We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #27 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Ideal location to walk into the lovely Albufeira Old Town & for those that struggle to walk back up the hill a taxi is less than 4euros, there is also a stop for the open top tour bus & the little train just along from the hotel entrance. We only ate at the hotel for breakfast and although it wasn't the best we have had it was ok. The pool area was good, we always found sun beds no matter what time of the day we wanted them (although it was only May, not sure if it is more difficult high season?) drinks in the hotel pricey especially the water in the rooms but there is a supermarket very close by - alot of people were popping along and buying drinks there. Our room was ready when arrived around 12 noon which was great, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable, some days the room didn't get serviced until after 1600 which isn't a problem if you are out all day but not sure if it would be acceptable for everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELRI49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review as we are pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
The rooms are cleaned daily from 9am to 5pm, however if guests prefer a specific hour or time of day they may request this at reception and we will try our best to do it at that time.
We hope you may choose our hotel or another Vila Galé Hotel for your next Holidays.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent a weeks holiday at the Vila Gale over half term. We are in our 40's and took our 14 year old son. We were hoping there would be a few teenagers at the hotel, due to the time of year, however, there were none.

We were all inclusive, however, we didn't make full use of this. The breakfast was lovely, but decided not to use the buffet restaurant, as we wanted to experience the food in the local restaurants. We ate at the pool snack bar at lunch times. The menu was limited, and as other people commented, strangely the chips and burgers weren't included on the AI menu.

The staff were lovely and always smiling.

The hotel was a 10 minute stroll to the old town, where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. Our favorite place to eat was very close to the hotel and very very reasonable. Please try O Jorge. Turn right out of the hotel and head towards the supermarket. Cross the road and you will see some step pointing up to a sports bar and restaurants. Climb the stairs and turn right, past the first restaurant. You will come across a snack bar, O Jorge, however, the also have a quaint restaurant. We ate there 3 times in a week. The piri piri was amazing. A meal for 3 with wine was £35!

There was entertainment in the hotel bar. It was aimed at the young at heart and not really our cup of tea.

There was never a race for the sun beds, however, the weather was hit and miss.

Nice hotel, more suitable for people with very young families or the older generation. Not for us I'm afraid.

Room Tip: The junior suite was lovely and well worth an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and overview of our hotel. We are pleased you have enjoyed the junior suite as these are well worth the upgrade.

Your comments are welcomne and hekp us to improve our standard and servisse

We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just returned from another great stay at this hotel. Cannot fault anything about it but the staff are this hotels greatest asset, thank you to Rosario, the Marios, Paulo, Ines, Raphael, Trudi and all the ladies and Gents in the restaurant we will be returning!!!! My 2 grandsons Finley, 10 months and Jack, 5 years loved their stay and were well and truly spoilt by everyone. Thank you Vila Gale.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest

THANK YOU for a lovely review. Your comments are very motivating to our team and it is with great satisfaction to know you have enjoyed your holiday at the Cerro Alagoa.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future, and thank you for choosing thje Vila Galé Hotels.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel goes from strength to strength. It is ideally situated for the old town and over the road to a McDonald's (if you have picky kids). Great pools both outside and inside and sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Even a small gym. Staff mostly friendly although bar staff could do with a cheer up. Absolutely fab entertainers king Nep, Raphael and Ines. Excellent rooms. All you could ever wish for. . .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and for taking the time to give us your opinion regarding your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
Your opinion and suggestions are very important and help us to improve our service and standards.
We hope that the recent renovations made in our hotel are of your approval and serve to improve our guests comfort.
We were pleased to find you have enjoyed your holiday at the Cerro Alagoa and hope to welcome you back in a near future to a Vila Galé Hotel.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent hotel, lovely staff always very professional and always so helpful. We like the location because it is easy to walk to the old town. The breakfast has an excellent choice of food. The rooms are always so clean. This was our sixth year to stay here for a week in May and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mavis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all THANK YOU for your sixth visit to the Cerro Alagoa. It is very motivating for all of our staff team when we have repeat guests who choose the Cerro Alagoa constantly for their holiday.

We hope that the recent renovations made in our hotel are of your approval and serve to improve our guests comfort.
We were pleased to find you have once again enjoyed your holiday at the Cerro Alagoa and hope to welcome you back next year !

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent hotel all round. Great service, great staff. Professional. Lovely rooms. Recently refurbished. The pub was great.

i stayed here last year, and it was a lovely holiday primarily because of this hotel. It really is a beautiful place to stay and the food is great, and the staff professional. definately worth paying that little extra for.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review as it is very pleasing to find you have once again enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa. We hope to welcome you back in a near future !

We inform you that the Cerro Alagoa has recently been renovated with a new exterior paint work and new show cooking in our restaurant

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Booked for one week AI for myself and husband. Although the reviews were good, we still went with a open mind.

Hotel is approx 40 min drive from Faro Airport. We used Yellow Fish Transfers, which I have to say gave professional prompt service. Cost was 60€ for private return transfers.

On arrival to hotel we had a quick check in, there are lifts to all rooms. Rooms are of average size for Europe, basic but clean. There are no tea/coffee in rooms, Breakfast does not start until 07:00 so if you like a hot drink before this time, may be worth taking a kettle etc with you. Also no iron although you can request one from reception. The electronic safe in room is not free, which annoys me, also the mini bar has 3 bottles of water on arrival which cost you 3€ per bottle! There is a local shop 5 mins walk away where you can buy a 5 litre bottle of water for less than a euro.

Breakfast is good and caters for everyone. We had lunch once which was ok, but most of the time we was out at this time of day. Dinner was ok for first couple of nights, after that we ate out. Foods ok but the normal AI menu in Europe. There is plenty to eat though if people like to stay in the hotel. There is also a pool bar for drinks, snacks and ice cream during the day.

There are 2 pools one being for adults the other for children, also no shortage of sun beds and parasols. You can also get towels from the hotel for use at the pools. There was only a couple of young families there, majority of guests are couples over 40. There is evening entertainment every night in the bar.

The old town is a 10 min walk away, this is where we spent most of our time. Loads of bars restaurants and shops. Really good atmosphere day and night. Anyone not taking AI option can eat here quite cheaply from approx 3€ for full English breakfast. Evening meals vary from 5-20 €

We really enjoyed the hotel and area and fully intend on returning later in the year, we wouldn't pay AI next time though. If your the type of person to chill around the hotel most days or have a young family AI is maybe the better option. If you like to be up and out, honestly your wasting your money. Also full view room is a must, the other rooms look out on to the hotel car park and main road outside. All staff pleasant and helpful. If you want cocktails at the pool bar, Paulo is the guy you want mixing them.

Room Tip: Full view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracyspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and for taking the time to give us your opinion regarding our hotel.
Your opinion and suggestions are very important and help us to improve our service and standards.
We were pleased to find you have enjoyed your holiday at the Cerro Alagoa and hope to welcome you back in a near future to a Vila Galé Hotel.

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,794 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#74 of 154 in Albufeira
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £42 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing