We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“**lovely**”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“**lovely**”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our 2 week holiday. First time that we have been to Portugal & would definitely go back.

The hotel was lovely. The maids cleaned the room & changed the towels daily. We had Bed & Breakfast. The breakfast caterered for all. Lovely fresh fruit, yogurts, pastries, meats, cheese and the usual fry up food.

The pool area was nice & clean. No rush to put your towels down as they had "no reserve" policy.

The old town was lovely. Loads of bars &restaurants. Also a lovely beach. The New Town was also good but is more for young people at night. The beach..Praia Oura was very pretty.

There are also free maps available for the old town & the strip. We found these v.helpful being our first time there.

We would definitely recommend using the train. It stops right outside the hotel. 4€ for a day ticket or 2.50€ 1 way. It goes round the New Town & Old Town.

The evenings were a little cool so would recommend taking something warmer.

All in all a very nice stay. Sad to be home :(

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing you review and are really pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    600
    210
    57
    25
See reviews for
403
737
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Location perfect just 10 minuites from the square in albufeira. Room excellent very clean and nice pool view {room 362} Breakfast was good, poolbar snacks limited, evening meal was ok but lacked variety.water was not included in A/I nor chips at poolbar ~ unusual! Staff very friendly especially bar staff. A good relaxing break weather was hot and sunny.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have less noise rooms overlooking pool have sun most of the day room 362 was in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and for taking the time to give us your opinion regarding your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
Your opinion and suggestions are very important and help us to improve our service and standards.
We hope that the recent renovations made in our hotel are of your approval and serve to improve our guests comfort.
We were pleased to find you have enjoyed your holiday at the Cerro Alagoa and hope to welcome you back in a near future to a Vila Galé Hotel.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at the Villa Gale with my daughter, Son-in-law and granddaughter from 30th May to June 6th. We were bed and breakfast only so I’ve no idea what the main meals were like. Breakfast was OK but they always seem to have those savoury cocktail sausages instead of the proper ones we like in the UK. Also, most 4star places I’ve been to have a dedicated omelette section where you can wait for yours to be cooked with your choice of filling. But unfortunately this hotel doesn’t have that. Also, it took me most of the week to figure out how to get a decent cup of coffee out of the machine. The cappuccino tasted as though it had sugar in it and the standard coffee was like ink. I figured that if you select “coffee short” then pour half of it away then top up with hot milk it was perfect. (Just a little tip)
I’ve just read what I wrote and it sound like this is going to be a bad review, but, actually, it’s one of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed in. I was impressed by the fact that all the amenities in the hotel (except for the massage) are included. You’re not paying extra for Gym, Jacuzzi or Sauna which I used every day and felt great. Also, I took my granddaughter to get a Smarty pop-up ice-cream and the kids can have one free each day. But I must say the best feature of this hotel is the music by the pool. There isn’t any. IT’S GREAT! No bump bump bump. No animation team shouting down a microphone. Just peace and quiet. Wonderful!
Here’s a few tips about the resort: Quite a few people have mentioned the Cake Shop next door as you go to the right as you leave the hotel. It is great and we used it a couple of days. Directly opposite the cake shop is the internet cafe. We had several lunches up there. They do a nice cheese and ham omelette and a wonderful Hawaiian Pizza and you won’t be paying the earth. While you’re there, you can connect to the internet for free and check in back home. The password is always today’s date (e.g. 06062014)
We went to “The Strip” a couple of times but only ate there once. There’s a steak bar right at the bottom on the right hand side. They do a really good fillet steak but it’s not the best place in Albufeira. The absolute finest place we found was called Bailote Restaurant just off the old town main square. You’ll pay about 19.95 euro’s for the fillet steak but it’s a real gourmet delight. If you want a really special night, that’s the place to go. If you want something in the 12 euro range I can recommend the Piri Piri chicken ant the Bank restaurant which is on the corner as you come into the main square.
If you enjoy several drinks then avoid the main square in the old town. You’ll pay 3 euro’s + per pint for Super Bock and you can go 100 yards off the Main Square and pay only 1.80 euro’s. Even down the Strip you can find a bargain. You would expect to be paying a premium and you will if you’re not careful, but, we found a place where you can pay only 1.50 euro’s per pint. Most places are about £1.80 which is much cheaper than the UK.
While I’m typing this I’ve just had a text from my daughter. “Don’t want to be home, want to go back” It’s a wonderful place, you’ll love it. Have a great time!

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face the noisy road and even numbers have a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Urraco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and for taking the time to give us your opinion regarding your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
Your opinion and suggestions are very important and help us to improve our service and standards.
We hope that the recent renovations made in our hotel are of your approval and serve to improve our guests comfort.
We were pleased to find you have enjoyed your holiday at the Cerro Alagoa and hope to welcome you back in a near future to a Vila Galé Hotel.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is fantastic - great location between the old and new town and right opposite McDonalds and next to a fabulous cake shop. There is a land train that stops right outside which takes you to both the old and new towns. We stayed bed and breakfast and I have to say the selection at breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel. Rooms were clean and light and airy. I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VickieGBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and recommending the Cerro Alagoa, as we are very pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay.
We hope you may choose us or one of the Vila Galé Hotels for a future holiday.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Ideal location to walk into the lovely Albufeira Old Town & for those that struggle to walk back up the hill a taxi is less than 4euros, there is also a stop for the open top tour bus & the little train just along from the hotel entrance. We only ate at the hotel for breakfast and although it wasn't the best we have had it was ok. The pool area was good, we always found sun beds no matter what time of the day we wanted them (although it was only May, not sure if it is more difficult high season?) drinks in the hotel pricey especially the water in the rooms but there is a supermarket very close by - alot of people were popping along and buying drinks there. Our room was ready when arrived around 12 noon which was great, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable, some days the room didn't get serviced until after 1600 which isn't a problem if you are out all day but not sure if it would be acceptable for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELRI49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review as we are pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
The rooms are cleaned daily from 9am to 5pm, however if guests prefer a specific hour or time of day they may request this at reception and we will try our best to do it at that time.
We hope you may choose our hotel or another Vila Galé Hotel for your next Holidays.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent a weeks holiday at the Vila Gale over half term. We are in our 40's and took our 14 year old son. We were hoping there would be a few teenagers at the hotel, due to the time of year, however, there were none.

We were all inclusive, however, we didn't make full use of this. The breakfast was lovely, but decided not to use the buffet restaurant, as we wanted to experience the food in the local restaurants. We ate at the pool snack bar at lunch times. The menu was limited, and as other people commented, strangely the chips and burgers weren't included on the AI menu.

The staff were lovely and always smiling.

The hotel was a 10 minute stroll to the old town, where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. Our favorite place to eat was very close to the hotel and very very reasonable. Please try O Jorge. Turn right out of the hotel and head towards the supermarket. Cross the road and you will see some step pointing up to a sports bar and restaurants. Climb the stairs and turn right, past the first restaurant. You will come across a snack bar, O Jorge, however, the also have a quaint restaurant. We ate there 3 times in a week. The piri piri was amazing. A meal for 3 with wine was £35!

There was entertainment in the hotel bar. It was aimed at the young at heart and not really our cup of tea.

There was never a race for the sun beds, however, the weather was hit and miss.

Nice hotel, more suitable for people with very young families or the older generation. Not for us I'm afraid.

Room Tip: The junior suite was lovely and well worth an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and overview of our hotel. We are pleased you have enjoyed the junior suite as these are well worth the upgrade.

Your comments are welcomne and hekp us to improve our standard and servisse

We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just returned from another great stay at this hotel. Cannot fault anything about it but the staff are this hotels greatest asset, thank you to Rosario, the Marios, Paulo, Ines, Raphael, Trudi and all the ladies and Gents in the restaurant we will be returning!!!! My 2 grandsons Finley, 10 months and Jack, 5 years loved their stay and were well and truly spoilt by everyone. Thank you Vila Gale.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest

THANK YOU for a lovely review. Your comments are very motivating to our team and it is with great satisfaction to know you have enjoyed your holiday at the Cerro Alagoa.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future, and thank you for choosing thje Vila Galé Hotels.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Property: Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing