We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe just bad luck !”
Review of Ondamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ondamar Hotel
Ranked #102 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maybe just bad luck !”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Right guys this place is really nice! First of my I start of by telling any one who goes to faro airport and needs a transfer to use YellowFish Transfers! So much cheaper than hotel or other transfer companies! Booking on line is simple! Next the hotel! Well we were there from the 23rd to the 30th of July, it's a bit of a story but we were a party of six!!!! Two apartments were requested on the same floor via email ( got an email back to say they could not confirm that this would happen and that only on checking in would we know) fair enough!! We had booked a one bed apartment and a studio apartment! On arrival reception staff said that two rooms on the same floor would not be possible as they were fully booked ( still fair enough) as it turned out both rooms were one bed apartments (class)! But not on the same floors!! Things went sorta down hill from then, my elderly mum and aunt had one of the apartments and every time they tried to use the key card it would not work!!! Every single time we went to report this we were told the problem was now fixed!!!! Day two into our stay my mum and auntie were wreaked going up and down stairs having got to their room only to find out the key card was not working yet again!!! Still on day two here for all you who are finding me rambling lol! My mum and aunts room was one of twenty what were broken into via key cards!!!! Thank goodness we had any money with us and were away for the day when this happened!!! I can't even begin to explain how scared they were knowing someone had ransacked there stuff! And even worse thay might come back as the key still won't work for them! Day 3! As if they were not scared enough young Dutch guys who were staying in the hotel decide to start shooting birds when they arrive home at seven in the morning!!, ( all fell into the pool) pellet gun I think! Ps key card problem is still not fixed!!! Day 4 young Dutch guys want to have a pool party and that's what they do!!! So they fill a kids inflatable pool with ice and beer bottles yes bottles at the side of the hotel pool!! Thank goodness we were away that day but other guest were very annoyed at the noise they were making! Key card still not working by the way!! Day 5 and a few guests got there feet cut in the pool ( fall out from the dutch pool party ) at this stage we would not let our wee girl into the pool unless she had pool shoes on...oh and guess what? Key card is still not working... Day 6 and enough is enough we ask for the manager.. He tells us that the problem with the key is the maintenance team but gets them to put a new lock on the door! Day 7 and we are off home! But hey today the key card worked! Should be greatful lol,,,P.S. Manager was far form helpful spoke little English ( think he could speak it rightly ) but it was easier for him to say me no understand, plus points..... Other than the glass in the pool that day the pool area if fab, also we could walk to the strip in 5 mins, rooms are spotless and cleaned every day! We did not eat there so can't comment on food, One thing lacking is a wee bit of entertainment in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    34
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
28
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed in an 2 bedroom apartment here a couple of times, sleeps 4-5 comfortably, good kitchen and lounge area, located well for old town and busy nightlife, good pool area, hotel was clean and reception helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iancooper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southend
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here with friends on a football tour, rooms were clean and tidy, maid waking us up every Day to clean, 9ish, even when some were asleep she still barged in! dedicated staff.
we had a room on 2nd floor overlooking the pool, we were lucky, some over looking pool could only se the roof of the reception/ restaurant area.
shower ok, beds sleep able after a few beers.
Decent cheap hotel, staff helpful, and as we were leaving we realised it had a dishwasher in our room!
Hotel between the strip and the old town, 4 euros either way by cab 15 minute walk.

Nice pool bar,

Room Tip: 214, sunny side over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just returned from a two holiday at the Ondamar and what a wonderful holiday it has been. The hotel was incredibly clean throughout and we had daily visits from the cleaners into our rooms, even if we put the 'do not disturb' sign out they would always return later in the day. The self catering facilities were fantastic. We had all the usuals plus a microwave and a dishwasher. The kitchen and dining area is very spacious and we had family meals with 6 people comfortably. Around the hotel all areas were immaculate. The pool was cleaned every night along with the loungers and foam. Around the pool was a welcoming relaxed atmosphere and the snack bar didn't mind us taking our own food and drinks around the pool. Drink prices were very reasonable with a cheaper cocktail of the day and snacks up until 7pm. Due to our holiday being during low season there wasn't any entertainment. This only added to the relaxed atmosphere though and it was possible to relax all day around the pool in peace. Although there are no kid's clubs the indoor and outdoor pool were all our children needed to keep busy. The only negative comment I can make about the outdoor area is that the lift didn't take you directly to that floor which made it challenging carrying a 7 month old in a buggy - that said we managed. Next to the pool area was a lovely wooden area walk with a waterfall and a pond full of fish. The hotel staff helped us to print out our RyanAir boarding passes and they sorted out our transfers. Nothing was to much trouble. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Two single beds in the bedroom pushed together, a pull out bed under the sofa and a pull down bunk b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voddenpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have just retruned from another excellent holiday at this hotel. The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel pool and pool bar are great, lovely food and reasonably priced drinks, with a cocktail of the day. The hotel is in a good location as it is near to the strip and the old town.

Excellent value for money, cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Room on the higher floor have plenty of sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nyesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Went with friends as we went on a football tour from the UK so there was about 15 of us staying at the hotel. The facilities are good, they have a swimming pool, gym and a games room, and it's in a good location.

When we stayed it was very quiet and easy to get sleep. It is not your typical hotel, more of an apartment/hotel. The rooms are of a decent size and you get a small kitchen area which is really useful.

Overall, really recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barneystinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

this hotel was very disapointing with dated and broken furniture in both reception and the rooms, double bed was a pull down bed from a wardrobe, fountains not working at reception couches that have seen a better day all in all the place looks like there is no money to be invested in it and has gotton very warn which is disapointing as it has potential to be good with a great location and friendly staff, but would not recommend based on above

Room Tip: would ask for a room on top floor as we were woken every morning to the noise of people walking abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Princessmckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#41 of 154 in Albufeira
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#68 of 154 in Albufeira
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
1,525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ondamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ondamar Hotel

Property: Ondamar Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Areias de S. Joao, Lote 20, Albufeira 8200-284, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ondamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ondamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ondamar Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing