We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good aparthotel”
Review of Ondamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ondamar Hotel
Ranked #90 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We have just returned from the Ondamar Aparthotel and had a really great time. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which for two of us was huge. It was well equipped and comfortable, the maid came in every day to change towels etc. Every apartment at the Ondamar overlooks the pool which is pleasant. The pool area is very clean and well maintained surrounded by lovely gardens. There is also a pool bar which also sells snacks throughout the day , however constantly plays the same CD on a loop which by the end of the week is a little annoying. I do have one small gripe regarding the pool area and that is that there are not enough sun loungers. The Ondamar has about 92 apartments/studios and has only approx 100 sun loungers, which means if you don't want to sunbathe on the grass you have to get up when the pool area opens to reserve a sunbed. We never experienced the staff removing our towels as I had read on one review, however as a 4* property I feel that the guests comfort and enjoyment is paramount and having to sunbathe on the floor is not acceptable. Gripe over. We were self catering so never went the restaurant so we are unable to comment on the standard of food.
The Ondamar is very close to the strip but only a 15/20minute walk to the old town which is a fantastic place for families, couples, groups of friends. There is a Spar about 5 minutes away and next to it a really good bakery. The Continente supermarket has everything you could possibly want. Across the road is Big Shanghai Chinese restaurant which is fab, to avoid queues for dining in we ordered a take out one evening which was great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

We are just back from the Ondamar and had a fabulous time. It is in a good location for the strip and old town just a short walk to both about 15min stroll to strip and about 20min to old town,there is a tourist train that runs from the old town to the strip we would sometimes jump on at the old town and get off at the strip 1 euro 50 . We had booked a studio apartment and we were upgraded to a one bed apartment which was really big.The pool and the surrounding gardens were lovely and kept really clean. We would definitely go back to the ondamar

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irene1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed in the ondamar a good hotel spacious rooms pool area was nice small garden to walk round,cleaners in every day,only 10 mins away from strip and 15-20 mins away from the old town,all rooms are pool side balcony,

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank IGINSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Just back from 11 days at this hotel. It was spotless and staff were great. Lovely pool and gardens. Our side of the hotel was near the Eden night club which is below the Paraiso Hotel, which finished at about 6am. Very noisy outside and bins emptied there too. Stay at the left wing and you will be fine. More for self catering and twice it was just us in the dining room. 15 mins walk to strip and 20-25 to old town which is great. Sun beds are usually plentiful and comfy and if none left then there is grass to lie on. Was a bit quiet and no entertainment but if that's for you? Would I go back, maybe. One thing I would say is the Potugese are very friendly and helpful, oh and the air con is poor.

Room Tip: Stay in left wing of hotel away from Hotel Paraiso. Air con poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GOODYFU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Lovely hotel, booked 3 studios and got 3 one bed apt, very very large apts, nice pool, did not eat the food at the hotel, quite a walk to beach 3 euros 90 in a taxi well woth it, not too bad a walk to new strip, expected a quiet old town but my word what a buzzing old town with all the bars and noise, great fun.

Room Tip: room 101 bad view, top of roof dome, change
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank wdowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank guidoschwoeppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Юлия Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#40 of 153 in Albufeira
501 reviews
3.7 mi away
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
#69 of 153 in Albufeira
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 153 in Albufeira
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#87 of 153 in Albufeira
3,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#43 of 153 in Albufeira
160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
#54 of 153 in Albufeira
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ondamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ondamar Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Areias de S. Joao, Lote 20, Albufeira 8200-284, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £37 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ondamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Ondamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ondamar Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing