We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serro Alagoa not Cerro Alagoa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #28 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Not suprisingly the name of the hotel is pronounced differently from the way it looks : )

First impressions of the hotel - Our rooms were not ready on arrival (roughly 1pm) so we had to wait around until 2 oclock which I think is fair, our bags were stored away in the 'baggage area' under lockdown. We decided to visit the poolbar and were not dissapointed, the pool area looked great! There is no tacky scenery to spoil your view, we were very impressed.....except for the price of the cocktails, wish my partner which change her drink!

On to the rooms - I noticed a funny smell as walking into the room, sure this was the bathroom (as others have pointed out) however my partner dismissed this. The room was completed with the basics, t.v, bed, bathroom, a/c and balcony. We were facing the road side of the hotel which was not really a problem for us as we didnt spend too much time in the hotel, overall the room was clean so we were cool with that.
Note - the noise coming from the street was minimal. I did wake up once or twice but this was probably because of the bed, I hate low beds!

Food - unable to comment too much here, we were b&b. Breakfast was fine, cooked and uncooked available. I was happy with what was provided.

Location - for us the location was fantastic! Probably 10 minutes walk to the old town which was nice, we enjoy a nice stroll on a night time. The strip is a bit further, but there is a bus/train that stops right outside the hotel. The bus/train makes three stops in total, leaving your hotel going to the strip then the old town back to Cero Alagoa, the buses come every 20 mins up until about 11 or 12pm.

The old town was definately the place for us as we like our fine cuisine! If you see a Ukranian guy making mojitos on the side of a street, buy one! They are the nicest ever!! A few restaurants I should mention (although I dont remember names) is the logfire pizza place, we enjoyed a nice stone baked garlic bread and chicken piri piri with a jug of white sangria. Restaurant Ruina was a place I was always going to visit having seen it featured on a program back home, they primarily serve fish food but do offer beef. Finally there was a little restaurant run by a chinese lady, this was situated down one of the steets before the stone baked pizza place. I experienced some fine goats cheese and also succulent spare ribs, Bon Apetite!

Our excursions - we made three journeys outside our resort, the first was to Zoomarine which is a must for anyone. A good show all round.

Surfari Super day - this consisted of a talented guy by the name of Miguel taking us up the mountains in a jeep to drink fire water, eat chicken piri piri and later cruise down the river in a very Portugese boat. Good times!!

Seville - great day out however it is a very long day and you have to get up early. Seville is beautiful, lovely buldings and a superb cathedral.

Overall this holiday was a 4/5 for me and my partner. I would definately visit Portugal again, hopefully when its a bit cheaper though....Forca Portugal!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lozz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2009

We have just returned from a week’s holiday in Albufeira staying at this hotel. To say we were disappointed is an understatement. We were travelling with my dad and booked two refurbished rooms with a sea view.

When we first entered the room there was a disgusting smell, presumably from the bathroom. We opened the patio door and left it open for the entire week. The decoration was tacky, dull and depressing. The cheap laminate flooring was not fitted properly and moved 2-3 inches when you walked on it. The bed was hard and uncomfortable.

The wrap around balcony could do with a good clean to remove the dead cockroaches, flaking paint and the dead dried up plants in the planter.

Noise from an employee power washing equipment below the room went on for three days and could be heard in the room and at the pool area.

The sea view should be called a pool view as the sea is some distance away. The “sea” view of the hotel actually looks over the pool, some waste land, a lot of buildings and then on to the sea.

The breakfast was okay with the usual basic fare. Service at the reception was varied and service in the bar downstairs was slow or non-existent.

Internet access was available for a fee. The reception could only offer a 3 euro card for one hour but the hour had to be used all at once.

Pool area was fine but the beds and general area could do with a clean.

Taking everything into account I think this hotel should only really be a 3 star and if you are looking for a relaxing comfortable break then I’d give it a miss and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweep11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This hotel is lovely and clean and has a good outside pool area. The breakfast buffet is very good. It has an indoor pool and spa but you do have to pay to use the sauna and steam room (euro 7.50 per day). It is in a good location - about 10mins walk to the lively old town. The only drawback is we found the bed rather hard but otherwise could find no other faults.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexgal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

The rooms are a bit dull and the bathroom had an awful smell coming from the plug holes, so bad that we rushed out from the room in the morning – we did complain and maintenance attended – but was same every day. Rooms to the back have no sun. entrance to the hotel is nice and clean, bleach smell as you enter – pity about the bathrooms!!!!!
The aircon works. The beds are ok and the maid came every day. The pool was good, no chance of a sunbed after 9am. Get up and reserve one. Everybody else does
Breakfast was ok, The Dog & Duck very and service – went in first night and didn’t even get a drink – so left and didn’t go back.
Location is ok – pity about mc Donald’s across the road. All in all – don’t think I would go back to Albufeira and not to this hotel.
Old town for cheaper drinks and a better atmosphere. Its only a 10 minute walk, downhill ok
In general we found something missing in the whole area

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coylet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

I have been to this hotel 6 times for Christmas and New year and never tire of it. I am travelling there again on 24 December 2009. The staff are all very friendly. The New Years day brunch is out of this world. The staff always remember it is my birthday and bring me a cake out on New Years Day. It has recently been refurbished and is easily the best hotel in the Algarve.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondiefanEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

The rooms are large, cleaned every day and have a balcony. I would highly recommend a pool view room on the first floor. All rooms have a TV, air conditioning (god-send) and a minibar which is great for keeping your own water cool.

The breakfast is very nice with a large buffet breakfast, plenty of juices, cereal, fresh fruit and you can have your toast and hot breakfast too! Toaster is annoying as your toast has to go through 3 times (have to find something to give out about!!) I wouldn't try the sausages. They just don't look nice.

The pool is lovely and the pool area is really nice and clean. The loungers go quickly in the mornings so you need to go out for 9 to get a good lounger. I wouldn't recommend the bar to anyone as we found it to be very dull with poor service however we didn't mind as you were always heading to the old or new town anyway.

We found the new town was nice during the day but very tacky at night. It does have a couple of nice restaurants at the end. In particular, el rancho which is lovely. The chilly bar has great music early in the day. I would highly recommed the old town as its a much nicer place. There are great restaurants including cabana frescha (at the sea front). In the 7 days we were there we didn't find one restaurant we could complain about. We tried to stick to the traditional restaurants rather than those offering the burger & chips.

I really recommend a visit to the Zoo Marina (not just for kids) as you end up a couple of feet from dolphins. Just make sure you bring your swim suit as there are lovely pools and rides you can go on. And for €140 you can swim with the dolphins

I also recommend Johnny Hoopers Saxaphone Bar (its in the new town) and you need to book this. Its a great night out!

There is a cake shop just a couple of doors down from our hotel which is to die for. Don't leave without going!!

All in all a great holiday - hope you enjoy yours too

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeirdreOffaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Amazed at the negative reports about this hotel. We have just arrived back after an excellent few days at this hotel and really cannot understand the expectations of some travellers!

Yes the hotel is on a main road, with Macdonalds on the other side, but unless you are desperate for a Big Mac, there really is no need to cross it, especially as all the main areas are between the hotel and the beaches!

Food maybe a little basic for the rating but is adequate. ( Remember you are in a resort that has many extremely good and inexpensive restaurants )

Staff were all really friendly and always said hello when passing, location was great with the mini train stop right outside to cater for the less mobile, and the pub and live entertainment were as you would expect for a holiday resort.. As for any noise issues, this would only apply to the "early bedders" that retired before midnight!

All things considered, you really can"t go far wrong with this very well respected hotel. I would have no reservations about going back sometime in the future.
Go on........... Give it a try!!!!

Ps: Stick to the Old Town Square at night. It is far superior to " The Strip "
Enjoy Everyone..........................................

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelGuyByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,805 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#76 of 154 in Albufeira
255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £36 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing