We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 week stay - gorgeous place. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1 week stay - gorgeous place. ”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner have just arrived back from our 1 week stay 3rd July - 10th July at Vila gale cerro alagoa.
Upon arrival our room was available immediately and we were very pleased with the size and location of it (507) it was ground floor but facing the pool area.
The pool area was clean and spacious, however we learnt that you need to put a towel down very early in high season as some days we couldn't even lye around the pool at all due to lack of sunbeds.
The poolside bar was handy and food was cheap enough, however drinks seemed very expensive! We paid over €5 each for a large coke.

Halfway through our stay we had to move rooms due to a leaking pipe in the ceiling, however there was no fuss and we moved immediately to a lovely room on the third floor (318). We also had a complimentary free dinner at the restaurant for inconvinience. This is where we learnt we were glad we only opted for bed and breakfast, as although the food was lovely there were so many places to eat In the old town, we were glad we got chance to try them.

The location of the hotel is perfect for all point in albufeira. A ten minute walk to the beach and the old town, a small train outside the hotel to the new town. A few shops and mcdonalds directly outside the hotel - we were never short of places to eat or drink. There was also a large supermarket a 2 minute walk from the hotel. We couldn't of been happier with the location.

Restaurants we would recommend in the old town were: pampus steak house - absolutely gorgeous and worth the few extra euros! Staff were really friendly and food was just amazing.
Urban pizza was really good value for money and lovely pizza.
Spice time - an Indian restaurant just up the hill out of the old town was also one of our favourite meals - really friendly and curry was one of the best we had ever tasted.
Somewhere we would not recommend would be 'oh fernandos' food was very average and over priced and service was appalling. We waited 20-30 minutes for our empty places to be taken and we were the only ones eating in there!

Places to drink in the old town - D&C bar was really friendly karaoke bar that we loved and Meet bar also.

Overall the old town and hotel were gorgeous and would recommend to all. The only downfall to the hotel would be not being able to get a sun lounger - I suspect due to being busy high season. But there is space for more loungers - just none to lye on! Do not go half board - bed and breakfast is worth it. The breakfasts were gorgeous and well worth it.
We would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and for taking the time to give us your opinion regarding your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
Regarding the sunbed situation we do advise guests not to reserve sunbeds by the pool and appeal to their good sense and civism but unfortunately this is not respected and becomes difficult to control in the peak season
We hope that the recent renovations made in our hotel are of your approval and serve to improve our guests comfort.
We hope to welcome you back in a near future to a Vila Galé Hotel.
Kind regards
Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    608
    217
    58
    25
See reviews for
415
749
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed at the Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa for the week of 4th July.

Pros: Very clean, good location - less than 10 minutes to the Old Town and 15 minutes to the Strip. Excellent pool and plenty of sun beds (Don't pay to much attention to those people that have moaned about sun bed hoggers. Just take the towels off !). Stayed on a B&B basis - the buffet breakfast is again excellent with plenty of choice. The majority of guests are either couples over 30 which is great if you don't want stag/hen dos or families with small children.

Cons: Half of the rooms face the road which is busy and therefore noisy. In room wifi is €15 a week, which for a four star hotel I would have expected it to be free. It is also relatively slow. I used the gym on a daily basis and there is only one bike and one stepper, no treadmill or cross trainer. The weights machines are fine.

In summary, a very good hotel if you want easy access to both centres. I would certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view room as half the rooms face a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidl_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and for taking the time to give us your opinion regarding your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
Your opinion and suggestions are very important and help us to improve our service and standards.
We hope that the recent renovations made in our hotel are of your approval and serve to improve our guests comfort.
We were pleased to find you have enjoyed your holiday at the Cerro Alagoa and hope to welcome you back in a near future to a Vila Galé Hotel.
Kind regards
Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a really great time at a very, very, good hotel. We went full board.
I don't think anybody could find fault with anything at this hotel. It catered for everyone no matter what nationality. It was spotless, quiet at night. Very good and very smart looking staff
who went out of their way to help you. All the meals were great and the choice was excellent. Wine and beer were great. All the whisky brandy etc were very nice indeed. The brandy you normally get at full boards is normally like fire water but this was more like 3 Barrels to me. Red wine and white wine was very refreshing and we have at last found a hotel that can do a decent shandy! We have not one complaint to make about this hotel and have already told our friends. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Rooms were a very good size and i thought the beds and pillows were the best I've had. Nice balcony made it perfect of us.

Room Tip: Rooms in the odd numbers ( we stayed in 307) seemed to get the sun in the evening which was great fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and for taking the time to give us your opinion regarding your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
We hope that the recent renovations made in our hotel are of your approval and serve to improve our guests comfort.
We were pleased to find you have enjoyed your holiday at the Cerro Alagoa and hope to welcome you back in a near future to a Vila Galé Hotel.
Kind regards
Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Returned from the Vlia Gale last week after 7 days all inclusive.Read comments on Trip Advisor etc and was looking forward to going.Somewhat disappointed.
The Positives were,Pool Lovely.Clean Hotel.Food and staff in Restaurant nice and the cleaners w
ere very pleasant .Hotel near to old town and train to the strip.
Negatives.Entertainment Poor service in the Dog & Duck pub in the hotel,. unless you were paying, .Pool bar opens at ten am,if your not all inclusive they will serve you between 10-00 and 10-30.If all inclusive they wont serve you till 10-30.When i asked why they wouldnt serve me they said the had to get things ready.What!!
Drinks were expensive as after 11pm when all inc have to pay.Gin and tonics were in small glasses not tumblers like normal.Due to poor entertainment we went out most nights.Some parasols needed renewing but half way through our holiday they were replaced.We also noticed people who were paying got better service, making us feel like 2nd class citizens.Lastly i would rate this hotel three and a half stars. Wi Fi hit and miss.Having made these comments we would return but only Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a Pool side room at hotel. Rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing you review as your comments are very important and help us to improve our standard and service. We do regret that our all inclusive was not satisfactory, We inform that beverages from all inclusive starts at 10,30 am and goes all day until 11 pm.
We hope we may be able to welcome in a Vila Gale Hotel on a future holiday.

Kind regards


Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a fantastic 1-week stay on a half-board basis at this hotel.

The facilities are excellent and pools very good (the outdoor one a little cold till you get in!!).

We travelled with our 1 year old son who loved the pools and loved his time at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and everyone very helpful.

The only negatives we found were the slightly repetitive food in the evenings (although plenty of it!!) and the reserving of beds by the pool. People are told when they arrive that towels are not to be put on beds by the pool to reserve them but this is routinely ignored by guests. Many put towels on and the beds remain unused all day. The thought crossed our minds to just toss the "reserving" towels in the pool when all beds seemed full!!

Other than this, a fantastic week and we would definitely come back to this hotel. Location is great and the Old Town is a must!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhys1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel as your comments are very important and help us to improve our standards and service.
We do advise guests not to reserve sunbeds by the pool and appeal to good sense and civism but unfortunately this is not respected and becomes difficult to control in the peak season.
Otherwise, we are pelased to find you have had a fanrastic stay with us and thank you for choosing the Vila Gale Hotels.
We hope to welcome you aqgain in a near future

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Visited this hotel in June with my husband and mother. We were lucky to have rooms next door to each other, the view from the rooms was lovely, the pool and the sea in the distance. Also the location was very good, 10 minutes walk ( for my husband and I) in to the old town which is down hill, slightly longer coming back !!. The "strip" was a 25 minute brisk walk away, which we did one evening but I personally wouldn't bother going there again. The pool area was lovely, although I think the rule of not saving sun beds should have been endorsed, we saw towels on beds in the late evening, also the pool area could do with more sun umbrellas. The restaurant was nicely set out with a different area if you wanted to have al la carte, if you are on all inclusive you can have this for 1 evening on 7 days, 2 evenings on 14 days. All inclusive worked well for us as my mother is unable to walk very far. On the first few days the vegetarian option was not great but we managed to find something to eat and you can always ask for an omelette if you can't find anything to suit you. Choice for non vegetarian was good the salad bar was excellent, as was the dessert choices. I wish there had been a dress code for the restaurant in the evening, there are plenty of hours in the day to wear shorts, vest and baseball cap without having to wear them down to dinner ! We personally didn't think that the hotel was a 4 star, more a 3 star. As said the pool area was good but there was a lack of areas to sit if you didn't want to sit outside and the only inside bar was a replica English pub !!, which was very dark at times. The was a small room with arm chairs in but it really wasn't very inviting as it was an internal room with no windows. I don't know what the hotel would do if the weather was bad and people decided not to go out in the evening, there wouldn't be enough areas to sit. Entertainment was very sporadic as well and some of it was quite amateurish. Be aware that on all inclusive some of the lunch time snacks at the pool bar are not included, such as pizza and burger, it you look at the price you will realise why, both are 9 euro. Also the "cocktail" on all inclusive is mainly fruit juice !! Rooms were quite standard, perhaps in need of modernisation, areas were always clean. We did enjoy our stay in this hotel but I wouldn't recommend it as a 4 star.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and for taking the time to give us your opinion regarding your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
Your opinion and suggestions are very important and help us to improve our service and standards.
We hope that the recent renovations made in our hotel are of your approval and serve to improve our guests comfort.
We were pleased to find you have enjoyed your holiday at the Cerro Alagoa and hope to welcome you back in a near future to a Vila Galé Hotel.
Kind regards
Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just returned from one week vacation in this hotel. In general it was ok but:
-at 7, 8 o,clock all sunbeds at the pool are reserved by towels and stuff and maybe 6 people are there..
-at the receptiom on our arrival day nobody told us that the jacuzzi and sauna are free for all invlusive guests. Also nobody mentioned that small fridge in rooms called minibar with 3 bottles of water is not included (4 stars hotel normally does...) so at the end we were charged over 30 euros .. for few water bottles.
-room wasnt very clean. The toilet wasnt being cleaned every day and you could smell weird odour afer room was cleaned. The shower curtains were old and smelly.
-very weak internet
-4 minuter after 23 pm my husband wanted to order a drink and the bar tender asked him to pay although we had all inclusive option

The hotel had a very nice and profesinal waiters and waitresses. The food was good and quite varied. Good localization, 10 min walking to the beach and old town and the shopping center .

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean view because if not you have a noisy street out of the window..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review as your comments are very important and welcome as they help us to improve our standards and service.
Regarding the sunbeds we do advise guests not to reserve sunbeds when not using the pool and appeal to good sense and civism. Unfortunatley in the peak season this is very difficult to control and the rule is not respected.
Our health club, except treatments and massages, is free of charge to all guests and has an indoor pool, jacuzzi, gym, sauna and turkish bath.
We do apologize for the room cleaning. The shower curtains have now been replaced by glass panels which are much more hygienic and hope this contributes to our guests satisfaction which is our main objective.
We hope you may reconsider choosing the Vila Galé Hotels in a future holiday

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#36 of 154 in Albufeira
1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#67 of 154 in Albufeira
237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Property: Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing