We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #25 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Back from our Holiday on the 8th August, Our stay there was very good the hotel was spotless, We stayed bed and breakfast and that was very nice !! plenty to eat , the staff at reception was very helpful and pleasant , our room was spacious the bathroom very nice and a good pool view . Thanks for a lovely holiday only small thing I would like to say is that the wifi was not great as it only worked in public areas of hotel and if you went out of hotel you had to type it all in again and it did not work in the room but apart from that a great stay !!!!

Room Tip: pool view is good we stayed in 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kassy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review as we are very pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa, and that we have been able to meet your expectations.
Thank you for choosing the Vila Galé Hotels and we hope to welcome you again in a near future

kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here with our 2 children for 9 nights beginning of Aug on a B&B basis. So glad we did we did not book half board or All inclusive as we tried the restaurant one evening and it was terrible. very small area which meant very little choice. we met all inclusive guests who were eating out each night as the food was so bad. We holiday 4 or 5 times a year and can honestly say this is the worst 4* we have ever stayed in. We have stayed in far more superior 3* hotels. They say you get what you pay for, well we paid a lot of money for this hotel and got very little. I have never stayed at a hotel without a life guard and one day a teenage boy who was having a seizure in the pool had to be dragged out by a guest. You have to get up at 7am to reserve a sun lounger or you have no chance getting one. we had to go to the beach most days which cost us 30 euros a day to hire beds. No atmosphere around the hotel at all daytime or evening. The large bar was dark and dingy and empty every night. Normally you would see cleaners all around the hotels brushing and mopping floors and pool area hosed down everyday but we did not see any of this once on our 10 day stay. Most of the staff seem to be teenagers who do not have a clue what they are doing. Normally when reading reviews i tend to ignore the negative ones and take a chance and go with the positive ones but on this occasion unfortunately the bad reviews were spot on. I would not stay here again and I have struggled to say one positive thing, oh yeah location is good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank mollymoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and we do regret that you have found our hotel disappointing. In fact we do not have a lifeguard on duty as advised on the notice boards at the swimming pool and we will consider your recommendation. The situation with the teenage boy who fell sick by the swimming pool, I personally accompanied and called the emergency medical aid to assist him. As I recall he was not dragged out of the pool as he was not swimming when he felt sick as informed by his parents.
Your comments are welcome and will be considered and thank you for calling these to my attention.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here, thinking it would be a great location between the old town and the new town of albufeira, however we did spend most of our time in the old town. Restaurants in the old town were much higher standard and seemed to be very friendly, even little places along the way to the old town were very nice that we couldn't get to go in with only one week.

Room Tip: we chose a room with a pool view the hotel entertainment finishes early its never noisy after 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank bruchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and are really pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday.
Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here for 8 days from Aug 11th-19th on a B&B package. Travelled with my wife and our five year old son and another couple with their six year old son. Hotel very nice and generally clean and tidy. The breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of hot and cold food. The pool area is very pleasant and well maintained, although I found it quite alarming that there was no lifeguard on duty during our stay. I witnessed a young boy who had a seizure at the pool and the lack of a lifeguard could have proved fatal only that some holiday makers came to his assistance. Staff at check-in were very pleasant and upon a request for room with kitchenette , we were changed mid way through our stay so as to have a proper fridge freezer and not one of those useless minibars. Rooms were nice and modern, bed very comfy, bathroom and shower excellent. There was a good selection of English speaking channels with 2 movie channels, skynews, CNN and BBC news and Discovery and VH1. After changing rooms we had a problem with our patio door which was fixed within an hour so good customer care there. Snacks available at poolside are very very limited- hot dog, burger, toasties and chips being your only choice of hot food and hot snacks other than toasties are not available after 3pm, for some crazy reason best known to the hotel management. The drinks are a fortune at the poolside bar - we paid € 5.40 for a large coke which you could buy at bars or restaurants in centre of resort for about € 2.50 - € 3.00. The hotel bar seemed very dark and drab only passsed by it, so cant comment on what it was like at nite other than drinks were very expensive. Walk to Old Town from hotel was only 10 mins with lots of hustle and bustle along the way. KFC and McDonalds across the road and giant supermarket 100m up the road with everything you could need in stock. Now to the downside of our stay at the Vile Gale. On the 3rd or 4th nite of our holiday my wife went to her suitcase to fetch her favourite and pricey dress to wear out only to discover it missing from her case. It was packed neatly near the bottom of her case before departure on our holidays and was a particular favourite piece of clothing of hers. Needless to say we were rather taken aback and reported it to the staff at reception who assured us they would look into it. The only people in our room other than ourselves were the maids - so you go figure. The really shocking thing about the theft, is that the person who actually did this, would have had to rummage right through her personal belongings in the case to find the dress making the incident even more upsetting for her. The response from the staff to this incident was sadly appalling- their complaints procedure is non-existent and no offer of a written complain. It was a shrug of the shoulders - informed us that they checked with their colleagues and no one has seen your dress, sorry next please type of attitude. Very blasé and calm about the fact that my wife had been robbed in one of their rooms by most likely one of their staff. On the morning of checking out, whilst our transfer bus was outside waiting to take us to the airport and with no time left and after asking on 3 occasions to speak to a Manager about the theft, the receptionist told us on each occasion there was no manager there. It was only after me being persistent that the Manager appeared immediately. Upon speaking with him he suggested I could contact the police if I wished to make a complaint - four full days after we had reported the theft to them and as we were ready to leave their hotel. Or that I could leave my number and they would ring if anything turned up.Needless to say this has put a dampener on an otherwise very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are a little noisy with road but you pass no remarks after first nite just cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 67MER14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.Your comments are welcome and help us to improve our standards and service.
We have already clarified and exchanged information regarding the missing dress and do apologize that this has spoilt your holiday.
We hope you may visit a Vila Galé Hotel in a future holiday

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for one week 10-17 August on All Inclusive basis.
I don't know how this qualifies for 4* status as compared to others we have stayed in, this does not come up to 4* standard.
Down side:
Safe costs 17.50 euros for week
'Mini Bar' contained 3 bottles of water - 6 euros for the 2 small ones. On all inclusive, I would expect mini bar to be stocked with free water and soft drinks and replaced daily. The water was free in restaurant and 80 cents at the mini supermarket across the road.
The English pub is dark and dingy and almost empty every night - needs modernising from 70's theme.
The outside seating area outside bar had insufficient seats/tables and guests had to carry their own over from the snack bar at night. The tables were not cleared of glasses/cig packets, etc sometimes until early afternoon and not wiped down. We never saw anyone wiping them clean.
Pool/sunbed areas were littered with plastic glasses/cig ends/litter from one day to next - I saw the same rubbish in place for 3 days - never saw the floor being swept.
Dangerous areas of block paving around pool area which was broken up and left in dangerous state - I've added photo of one example and there were several.
No pool attendant - one day a young boy had a seizure and it was a good job there was a paramedic guest.
All Inclusive bar snacks were limited in comparison to what was available- first time I've seen seperate menus for guests.
Food in restaurant although good wasn't kept hot and only "warm", some of it cold.
Drinks were very limited, strictly only local drinks available and cocktail choice very limited.
No waiter service in the evening at outside bar.
Bathroom sink plug was broken and had to be removed to allow water to drain.
Dressing table lamp didn't work and when reported to maid, it was taken away on day 2 and not replaced.
Seal on balcony doors was defective and wind howled through them all night - my husband had to strategically place towel between them to stop the noise. Our room was on the road side of hotel so couldn't leave door open due to traffic noise.
Food in restaurant was good but limited to various meats/fish/chips and veg. Desserts consisted of mini profiteroles, fresh fruit and pots of mousse type desserts. The fresh fruit was excellent though!
Guests ignored request not to reserve sunbeds and this was not enforced or monitored. towards the end of the week they were being reserved earlier and earlier, from 6.30 am. It only takes a few to start it off and it spoils it for everyone else.
Gym could do with more up to date equipment and free water should be available. Sons had to take water from breakfast area and take with them.
Up Side:
Rooms very clean and comfortable.
Reception staff were efficient and friendly.
Pool was clean and well maintained.
Location - very close to old and new towns.

Despite the above we enjoyed our holiday as wouldn't let these negative things spoil it for us. One or two problems you can ignore but on this occasion I felt I had to give an honest review of this hotel - this is the first time I have ever left a negative review of a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on pool side are quieter and in full sun all day but rear rooms are cooler but with road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank PurpleAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Front Office Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your comments are very important, so that we can continually improve our services.
Despite the down sides which are welcome and will carefully be looked in to, we hope you may consider visiting us again

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We are just back from this Hotel 18th August 2014. Myself wife and 2 teenage children. Not impressed at all. This hotel has no atmosphere no pool entertainment NO LIFEGUARD. I had to pull a young man out of the pool myself he was having a grande seizure in the pool. Disgraceful. The pool area is filthy in 10 days it was never cleaned. The drinks are sooo expensive. We dined out every night as food was awful tasteless. The sunbeds are falling to bits ( that is when you can get one in 9 days we got by the pool twice) On arrival the opening speech to us was do not reserve sunbeds. Given few documents room cards etc. the young girl could not speak much English. I had to say could you please point us to the direction at least where are rooms are. I went to the snack bar one day and asked for a plate of chips. The girl behind the bar pointed to the menu stating chips are not being served after 3 pm. So I went to the hotel next door and was served a beautiful bowl of chips. We were separated from our children different sides of hotel after asking for a joint room. The entertainment was diabolical people were just playing cards. The pub was like a sweat pit no air conditioning drinks so expensive a lot dearer than uk prices and when you went outside there were not any tables to sit at so had to sit in sunbeds by pool and listen to one of the reps attempting karaoke. The entertainers were useless done nothing. One day they attempted water aerobics for 12 mins but the girl got tired and gave up ! I was recommended this hotel by a friend but I can honestly say it was the worst hotel we have stayed in. I wish we had gone back to our usual hotel grande Santa real ulalia. Finally this is not a 4 star hotel it is run by young inexperienced staff and I just hope the guy cooking the eggs in the morning goes to catering school to learn how to crack an egg without busting the yoke full of egg shell . Never again

Room Tip: If you ask for a pool view you will be kept awake by tacky cheap entertainers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank 47charlie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and your opinion on our hotel. Regarding the no lifeguard on duty at the pool we do advise this on site. I was personally at the pool when the situation happened with the young man was not inside the water when he felt ill. Howewver, the emergency medical ambulance were immediately called who are located 100 metres from the Hotel and the situation was controlled.
We put the highest priority on ensuring that all hotel areas are spotlessly clean and assure you that the pool area is cleaned twice daily. We do regret and apologize for not having been able to meet your expectations and will take in to consideration your comments which help us to improve our service and standards.
Thank you for choosing the Vila Galé Hotels

Kind regards
Rosario Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, excellent food and great location. Would definitely stay again. Enjoyed the pool side bar but a shame it's next to the restaurant as diners wanting a quiet meal kept banging on window to tell people outside not to laugh so loud!! Also liked the bar downstairs. Nice walk into town where we enjoyed excellent food and great atmosphere. Didn't like the "Albufeira strip" of bars- got worse as you went along it but thankfully this hotel is at the nicest end of town!!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Sheffieldtraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and are really pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday.
Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 153 in Albufeira
1,861 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
1.9 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 153 in Albufeira
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 153 in Albufeira
257 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £60 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing