We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back from this hotel after a 4 day break with my husband. Location is excellent 10 mins walk and you are into the Old Town. We had a pool view which was lovely however the sun beds were being reserved at 6.50am on our last day the latest we went down with towels was 7.30am and there wasn't many left! Pool area is nice, we stayed bed and breakfast so had drinks from pool bar which were very expensive! We bought a bottle of vodka from local shop and kept that in the room. Our room was nice however no tea/coffee facilities which we would have liked. Beds were very comfy. We are one night in the restaurant we paid 22 euros each and it was lovely as some of the restaurants in the old town are poor and all seem to serve the same food so we had plenty choice so felt 22 euros was worthed. If I had taken my children not sure what they would have thought there was no poolside entertainment and not much on an evening either. So I would say ideal for a short break but not much for families unless they like the pool all day.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Watson196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel and taking the time to describe your impressions.
Regarding the sunbeds do advise guests not to reserve them and appeal to their good sense and civism but unfortunately this is not respected and becomes difficult to control in the peak season.We inform you that we now have tea and coffee facilities in the rooms. You just have to request these at reception, and will be taken to your room to be used during your stay ( kettle, cups and saucers, tea, sugar etc ). We hope this will improve our guests satisfaction which is our main objective.
Your comments oregarding our entertainment are welcome and will be taken in to consideration so we may improve.
We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday.
Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    599
    210
    57
    25
See reviews for
403
736
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just got back yesterday from the Vila Gale Cerro after a 4 night stay. The reviews concerning the sun loungers are true. When we arrived we received all the usual literature concerning the hotel with facilities and offers and even a letter stating no reserving of sun loungers. For the 5 days we were there not one day did we get a sun lounger as they were all occupied with towels and not even bodies most of the time. I even went down on the last day at 8am and they were all reserved with towels and not a single soul about.The photos of the pool give the illusion that it is big when infact it isn't. The breakfast was ok but the evening meal was not up to much for 22 euros when there is a lot better out there when you venture out. We didn't take our kids which is just as well as we would have had difficulty entertaining them there. We stopped on the 1st floor and the only advantage to that was we got free Wi-Fi which you normally have to pay for daily but somehow we picked up the signal fro free being just above reception. The hotel is clean but not sure if a 4 star. The pub downstairs had guests every night. We ventured to the beach every day which is about 10-15 walk and the beach had excellent facilities and food on offer.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms get free wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pkappa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and for so honestly share your perceptions. We do apologize for the fact of the sun loungers being occupied, and we do try to appeal to our guests good civism and not reserve sunbeds.
We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday.
Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks with my husband at the start of August. Had read loads of reviews before going and was really worried about the sunbeds...we were never down before 9am and always got sunbeds (we spent pretty much every day at the pool) so don't be worried too much about that.

Pool area was a great size and rooms were clean. A few people have also mentioned not seeing the public areas being cleaned...I think this is done quite late in the evening as several times I say staff sorting the pool area while at the bar.

Location wise the hotel is great...less than 10 mins walk to the old town (which we much preferred to the new), 100m from a supermarket and there is a nice cake shop next door.

We were B&B and the breakfast was one of the best we've had at the hotel. We also are in the restaurant one evening, although not cheap the food was lovely.

Downsides would be the prices and bar area...€3.30 for a can of coke at the poolside bar and the bar is very dark and old fashioned so you are limited to the few tables outside at night. There are also not some of the basic entertainment things you would usually find at hotels like table tennis.

Overall if you are looking for a relaxing holiday and to be close to the old town this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review as we are pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay. We do clean the public areas during the morning and at night including the pools.
Your suggestions regarding our bar are welcome and will be taken in to consideration.
We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday.
Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
679 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Short stay - we were out all day. Nice enough place - clean. Room was ok. Staff friendly. Quite a trek to the beach which we had to do as there literally were no sun beds at the pool. Sun beds were all saved by 7:30. We came back from the beach one lunchtime and there were 6 people and every sun bed had towels on untouched all morning. Breakfast was ok. We ate out every evening as felt the place was a bit soulless so can't comment on dinner. Wouldn't stay again but fine for a cheap and cheerful base for the old town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank regulartraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased your enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments.
We hope you may consider chosing a Vila Galé Hotel in a future stay

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Back from our Holiday on the 8th August, Our stay there was very good the hotel was spotless, We stayed bed and breakfast and that was very nice !! plenty to eat , the staff at reception was very helpful and pleasant , our room was spacious the bathroom very nice and a good pool view . Thanks for a lovely holiday only small thing I would like to say is that the wifi was not great as it only worked in public areas of hotel and if you went out of hotel you had to type it all in again and it did not work in the room but apart from that a great stay !!!!

Room Tip: pool view is good we stayed in 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kassy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review as we are very pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa, and that we have been able to meet your expectations.
Thank you for choosing the Vila Galé Hotels and we hope to welcome you again in a near future

kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co.antrim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here with our 2 children for 9 nights beginning of Aug on a B&B basis. So glad we did we did not book half board or All inclusive as we tried the restaurant one evening and it was terrible. very small area which meant very little choice. we met all inclusive guests who were eating out each night as the food was so bad. We holiday 4 or 5 times a year and can honestly say this is the worst 4* we have ever stayed in. We have stayed in far more superior 3* hotels. They say you get what you pay for, well we paid a lot of money for this hotel and got very little. I have never stayed at a hotel without a life guard and one day a teenage boy who was having a seizure in the pool had to be dragged out by a guest. You have to get up at 7am to reserve a sun lounger or you have no chance getting one. we had to go to the beach most days which cost us 30 euros a day to hire beds. No atmosphere around the hotel at all daytime or evening. The large bar was dark and dingy and empty every night. Normally you would see cleaners all around the hotels brushing and mopping floors and pool area hosed down everyday but we did not see any of this once on our 10 day stay. Most of the staff seem to be teenagers who do not have a clue what they are doing. Normally when reading reviews i tend to ignore the negative ones and take a chance and go with the positive ones but on this occasion unfortunately the bad reviews were spot on. I would not stay here again and I have struggled to say one positive thing, oh yeah location is good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mollymoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and we do regret that you have found our hotel disappointing. In fact we do not have a lifeguard on duty as advised on the notice boards at the swimming pool and we will consider your recommendation. The situation with the teenage boy who fell sick by the swimming pool, I personally accompanied and called the emergency medical aid to assist him. As I recall he was not dragged out of the pool as he was not swimming when he felt sick as informed by his parents.
Your comments are welcome and will be considered and thank you for calling these to my attention.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here, thinking it would be a great location between the old town and the new town of albufeira, however we did spend most of our time in the old town. Restaurants in the old town were much higher standard and seemed to be very friendly, even little places along the way to the old town were very nice that we couldn't get to go in with only one week.

Room Tip: we chose a room with a pool view the hotel entertainment finishes early its never noisy after 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bruchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and are really pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday.
Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#36 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Property: Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing