant it made us take our lunch out of the hotel, and they are also the reason I give the hotel 4 stars instead of 5. Just to be clear, it was just the two of them, the rest of the poolbar staff, and the staff at the reception really was very friendly, helpfull and nice and the hotel was great! Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone going to Albufeira.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hotelmedewerker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review, as it was very pleasing to find you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Cerro Alagoa
Were hoping to welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

I have previously stayed in this hotel and loved it, so when booking for this year to stay in Albeufaira again I wouldn't have stayed in any other.

Although we had a delayed flight because of the French Air Strikes we got out to the hotel the day after and the staff were friendly from the start.

We were give room 158 which looked out to the pool and sea as well as having a bigger balcony that most rooms. We arrived late at night so got our keys, put our bags in the room and walked into the old town to have a drink in the many bars.

Their was always enough sun beds for everyone and no need to get up early although we did to make sure we got the best spot in the hotel that we found :) for sun all day.

The hotel also has a great indoor swimming pool with plenty of sun beds around it, a sauna, gym and Turkish baths. At around 7pm after the sun went in we went to this pool for a swim and to read our books which was very relaxing before we went up to the room to get ready.

Breakfast was like most hotels, plenty of choice. We did notice on our first night that the air con was dripping water and the fridge didn't work however we reported it and it was all fixed the next day with a new fridge, in which was great for keeping drinks, after sun etc cold. The air com was that good you had to turn it up at night because it was too cold.

We had dinner down in the old town every night and never had one bad meal, plenty to choose from down there. The old town has plenty of places to go, bars, restaurants etc and you can have a good night.

You also have the option of the new town which is more lively however this isn't a place for families.

Getting to the old town is an easy 10 mins walk or €3.90 in a taxi but dearer if you book with the hotel.

All in all another fantastic stay and when in Albeufaira again I will be staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ArronScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My boyfriend and I came here at the beginning of June, we are both in our early 20s and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We spent most of our time during the day down by the pool and if we were early we never had a problem getting a sunbed. The rooms were clean and the view from our balcony was beautiful, definitely worth paying a little extra for a pool view as it really does make a huge difference. Any problems and the friendly reception staff were quick to help. AC in the rooms, so not uncomfortable to sleep at night in the heat. Food was good, not amazing but perfectly fine. We had B&B and there was a great amount of variety available. Had dinner at the hotel once, was a good price but the food wasn't great; recommend going down to the beach front for evening meals as there are so many different restaurants which often have deals going on.

Would definitely come back to Albufeira and most likely stay in this hotel again as none of the others in the area looked quite as nice! Great hotel for people of all ages and all types of groups, there were older couples, groups of friends of all ages, families with young kids and young couples so it is definitely a hotel that caters to all. I had a massage in the hotel spa and it was extremely relaxing and a decent price as there was a deal on, would definitely recommend going for a massage if the deal is on while you stay there.

Beach is only a 10 minute walk away which is great and so accessible, there is also a little blue train that stops right outside and takes you around the key spots of Albufeira.

All in all, amazing holiday at a highly recommendable hotel, we had a great time.

Room Tip: Definitely get a pool view, there's not much to look at out front and the view out back is lovel...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EmmaWilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest

It was pleasing to read your review on our hotel and find that you have enjoyed your stay with us and recommend our hotel.
We have increased our variety of food at dinner so hopefuly if you visit us again you may find it improved.
Hopint to welcome you back

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa and was very impressed with this hotel. We had a lovely double room overlooking the pool area. Both the outdoor and indoor pool were great, very clean, very well maintained and lots of sunloungers. Breakfast was good, plenty of variety. We ate dinner there one night and we weren't very impressed with this but we prefer to find our own restaurants for dinner anyway. We paid €15 for the safe which is free in most hotels so we thought this was a bit steep. I would have given it 5 stars if they had tea/coffee facilities in the room. Overall very happy and would return.

Room Tip: Pool view is a must as the other side is looking onto a busy road.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,775 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
1,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#76 of 154 in Albufeira
246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £40 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing